Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scented Bath Salts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scented Bath Salts

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2003

      The idea of adding essential oils and food colour, in particular, is a real nice one. I tried this with peppermint essential oil and it left my skin feeling cool, soft and smooth. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Great and very easy to make. I made Brown sugar and fig. Smelled so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      This is so easy to make and so much healthier to use than the bath salts you buy in the store. The whole house smelled fragrant the day I made them and the day I bottled them!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      I used a gallon sized baggie to mix the salts. It worked great and I didn't have any clumps to break up. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      As other reviewers have said the ingredients are easier to find and cheaper than some other bath salt recipes I have found. I have both lavender and chamomile essential oils on hand and will try this. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      I made these as Christmas gifts and they were easy and pretty too. I used glass jars that I had saved and decorated with silk flowers. I used Bath & Body Works body spray for the scent. I noticed some of the other bath salts recipes had glycerin, which I could not find at two drug stores. This recipe was simple, inexpensive and fun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      This is one of the simpler recipes I've seen for scented bath salts, which appeals to me, cost-wise, time-wise, and allergy-wise! I made this as part of my Christmas-gift making this year, and it turned out wonderfully. I think it will be very well received. I used 3/4 tsp. pure essential lavender oil, two drops of blue food coloring, and 3 drops of red food coloring to each 2 lbs. of Epsom salts. It worked wonderfully-- I got a nice light lavender tint and a fairly noticeable, but not overpowering, lavender scent. (Be warned, though, if you're making more than one batch-- that essential oil is strong stuff! I had to open a window!) I bought 4 lb. containers of Epsom salts, and found that the "pint's a pound" equivalency stayed true for them-- when measuring for the first batch, about 4 cups was equal to about half the container, or 2 lbs. I found also that the best way to make sure both scent and color were evenly distributed was to dump the oil, then the blue color, then the red color right on top of one another in the very middle, mix those together first, and then mix in the rest of the salt. I mixed with a plastic fork, which helped me break up chunks and mix a little at a time to keep it manageable, and can be just thrown away now that I'm done. I really think my family will enjoy this gift (which I put in very pretty plastic canisters with flowers embedded in the tops that I found at the dollar store!) Thank you for a wonderful idea. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2005

      This was wonderful and easy. I used peppermint and tea tree oil. I will have to adjust the amount of each that I put in but that is to be expected when experimenting with scents. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      I made this for my sister and my aunt last Christmas and they said they absolutely loved it. I used a lilac/rose combination for my aunt and a straight up strong lavender for my sister (I used a lot of oil :D)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scented Bath Salts

    Serving Size: 1 (4 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fragrance oil

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites