Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Schweinebraten - German Style Roast Pork Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Schweinebraten - German Style Roast Pork

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2006

      I used the white wine option for the liquid and also for the gravy. The gravy is simple and a must! It makes the whole meal! I also baked some sauerkraut, carrots, and onions with the roast for some veggies. We'll be using this recipe many many more times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      This was amazing!!! I used a pork tenderloin and cooked it in my electronic pressure cooker. I didn't cut back on any of the liquids, I actually added a bit more probably a cup to cup and a half of beer. I rubbed it w/a lot of our favorite beer mustard prior to cooking and didn't salt or pepper the meat. I did add a little to the veggies before placing the meat in. I had exactly 2 cups of liquid left and when the gravy thickened I added 1/3 cup of sour cream to it...heaven! We had this along with rosemary roasted red potatoes, fantastic! I will definitely be making this for years to come :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Heaven on a fork!!!! This was just amazingly good....juicy, so tender you couild cut it with a fork. We kept going back for more like pigs. I had a roast just under 4 pounds and it was done to 165 in 2 hours and 20 minutes. I added a can of sauerkraut (@16 oz) to the veggies; mixed sour cream into the gravy; coated it all over with country mustard before applying the caraway seed mixture; reduced the salt and cooked it in a dutch oven according to directions. I will make this again and again....real comfort food. TY, Molly!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This was excellent...and so easy. I used a 7 pound shoulder roast and added potatoes to the vegetables so I would end up with a more complete side dish. I had 2 cups of pan juices so I didn't need any other liquid to make the gravy. I did add 4 ounces of sour cream to it near the end. We really enjoyed the flavor and this is something I would definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      Goodness gracious, but this was amazing...I used the crock pot and thickened it with tapioca, but the results were the same, I believe. Tender, tasty, and the caraway seeds softened while cooking to give the pork a dark, almost nutty flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      i cook sauerkraut in bottem with carrots and onions is a good winter meal but i dont put veg in til second cooking so they wont fall apart and use sour cream not gravy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Try roasting pork butt fat side up on top of vegetables and add 2 Granny Smith apples cored seeded peeled and quartered, and 1# good rinsed sauerkraut

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      This was very good! Never tried a gravy with this type of pork roast. I may add cabbage sometime, not kraut but the subtle flavor might be nice. Love what the caraway does to it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      This recipe is reposted from the Gundelsheim website.... minus the cabbage recipe.<br/>http://gundelsheim.com/recipes/red-cabbage-german-roast-pork

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Schweinebraten - German Style Roast Pork

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 836.8
     
    Calories from Fat 569
    68%
    Total Fat 63.2 g
    97%
    Saturated Fat 21.9 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 224.8 mg
    74%
    Sodium 1410.5 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 53.5 g
    107%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes