Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scandinavian Almond Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scandinavian Almond Bread

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2012

      These were amazing! My fiance wanted something bread like to munch on and I remembered these little gems hidden away. I substituted the margarine for butter (I just don't like the fake butter taste it gives things), and baked them in a Nordic Ware Mini-Bunt Cupcake pan. They were done about 10 minutes early. They smelled heavenly, you could tell they were done just by the aroma wafting out of the oven. Doing them in the smaller pan gave each one a very nice crispy exterior. I didn't have any sliced almonds, but I did have Swedish pearl sugar, so I sprinkled that in the bottom of each tin. It adds this wonderful sugary crunch to the top once they're pulled out and flipped over. I can't wait to try it with slivered almonds. I wasn't sure what the powdered sugar was for, but I decided to dust it over them before serving. I think they'd be amazing with an almond flavored drizzle over them. ~UPDATE 2/2/12~ Made these again and added 1 tsp poppy seeds, which my fiance says gives it an almost "almond-poppy seed muffin" taste. I think it adds a really nice visual dimension as well. I also did a lemon icing drizzle (1/2 c powdered sugar, 3 tlbs lemon juice (I used 1 lemon), and about 1 tlbs water or milk. Heat over the stove in a small sauce pan until slightly bubbly) which was, well, the icing on the cake!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      This cake tasted wonderful. But I obviously did something wrong. The center of the cake bubbled over and the center fell.............to add more insult to my day (I let it cool about an hour) & when I moved it (carefully) to the serving platter it fell apart into sections.....HELP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Absolutely delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I can't say enough good things about this cake. It smells fabulous in the oven, and it comes out light and fluffy and moist and decadent all at the same time. I love having tea in the afternoon, and this is a perfect accompaniment. I can't wait to try it with the sliced almonds. Thanks for a new favorite! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      This was easy, moist and delicious! I used butter instead of margarine. Beautiful flavor. Thanks for sharing! I'll be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Delicious and moist and very simple to make! I love the smell of this in the oven! The the crunch of the sliced almonds and the crispy edges of the bread are the best part! I used butter and omitted the powdered sugar. Will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      I love this!! Of course I also love Almond Kringle, which has a filling very similar to this bread. One bonus is that it is sooo simple to make. I don't even have to go to the store to get any ingredients because we usually have them in the house already.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      I make this twice today. The first one got burned after 40 minutes of baking and I found that it is verrrrry sweet for my taste. The sugar formed a crispy layer at the bottom of the cake. The taste is very good. I like it a lot and so I decided to make a second one (since it is very easy to make). Well, this time I only use 1 cup of sugar and I baked it for 25 minutes in a 10 inch bundt pan. My second try even though it is perfectly cooked...the texture is not the same as the one in the picture. It is dense like a pound cake. It did not rise well. I didn't know what I did wrong. Did I beat the batter too long or is it the size of the pan that I use. This cake is really good and very easy to make. I will give it a try again next time when I'm not busy. Right now, I will it give four stars. Thank you for sharing this wonderful cake recipe. Bheng D.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      Excellent and easy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      Delicious cake. I made it last weekend but used lemon rind insted of almond flavour as my DS's girlfriend was coming for lunch and she doesn't like almond. Next time will try with the almond.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      An incredibly delicate, melt-in-your-mouth cake. A lovely flavor as well. I had trouble getting it out of the pan but I'm pretty sure it was my old pan's fault, not the recipe's. It was very popular around here and I know I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      Delicious and easy to make. I used a standard glass bread pan and had to bake an extra 10 minutes. Next time I will use 2 small bread pans. Roger Helgerson

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scandinavian Almond Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (41 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.7
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    24%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 11.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 48.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites