11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made the cheese variation, and they came out delicious! Since I've never made scones before, I was psyched. I love recipes that are easy to follow. I think I have found a new favorite recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danabuchmiller November 05, 2012

I cut the recipe in half with no problems. I used the fruit variation and added some dried cherries and some cherry extract with the milk. These have a nice, crunchy exterior and soft, light interior. Will be using this recipe as a base and try other variations. I think orange cranberry would be good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey May 20, 2012

Fluffy light and amazing. Air-light scones, perfect base for recipes. I did 1/3 cup sugar, a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 cup dried cranberries (soaked in some boiling water for a few minutes before stirring them in) and sprinkled with some coarse vanilla-sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan November 06, 2011

I made this for Zaar Alphabet Tag 2009. Its such a wonderful recipe and Ill definitely make it again! It worked out perfectly and was soooooooooo yummy! =) I used spelt flour instead of the normal flour since I cant have wheat and subbed yoghurt plus water for the milk. These scones so reminded me of the ones my hostmum in Ireland used to make. Bliss! Thank you so much for sharing Faery Dust!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula January 24, 2009

I served these with raspberry preserves and Devon cream and they were perfect... just like my great grandmother used to make. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piseag May 22, 2011

Just made two batches- the first ones I made were mini scones and I added some vanilla and 1/4 cup sugar....they are yummy, but i think my oven was too hot as the bottoms burned a bit....Second batch was regular size i added 1/2 cup of sugar, dried cranberries and 1 tsp vanilla...I had to add more flour to the mixture to form dough....Agin the bottoms burned but not as bad....I will make this recipe again, they are very tasty.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrst984 May 15, 2010

My husband loves scones and after using this recipe I'll be looking no further. They couldn't have been easier to make or more tastey to eat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLee147 April 26, 2010

I loved this recipe... It was so simple to make and it tasted awesome... No complaints here who does not like a soft and fluffy scone! You can not go wrong with this one...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1032099 January 15, 2009

Very easy and very tasty first recipe Ive had where the scones reminded me of my grans thanks for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davidkira August 20, 2008

Nice and easy to put together and tasted great with butter, diabetic strawberry jam and a dollop of cream or with butter and golden syrup. It gave the opportunity to use my new square cutters which I received for Mothers Day. We all enjoyed. I got 14 scones out of the mix and baked at 220C in a fan forced oven for 10 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat May 26, 2008
Scones