8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I will give this recipe 4 stars, because I was so ancious to make it, that I used ingredients I had on hand. Brie instead of Camenbert and reduced fat cream cheese. The result is very tasty, but I know that Camenbert has a more pronounced taste, but I can't find ripe/soft camenbert here1 :-( Made for "More Tan Sauerkraut...Tag"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) March 18, 2012

Yum! One of the best cheese dips of any kind I've ever made before! I halved the recipe and started by microwaving the cheeses for just 15 seconds to warm them up & make them easier to mash. I used one *large* shallot for the onion and a dry Gewurztraminer for the wine. I am enjoying this immensely, even as I type this! Thanks for sharing evelyn! [Made for the More than Sauerkraut and Dumplings! event in the German Etc forum]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 March 18, 2012

Oh wow, what a great spread! The flavours work so well together and especially the paprika goes great with the camembert cheese. YUM! I used vinegar in place of the white wine, but other than that stuck to your recipe and loved it. I will definitely make this again, it is so good!
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, evelyn!
Made and reviewed for the More than Dumplings and Sauerkraut event in the German forum March 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula March 18, 2012

Oh my gosh! This is addictive! Definately making again! Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mulligan May 24, 2010

I halved the recipe and served it with butter crackers. I enjoyed it, and may try a little balsamic vinegar in it next time! Thanks Evelyn! Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 30, 2008

I had some leftover camembert so I did a small batch of this, the flavours were lovely & it definitely goes well with a nice beer & some crackers. Did find that the camembert was a little hard to mash though but a great recipe. Made for ZWT 4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** May 27, 2008

Very good. The spread didnt get eaten much at our big dinner but I think people just werent interested in snacking. I ended up using the leftovers on roast beef sandwiches for dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori December 25, 2007

Evely/Athens.....thank you for sharing this recipe. Several years ago, I spent 2 weeks in Wien, and I recall eating this...if not this, then something almost identical. I can't wait to try this recipe, and I'll hold back rating until I can. I'm quite sure this is it! YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP April 24, 2007
Schmierkaese (Cheese Spread)