49 Reviews

Loved these scones & they got rave reviews from family & friends so I had to give credit where credit is due - Thanks Anne for such a simple, quick recipe. I cut back slightly on the sugar to 1/3 cup & added 1 1/2 teaspoons of pure vanilla to the egg/cream mixture. Also used raisins instead of currants & glazed the scones with egg mixed with a teaspoon of cream. A light coating of sugar added the perfect amount of sweetness. I also cut them smaller to yield 16 triangles & they baked on a silpat for 12 minutes. They didn't last very long.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodi B. April 10, 2003

Had a tea party for four friends and made these. LOVED THEM! Just the right amount of taste. I followed another reviewers' suggestion and wrapped clear wrap around it and put it in the freezer, about 15 min later I brought it out, placed it on a cookie sheet and with the wrap still on top, flattened it out a bit and shaped it into a large circle. I then cut eight wedges and with a spatula seperated the scones out and baked. They toasted nicely and were such a treat fresh out of the oven. I am definitely going to me this again and again and again!!!! thank you for the simple and excellent recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smslavich October 19, 2009

Great recipe! These scones had lovely texture - soft and fluffy inside and golden on the outside. I find the trick to good scones is to knead the dough as little as possible, but for that to happen, the wet-to-dry ratio must be just right. This recipe gets it and the results are delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueDiva September 10, 2009

Yum! I made these this morning and substituted evaportated milk for cream, and orange zest for lemon. I used dried cranberries and 1/4 cup of white whole wheat flour and they were as good as can be!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kasalen May 25, 2009

I just made two batches of this, one with dried cherries, cranberries almond extract and no egg, and one with the egg, vanilla and fresh blueberries. What a treat! Both batches came out light and fluffy, I can't decide which is my favorite. Easy to put together, they certainly disappear quickly! Thanks for a very versatile recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amythyst June 18, 2008

Just finished making and eating one of these. I didn't add the lemon zest (didn't have any) and had to add just a touch more cream to make them into a ball. They were so quick and easy to put together and very light and delicious. Wonderful treat for a Saturday morning!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susang February 02, 2008

These scones are really to die for. SOOooo Yummy & flacky. I made them just like the recipe stated, except I used splenda for baking. Also put the dough right onto the cookie sheet like someone else had, patted it out, cut & used spatula to seperate the wedges.This worked very well, less work. Thank you for the recipe I will be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz January 23, 2008

We really enjoyed these! I added 1 cup of cranberries and used orange zest instead of the lemon zest. Simple and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mell_2 January 20, 2008

These were not only great but super easy to make, quick too. I don't like to alter recipes as I want the same results the person posting it got! However, I had no lemon so I used orange zest and no berries or currants so I skipped it this time. Still excellent. I made a double batch and cut each round into 12 sections, making 24 a perfect size for my children to eat with fruit at breakfast. It was hard to only sample one tonight and not eat many, but I did it as it's nearly dinner time. I sent one over to my neighbor while it was still warm as she had given me baking powder when I realized I did not have enough! She instantly asked for the recipe for herself. Thanks for the great recipe, I'll use it often I'm sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura G. November 25, 2007

I have made these so many times, no other recipe compares! I have used almost every kind of dried fruit available, different nuts, white chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, cinnamon chips, toffee chips...Anything goes with this recipe. Just pick a combination you love and add it in. I stay with the 1/2 cup dried fruit and add 1/4 cup chips that have been chopped a bit. They are so wonderful, they melt in your mouth. Even the next day, just microwave them for about 10-15 seconds and they are just as good as out of the oven. Thank you Ann!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icecreambears September 23, 2007
Scones to die for