31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I too enjoyed the aroma, but found it was not as strong as I anticipated and did not permeate past my kitchen. Thank you Brittney for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ December 09, 2005

This is very nice but doesn't give off as much scent as I thought it would. My kitchen smelled heavenly but it didn't make it out into the living room. I will keep messing with it, because I really love the scents! Thanks for sharing. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= December 02, 2005

Wonderful scent-who says this scent should be for just the holidays?!!! Thank You Brittney.......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat March 13, 2005

smells just like the holidays-much cheaper than candles!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookinlizzy February 28, 2005

What a lovely trick! Makes your house smell like you're making mulled wine. :-) Like many other reviewers, I find I really like the addition of orange peels - even used tangerine peels once in a pinch. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee January 26, 2005

Lovely! I live in an apartment, which is essentially a quarter windows so in the winter, even with the heat going it can get rather chilly... not to mention when the heat's going it can get rather dry! I find it nice for the climate of the apartment to simmer some water on the stove if its feeling a little dry or nippy in here and its very nice to have it scented! I can't stand store-bought potporris or air fresheners- they smell SO artificial. This is great because it is REAL. Very nice combination of ingredients - I bought whole allspice specifically for this recipe, and all the scents just blend very well. I would like to follow the suggestion of the other reviewers to add some orange peel too. I do have to agree with SueL somewhat, as the quantities of spices and water both seem a little small, but I found that it was still fairly fragrant (although I did use fresh organic spices from the bulk bins at the health food store) but I do think it could have been more so. I expect to keep this going most of the winter! A winner, if you ask me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie January 14, 2005

A nice scent for holiday time. I did add some orange peel for added appeal. I was hoping however it would work for "non-holiday" times as well but I don't think it would.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy January 13, 2005

This has the wonderful aroma of a ham in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeffsmom January 04, 2005

Easy to make, great smelling, and I had all the ingredients on hand. Thanks Brittney, it's on the stove now and what a nice fragrance!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 December 31, 2004

This was super easy to do and made my house smell great for a family gathering I am having today. I had all the ingredients so it worked out really well. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas December 19, 2004
Scents for the Holidays