Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Schnecken (Sticky German Cinnamon Buns) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Schnecken (Sticky German Cinnamon Buns)

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2007

      I'm very picky about cinnamon rolls, most are either way too bready and dry, or gummy and undercooked ala cinnabon. These are perfect, nice and light with yummy, gooey goodness! They were a big hit at Tues. morning Bible study, and my car smelled like heaven all the way! I used regular yeast, and because of a recent problem with another recipe, I proofed it for 5 minutes with the milk warmed to 115 degrees along with one tablespoon of sugar. After it had proofed I added the melted butter and eggs then the rest of the sugar, the flour and salt. I mixed the whole thing in my Cuisinart it only took about 2 minutes to mix and the dough was perfect with the stated amount of flour. I subbed brown sugar for the turbinado, I also added a tsp of cinnamon to the syrup. My only complaint with this recipe is that I found it a confusing to follow, as it seems to jump around. I had to keep reading it over and over to make sure I was doing it right and still missed something. I wish the glaze was listed as part of the filling - I some how missed that it went on the dough before cooking. Usually glaze is added at the end of a recipe, my brain didn't register it after the rolling instructions. That aside not having the glaze didn't seem to make any difference that I could tell, everyone throughly enjoyed them. Wished I had put the pan on a bigger one as suggested - they did goo all over LOL. Instead of turning the pan over onto a platter when done, I lifted the rolls out with a fork turned them sticky side down and them spooned the goo out of the cups onto the tops of the rolls. Next time I might increase the syrup amount and cook the extra in a separate dish so they can be even gooeyier. Thanks Nc for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2014

      I made these and they turned out great! Due to the humidity in Cancun it's always been a challenge to bake anything with Yeast and probably our water has an effect as well. These however turn out good in spite of everything. I posted Photos from the first time but forgot to review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      I'm an experienced bread maker. I followed the recipe to the letter. My yeast was good, the dough looked good but by the time they were baked and cooled the crumb was extremely dry and the caramel was hard... Extremely disappointed in this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      OMG are these wonderful. Love them. They are the best rolls I have ever had. I put them in 8 inch round pans this time but will try the muffin pan next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      This is a great recipe. I always get rave reviews when I make them. I follow the recipe exactly except I bake them in two 8" round cake pans. I have been making these for about 4 years now and they always turn out great. I did try making them the night before and did every thing but the last rise before putting them in the oven. Put them in the refrigerator instead over night and took them out about an hour to an hour and a half before baking them in the oven........it worked perfect! And we had fresh hot Schnecken in the morning :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      Very good! I found the dough didn't rise as much as I would like in one hour - ended up putting the bowl inside another bowl full of hot water for 1/2 an hour to get it to finish doubling. Otherwise turned out great! Loved the little bit of maple flavor from the maple syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      These were awesome. I did not have maple syrup so used clover honey and pecans. Gooey and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      This recipe is so yummy! I'm lazy so I used the dough cycle on my BM and it worked fine. My kids LOVED them. Thanks! Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Great recipe, I think next time I'll add more cinnamon plus some raisins. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      These received thumbs up all around. They are especially lovely fresh from the oven. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      These have got to be the *ultimate* cinnamon buns. They are just too good for words. The dough is so soft and wonderful, not to mention the beautiful goo. I didn't have any nuts, so we had to go without. However....next time there will be pecans. This is very easy to make. Maybe too easy. :) Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      These rolls are wonderful. I made them for a bake sale and regretted I had to part with them. I made them exactly by the recipe and they were perfect...sturdy, yet tender, and not overly sweet. No changes necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Wow, is all I can say. Really easy and delicious. I'm sure that this will be in a favorite in my baking rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      These are wonderful buns. I did have a problem with the butter overflowing into my oven, so take NcMysteryShopper's advice and put a pan under them when cooking. I wonder if cooking them in a big Texas size muffin pan would stop the overflowing. My family devoured these buns and told me they are better than my regular cinnamon bun recipe. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      These area a huge hit with everyone who eats them. I have never baked before, so trust me, if I can make them anyone can! Can't wait for the holidays so I have an excuse to make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      I used the dough recipe which was great and used another goo recipe that called for wiskey. it wasnt that great. sooo next time I'll try the whole recipe which I should have done from the start since it had such good reviews. my bad. but the dough is really good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      To me, Nigella's HBDG is the ultimate baking book, and this Schnecken recipe is but one example of her fantastic recipes. Utterly delicious, and so fragrant. I have made it numerous times, and each time, they always bring raves. Wonderful post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      My comment only on the dough, because i use a different filling (compose of raisins, walnuts, cin/sugar). I love the dough, it was very easy to work with. I thought the dough was a bit too dry (I forgot that I still have to add 2 eggs)so i add extra 5Tmilk. The dough turned very watery when i added the eggs so i ended up adding 2 1/2c+2T more of Bread flour to make the dough smooth and elastic. The txture of the bread was perfect! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      Ooey gooey deliciousness... I love Nigella!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      10 stars. So good but not too sweet. Easy to do to. I did everything by hand and they came out perfect. A couple of my friends dropped by for a visit and they wiped the entire pan out in 15 minutes. My DD was so mad since she only got one. I have to make her another batch. Thank you for posting NcMysteryshopper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Schnecken (Sticky German Cinnamon Buns)

    Serving Size: 1 (117 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.3
     
    Calories from Fat 200
    46%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 85.0 mg
    28%
    Sodium 129.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 20.5 g
    82%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    turbinado sugar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes