Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Schnitzel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Schnitzel

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2011

      Hard as it may be, I'd give my last piece of schnitzel to my husband because he's the kind of guy who'd get out of a warm, toasty bed to put away the leftovers I forgot about just so I don't get all cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      There is one very important thing to say: It is indifferent what sort of oil/butter you use. The fact is, you have to let the Schnitzel swim in it. At least there have to be about 1/2 inch of it. In Germany we use to take sunflower oil or Buttarina (something like the indian ghee-butter/=butter without milk-ingredients). Meat: Classically you have to take veal (Wiener Schnitzel), but most people prefer pork (Schnitzel Wiener Style). Best meat imho are at least 1 inch thick slices of the "Nuss". If you don't know what this is, go at google.de, search for "schwein nuss" and take a look at the first two results. There are pictures showing. Finally quarter a lemon, so everybody could squeeze it for him/herselfs taste over the Schnitzel. Typically in Germany we eat Schnitzel with french fries and salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      This just gets better every time I make it. I usually add the salt, pepper, & paprika into the flour instead of directly unto the meat. I find that if I pay attention & make sure the meat is completely coated after each round (flour, egg, breadcrumbs), the coating stays intact while frying and ends up perfectly crisp. I try to flip only once in the pan, after 7 or 8 minutes. Thanks for a delicious, exsy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Ok but a little bland. Not like what I've had before. I might have went a little too lite on the seasoning because it just didn't have a lot of flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      Awesome recipe!!! I used 6 loin chops, beaten until fairly thin. Followed the seasoning and breading ingredients exactly, then fried them in coconut oil 3 at a time until they were golden and crispy. I put them in the oven for another 10 mins, just to be sure they were cooked through.They came out picture perfect, and were gone before I could even get a picture!!! My family was crazy about them, they will be a new addition our meal plan. If your looking for the perfect Schnitzel look no further!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      Delicious! This was my first time making and eating schnitzel. My other half and I both enjoyed this recipe. As it's just the two of us, I cut the recipe in half and used cornstarch instead of flour as it really sticks well to the meat. I forgot to add the seasonings and I'm sure next time it will be even tastier when they are added. As I don't keep shortening on hand, I used a tablespoon of butter and a splash of vegetable oil. Made a great meal with Ceasar salad and mashed potato. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Another winner! I had a little trouble butterflying the pork chops evenly, but with some pounding it worked out just fine. I didn't have butter flavored Crisco, so I used 1/4 cup regular Crisco and a little more than 1/4 cup butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      Great recipe! I gave it 5 stars. This is similar to Chicken Milanese except with pork and no lemon juice or parmesan cheese. The breading taste the same. I didn't have crisco so I used oilve oil but I think the pork soaked up the oil to fast. Next time I will try crisco. I mixed my seasonings in with my flour. I also used thin cut pork chops. Thanks for a yummy recipe christine (internetnut)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      The consensus was five stars all around. My picky eater ate everything without a complaint and asked that I make it again. I made this with a turkey "steak" (beat it a bit gently) and also, instead of flour, I used cornstarch, a trick I learned in a Chinese cooking class I took some 20 years ago. It sticks well and creates a very crispy coating. A few minutes later, I had a crisp, golden brown and delicious main dish. Thanks, momstar, for a tasty version.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      Excellent schnitzel recipe. I served it with my kapusta (Sauerkraut)Kapusta (Sauerkraut) (or you could use peas and carrots), home fried potatoes, and a wedge of fresh lemon. Add some rye bread and butter too. I didn't have Butter Flavor Crisco this time so I measured almost 1/2 cup regular Crisco shortening and added butter to the 1/2 cup mark. Worked perfectly. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      I had some boneless pork loin chops and I didn't know what to do with them,so I was looking through some old post and found this recipe.It was very easy to prepare,and the taste was very close to the schnitzel that you can get at "The Gerst Haus" our loacl german restaurant.This will be a repeat at our home,thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      Very delicious and simple recipe (my favorite kind). I used thin-sliced bone-in pork chops, so didn't pound thin, and used vegetable oil to cook in, they still turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      Excellent recipe. I made this for our dinner yesterday. I had two thick porkchops which I butterflied. I then pounded them with a rolling pin. I sprinkled with dry Italian Salad Dressing mix before dusting with flour. This gave them a lovely flavour. I can't get crisco butter or not over here so I just used sunflower oil. I finished them off in a hot oven for about 10 minutes to make sure they were cooked through. I served them with Onion gravy and we both really enjoyed them very much. Wonderfully flavoured, tender chops. I highly recommend.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      Well, I screwed up, momstar, and it still turned out good. I had the chops soaking in the egg bath when I decided to check the recipe. I know, I know, flour first. Next time for sure. The ease of preparing this recipe lends itself well to reducing it. I only fixed two. One each, for DW and myself. I was going to serve them with fried potatoes on the side, but, time got away from me, so they got mashed, instead. a good, quick meal when one wants something a little different. Thanks for posting a keeper. jim

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      I was stationed in Hanau, Germany and absolutely loved the schnitzel there. This recepie is exactly how it tasted, and was so easy to make. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      I made this tonight for my german husband. He loved it and couldn't get enough. It was easy to make. Love it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      Easy tasty recipe. The only thing I did different I cut way back on the butter - used a no stick pan and about 1 tbsp of butter - I know I love it too but I have to cut back. I fried some mushrooms with schnitzel - Excellent dinner thanks momstar

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      I followed the recipe exactly. Coating was crispy and stuck to the chops beautifully. Hubby enjoyed this ok, but he did not go for a second piece of meat, which is highly unusual for him. He said that he liked it ok, so I've given this 4 stars. (I am a vegetarian so I cannot give a rating myself.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      i made this for dinner tonight, except i used the marination steps from the garlic schnitzel, using deboned pork steaks. i also used club crackers that i ran through a food processor instead of bread crumbs, since i had no butter crisco. i think i may have had my oil to hot, because the meat was not cooked through when the crust was perfect, so i finished it off in the oven. i did 350 for about 10 minute. came out awesome. my wife, 5 year old son, and 2 year old daughter all enjoyed it. this was my first experience eating or making schnitzel, and we were all really pleased with the results. we will be using this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      This recipe was very easy to follow. I did however, add more flour, salt, pepper and paprika as my butterfly chops were quite large. I didn't have Crisco so I used butter. The result was a tasty, tender piece of meat that was enjoyed by all. Next time I'll try the butter Crisco as butter seemed to burn a bit; turning the crust a bit darker than I believed it should be. They were still delicious! Thanx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Schnitzel

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.4
     
    Calories from Fat 259
    74%
    Total Fat 28.8 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 11.3 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 107.3 mg
    35%
    Sodium 716.2 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    butterfly pork chops

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites