Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scotch Broth Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scotch Broth

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2012

      I did this to the letter apart from I couldn't get shoulder chops, so I used a pack of stewing lamb on the bone. It may have been shin? Anyway it was pretty good. After 4 hours or so on low in the SC I pulled out the lamb, removed the flesh from the bone (dog had the bones as treats) and put it back in for another 2 hours. This dish is very easy to over season, so be careful not to put any in from the beginning, and taste properly before serving, too much pepper and salt ruins it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Delicious! We did use lamb stock cubes in addition to the water, since we had some. Hubby wanted scotch broth; I'd never had it; he's only had it out of cans before (*shudder*). I tried your recipe, and it was just as easy as opening a can, but worlds better! Likely about the same price, too. I'm usually very picky about soup, but this was stellar! Fabulous, easy, really great comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

    • on March 20, 2008

      So tasty and easy. Like another reviewer noted, lamb and leeks are personal favorites, and a winning combination in this recipe. Thanks, PaulaG, for sharing this very comforting soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Wonderful! DH loves both lamb and leeks so this combination was a winner! Wonderful flavor and easy preparation. We'll be making this again. Thanks PaulaG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Delicious, easy and makes the house smell fantastic! Thanks for posting PaulaG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      YUMMY! I love lamb and have a similar recipe that I use for Scotch Broth. The first day I made this, I thought mine was a smidge better BUT the NEXT day it tasted the same. I think that this one was a little easier. It is easier because I love that a couple of shoulder lamb chops is all you need. I used different cuts for my mine. I think it was the necks and joints which are harder to come by where I live in SC. Since I'm always misplacing my books I'll KNOW where this one is. I'd encourage anyone to try it. MaryAnne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      YUMMY! This was the first time I made a soup with lamb and it was fantastic! I put it in the crock pot, and when I got home from work the house smelled soooo good! The lamb had great texture, and we loved the barley! It was the first time I've cooked with leaks ... those are the biggest green onions I've ever seen! Thanks for posting your recipe, with winter coming we will enjoy this one often :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      My favourite soup from childhood, easy to put together in the crockpot, I did add about 2 tsp chicken stock powder. Easy,tasty, inexpensive meal. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      This is wonderful soup Paula! I did make a few changes with this recipe, I made this on top of the stove over low heat and added in garlic that I sauteed in some oil. thanks so much, Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stocks Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scotch Broth

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 96.0
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    93%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 43.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    shoulder lamb chops

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites