9 Reviews

A soup lovers dream! I used meaty lamb shanks and added 6 beef bouillion cubes to the water. I substituted rutabega for the turnip, added a chopped parsnip, 2 pressed garlic cloves, bay leaf and a bit of white wine once the veggies where tender. This is a hearty main dish soup that can only be improved by some buttered crusty bread for dunking!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac April 10, 2002

great great recipe! I made a few changes - stewed the lamb shanks for a couple hours and used half beef broth instead of just water. this is one of those recipes where you almost want to make it a day ahead and refrigerate - the next day the flavors were even better together!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirstin in the Couv April 07, 2002

This is a great soup and was received with fantastic reviews by my family. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone and will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeSouter April 08, 2009

Simple and delicious! I just substituted the turnips for a large leek and also added 1/2 cup of dried split peas. Slainte!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salvador Vilchis October 28, 2008

I use the left over lamb roast to create the stock, and add a few beef bullion cubes too. I chill the stock overnight and discard the hardened fat from the surface and then I add the veggies, barley etc. It's a great soup - economical, low calorie, high fiber, and good tasting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spnkclms March 27, 2008

Outstanding soup. This will be a staple in my household, too. I took the suggestion of adding beef bouillion - three Knorr beef cubes. I also used a rutabaga instead of white turnip. It was fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie March 10, 2005

A 10 star soup,thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lin1 November 06, 2004

I chose this recipe to make for the Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Game. It seemed just the thing for the beginning of Fall. I am embarrassed to say that the recipe somehow got away from me. I strayed so far that I don't feel comfortable writing a review. I did retain the main ingredients. I did not start with the meat and barley because I didn't want the barley in the way when removing the meat from the bones (they were cut). I added the barley later. I also used a lot more and different vegetables, more water, and the garlic (more) and bay leaf suggested by Lorac. I do have a very large pot of delicious soup. So anyway, I'm not rating this recipe, but would like to say thank you for the concept. I promise to strictly follow the next recipe of yours that I choose.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao September 05, 2004

I made exactly following the recipe. My in-laws loved it (they eat soup every day.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shirt December 14, 2003
Scotch Broth