33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hard as it may be, I'd give my last piece of schnitzel to my husband because he's the kind of guy who'd get out of a warm, toasty bed to put away the leftovers I forgot about just so I don't get all cold.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 25, 2011

There is one very important thing to say: It is indifferent what sort of oil/butter you use. The fact is, you have to let the Schnitzel swim in it. At least there have to be about 1/2 inch of it. In Germany we use to take sunflower oil or Buttarina (something like the indian ghee-butter/=butter without milk-ingredients). Meat: Classically you have to take veal (Wiener Schnitzel), but most people prefer pork (Schnitzel Wiener Style). Best meat imho are at least 1 inch thick slices of the "Nuss". If you don't know what this is, go at google.de, search for "schwein nuss" and take a look at the first two results. There are pictures showing. Finally quarter a lemon, so everybody could squeeze it for him/herselfs taste over the Schnitzel. Typically in Germany we eat Schnitzel with french fries and salad.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theblueone October 05, 2009

This just gets better every time I make it. I usually add the salt, pepper, & paprika into the flour instead of directly unto the meat. I find that if I pay attention & make sure the meat is completely coated after each round (flour, egg, breadcrumbs), the coating stays intact while frying and ends up perfectly crisp. I try to flip only once in the pan, after 7 or 8 minutes. Thanks for a delicious, exsy recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison Williams February 25, 2007

Ok but a little bland. Not like what I've had before. I might have went a little too lite on the seasoning because it just didn't have a lot of flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip September 28, 2008

Awesome recipe!!! I used 6 loin chops, beaten until fairly thin. Followed the seasoning and breading ingredients exactly, then fried them in coconut oil 3 at a time until they were golden and crispy. I put them in the oven for another 10 mins, just to be sure they were cooked through.They came out picture perfect, and were gone before I could even get a picture!!! My family was crazy about them, they will be a new addition our meal plan. If your looking for the perfect Schnitzel look no further!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jake ryley'smommy September 07, 2007

Delicious! This was my first time making and eating schnitzel. My other half and I both enjoyed this recipe. As it's just the two of us, I cut the recipe in half and used cornstarch instead of flour as it really sticks well to the meat. I forgot to add the seasonings and I'm sure next time it will be even tastier when they are added. As I don't keep shortening on hand, I used a tablespoon of butter and a splash of vegetable oil. Made a great meal with Ceasar salad and mashed potato. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Lou Who August 19, 2007

Another winner! I had a little trouble butterflying the pork chops evenly, but with some pounding it worked out just fine. I didn't have butter flavored Crisco, so I used 1/4 cup regular Crisco and a little more than 1/4 cup butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MWalker July 21, 2007

Great recipe! I gave it 5 stars. This is similar to Chicken Milanese except with pork and no lemon juice or parmesan cheese. The breading taste the same. I didn't have crisco so I used oilve oil but I think the pork soaked up the oil to fast. Next time I will try crisco. I mixed my seasonings in with my flour. I also used thin cut pork chops. Thanks for a yummy recipe christine (internetnut)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut December 04, 2006

The consensus was five stars all around. My picky eater ate everything without a complaint and asked that I make it again. I made this with a turkey "steak" (beat it a bit gently) and also, instead of flour, I used cornstarch, a trick I learned in a Chinese cooking class I took some 20 years ago. It sticks well and creates a very crispy coating. A few minutes later, I had a crisp, golden brown and delicious main dish. Thanks, momstar, for a tasty version.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte September 27, 2006

Excellent schnitzel recipe. I served it with my kapusta (Sauerkraut)Kapusta (Sauerkraut) (or you could use peas and carrots), home fried potatoes, and a wedge of fresh lemon. Add some rye bread and butter too. I didn't have Butter Flavor Crisco this time so I measured almost 1/2 cup regular Crisco shortening and added butter to the 1/2 cup mark. Worked perfectly. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan August 23, 2006
Schnitzel