9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well, they taste good. I thought they would look pretty, too- but it is such a crumbly shortbread that by the time I put them on cookie trays they will be falling apart. And this was after the dough got a little crumbly (2 1/4 cups flour would be better), so I added a little of the egg white. The dough was then easy to handle. In the glaze, I added much more powdered sugar so that it held its shape on the cookie. I like the idea, and they are fast to make; but I'm going to look for similar recipes that are tweaked a little more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn December 10, 2013

I have been making these during holidays for years and they are always a major hit! They are delicious and almost too pretty to eat! I use a whole egg, 2 1/4 c flour, and white sugar instead of confectioners' for the dough. Also, I drizzle them with a cream cheese glaze: 1/2 c confectioners' sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 2 tbsp softened butter, 2 oz softened cream cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Creation September 30, 2012

Just perfect! Very tasty and fast to make. I did have although some problems as it was impossible to roll the dough. As bunny mom already reviewed it was crumbly. But I pat down the dough using my palms. An amazing dessert. The cookie dough is so soft and tasty. More than 5 stars from me!!! Thanks for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia November 20, 2006

I made these for ZWT II, and I really enjoyed them! They were much simpler to make than they looked, and they were so tender and delicate. The dough was a tiny bit crumbly, but I didn't have any major problems rolling them directly on the cookie sheet. I had some raspberry rhubarb jam lying around, so I used that instead of plain raspberry. Very pretty cookies, too -- perfect for a holiday cookie tray. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess June 13, 2006

initially, i too had some problem with the dough which more closely ressembled pie dough before adding the water than cookie dough. Gave up on the mixer and began working the dough by hand and it began to hang together a bit better. I was not able to get it to form 12 inch logs, but did manage 8 inches or so. Despite these early troubles, the efforts were well worth it as the cookies were superb with a light delicate shortbread-like cookie. the lemon glaze was the perfect match to the fruit. Keeping this recipe for my cooking trays. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni June 13, 2006

Wow these were so easy and so delicious, very much like shortbread only better! I didn't have any problems with the dough being crumbly and found it quite easy to roll into logs (perhaps cup sizes make a difference??). I used raspberry jam which I heated and then sieved to get rid of the pips. I put the jam in a zip-lock bag and cut the corner off to make a piping bag. Easy and delicious, thanks Leslie!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff June 11, 2006

I made these for ZWT2. These are really yummy! They were really very easy to make. I think I'll be adding them to my Christmas cookie platter, they are so pretty. I skipped the glaze because I didn't want them to be too sweet. They were perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra June 10, 2006

I thought these were great. I didn't seem to have any problems with the dough. I was able to roll it out as the directions indicate. Loved the raspberry flavor with the cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 June 08, 2006

Very taste and delicate cookie. I was a little worried because my dough was very crumbly. It was impossible to 'roll' it into a strand, so I had to carefully form the little logs. But they worked out fine, and everyone is gobbling them up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy September 16, 2005
Scandinavian Raspberry Ribbons