Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scotch Broth Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scotch Broth

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2002

      A soup lovers dream! I used meaty lamb shanks and added 6 beef bouillion cubes to the water. I substituted rutabega for the turnip, added a chopped parsnip, 2 pressed garlic cloves, bay leaf and a bit of white wine once the veggies where tender. This is a hearty main dish soup that can only be improved by some buttered crusty bread for dunking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2002

      great great recipe! I made a few changes - stewed the lamb shanks for a couple hours and used half beef broth instead of just water. this is one of those recipes where you almost want to make it a day ahead and refrigerate - the next day the flavors were even better together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      This is a great soup and was received with fantastic reviews by my family. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone and will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Simple and delicious! I just substituted the turnips for a large leek and also added 1/2 cup of dried split peas. Slainte!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      I use the left over lamb roast to create the stock, and add a few beef bullion cubes too. I chill the stock overnight and discard the hardened fat from the surface and then I add the veggies, barley etc. It's a great soup - economical, low calorie, high fiber, and good tasting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2005

      Outstanding soup. This will be a staple in my household, too. I took the suggestion of adding beef bouillion - three Knorr beef cubes. I also used a rutabaga instead of white turnip. It was fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2004

      A 10 star soup,thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2004

      I chose this recipe to make for the Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Game. It seemed just the thing for the beginning of Fall. I am embarrassed to say that the recipe somehow got away from me. I strayed so far that I don't feel comfortable writing a review. I did retain the main ingredients. I did not start with the meat and barley because I didn't want the barley in the way when removing the meat from the bones (they were cut). I added the barley later. I also used a lot more and different vegetables, more water, and the garlic (more) and bay leaf suggested by Lorac. I do have a very large pot of delicious soup. So anyway, I'm not rating this recipe, but would like to say thank you for the concept. I promise to strictly follow the next recipe of yours that I choose.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      I made exactly following the recipe. My in-laws loved it (they eat soup every day.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scotch Broth

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.0
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    32%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 62.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lamb breast

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites