Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scents for the Holidays Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scents for the Holidays

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2005

      I too enjoyed the aroma, but found it was not as strong as I anticipated and did not permeate past my kitchen. Thank you Brittney for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      This is very nice but doesn't give off as much scent as I thought it would. My kitchen smelled heavenly but it didn't make it out into the living room. I will keep messing with it, because I really love the scents! Thanks for sharing. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      Wonderful scent-who says this scent should be for just the holidays?!!! Thank You Brittney.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      smells just like the holidays-much cheaper than candles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      What a lovely trick! Makes your house smell like you're making mulled wine. :-) Like many other reviewers, I find I really like the addition of orange peels - even used tangerine peels once in a pinch. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      Lovely! I live in an apartment, which is essentially a quarter windows so in the winter, even with the heat going it can get rather chilly... not to mention when the heat's going it can get rather dry! I find it nice for the climate of the apartment to simmer some water on the stove if its feeling a little dry or nippy in here and its very nice to have it scented! I can't stand store-bought potporris or air fresheners- they smell SO artificial. This is great because it is REAL. Very nice combination of ingredients - I bought whole allspice specifically for this recipe, and all the scents just blend very well. I would like to follow the suggestion of the other reviewers to add some orange peel too. I do have to agree with SueL somewhat, as the quantities of spices and water both seem a little small, but I found that it was still fairly fragrant (although I did use fresh organic spices from the bulk bins at the health food store) but I do think it could have been more so. I expect to keep this going most of the winter! A winner, if you ask me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2005

      A nice scent for holiday time. I did add some orange peel for added appeal. I was hoping however it would work for "non-holiday" times as well but I don't think it would.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      This has the wonderful aroma of a ham in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2004

      Easy to make, great smelling, and I had all the ingredients on hand. Thanks Brittney, it's on the stove now and what a nice fragrance!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      This was super easy to do and made my house smell great for a family gathering I am having today. I had all the ingredients so it worked out really well. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2004

      I brewed this up tonight. My DH was putting up the tree and I thought I'd throw this together. Great smell!! Thanks for sharing and Merry Christmas!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2004

      Has a nice scent, but the amount of spices used is very small, and it doesn't give off the amount of scent a simmering potpourri should. I added a lot more of each spice, as well as tossing in some star anise and a little bit of vanilla. Adding oils to this would be good as well, as that enhances the scent of the spices used. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      This makes the house smell lovely. I added clementine peel and I just keep adding water as it evaporates. Lovely scent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      Oh my house smells so GOOD. I wanted to find something like this for on Christmas day. I want everyone to walk in and go mmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      This was sooo nice! We do this ever so often this time of the year. It does have a lovely aroma. I also toss in some orange peel into the pot. Lovely way to keep the house smelling nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      First time user here and I liked the sound of adding orange peel which really worked well, everyone wanted to know what was cooking when they came home from work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2004

      YUM! This is a great recipe. It makes my house smell WONDERFUL! Thank you so much for sharing . Made it exactly as written, but I think I will add some orange peel and a bit more cinnamon to see if that makes it smell even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      This is wonderful! I followed the directions exactly, using the ground allspice (as that was what I had on hand) and it smelt so good! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      I love this aroma, really gets you into the holiday spirit! This is one of the items I will include as gifts to coworkers and friends. It is simmering on my stove as I type this. DH came in and wanted to know what was cooking. He is very disappointed that it is not edible! I plan to buy a teapot just to simmer this in all the time! I like the idea of the orange peel suggested by the other reviewers and will probably try that also. Thanks Brittney!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      I put this on the stove yesterday while preparing some make ahead TG dishes. It was absolutely wonderful. Helped get me in the holiday mood. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scents for the Holidays

    Serving Size: 1 (719 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6.7
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    55%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 12.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    whole allspice

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes