18 Reviews

OMG YUM! I used vanilla yogurt (why not?) and dried cranberries. My boyfriend loved them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bridge47 March 15, 2010

Great recipe! I did substitue buttermilk for the sour milk and I put cinnamon and nutmeg in with dry ingredients and diced apples instead of currents. After brushing tops of scones with yolk/water mixture, I sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Made them for my Grannie Bride for her 85th. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Kentucky March 02, 2009

You have no idea how thrilled I was to find this recipe... I'd given up on making soda bread for an Irish dinner last week. (Nearly impossible in an electric oven.) These scones are so similar in texture to soda bread; nice little crunch on the outside, soft and moist on the inside. Turned out great in the electric oven! I couldn't find currants, so I used Craisins and chopped-up apricots. The scones are superb with a little orange marmalade & a big glass of milk. :) Thanks SO much for posting this, tappies! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maura666 September 01, 2003

I am not a scones expert, but these are very good. They are sweet but not overly, and are fuffy but with a good crust on top and bottom. I only changed two things, no currents and i used vanilla yogurt. Everything else was done according to the recipe. I am putting these in holiday gift baskets along with instant coffee and hot chocolate mixes i found on zaar:) thanks for a simple and yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
semicook426 December 16, 2010

I made this for breakfast this morning with a few changes. I used 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour in place of white and 1 1/4 unbleached white...I added a big scoop of flax seed, I used honey greek yogurt instead of regular, and added cinnamon and nutmeg as suggested by another review. I added 1/4 cup dried blueberries, 1/2 cup dried cranberries and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. I kneaded and shaped into a large rectangle then cut into 12 squares with a pizza cutter. I put on parchment and brushed with nonfat milk and sprinkled with turbinado sugar and baked at 400 degrees for 13 minutes. I used a convection oven setting that is why the shorted cooking time. Thanks for the recipe, it was Yummy! Will definitely be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead July 18, 2010

I was looking for a good recipe for scones for my daughter's Bridal Shower & Tea; I tried these out on my co-workers. They were devoured!!! I'd say they are a go for the shower.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinderleila February 05, 2009

Great.Easy to make and very moist simple scone. thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MARIA MAC * May 29, 2008

What happened! I must be the only review that gives a negative response to these scones. I was so dissappointed. Thought it was a "given". They were crusty, tough and hardly no taste. Followed directions to a tee. My Irish Mother just tasted one and God Bless her, she said they were ok. This coming from a lady who made the best scones ever. Maybe I should get the recipe from her head---abit o' this, abit o'that and attempt to make them as they should be. Disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazee4cookin May 28, 2008

I added only 4 tbsp of sugar (vs. the 6) and added 1/2 C cinnamon chips and currants. To make them more dessert-y, I also added a small amount of sanding sugar to the top before baking. These scones smelled amazing in the oven -- made our whole house smell like the donut shop I used to work at many moons ago. Will definitely make these again! I already packed a goodie bag up for my co-workers. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenCoast April 07, 2008

We accidentally added the egg to the recipe, and (on purpose) also added some frozen strawberries and raspberries. It turned out beautifully - tasty and nice texture, like a cross between a pancake and a cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
candaceshaw March 09, 2008
Scones