Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scandinavian Almond Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scandinavian Almond Bars

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2007

      YUM! I was looking for a unique cookie to take to a cookie exchange and this was a great fit. I found the dough a bit sticky and difficult to shape but once I refrigerated them for a 1/2 hour and perfected my method it worked out great. Make sure you space them out a bit because they do expand. I also waited a few minutes before cutting as I found the cookies too hot right out of the oven. The glaze makes them look and taste even better but they are yummy without it too. Thank you Katra!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      Me again. I just had to try this again, but I did two variations. I put chocolate chips on top of one batch. Didn't impress me, but some liked it. For the other, I used lemon extract with almonds on top. After baking, I added minced candied lemon (#116131)and lemon drizzle. Lighter tasting cookie for another set of taste buds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      Outstanding. Super easy, beautiful and beyond yummy. Can't wait to try with coffee! Very almond-y and very much like Dutch Almond Bars I tried in Orange City, IA (a Dutch town!). Thanks for posting, will be making this a regular. ;]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Yummy, the dough was so easy to work with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Delicious! I used this in my cookies trays last year and look forward to doing so again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      So yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      I like that they were chewy and no one flavor was overpowering the rest. Rocket K, Food.com's awesome designer, brought these for a cookie tasting at our office this past week. They looked and tasted wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      These are great! The recipe isn't fussy and dough rolled out easily. Definitely plan to make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe - it is one I used to make and hadn't thought of in years. An absolutely delicious cookie - great for Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      They bring the memories of childhood back for me....My grandma used to put almond extract in all her baking and I find myself doing that now, the smell of almond extract just takes me back to her kitchen. These bars are so pretty and so tasty that everyone who has tried them ooh and ahh over them. They are a definate keeper on the Christmas baking list. Thanks a bunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      These are sooo delicious!! My whole family loves almond flavor--I add a little extra almond extract ;) We make these every Christmas and store them outside in the cold so they last even longer!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Tasty and easier to make than I first thought! Add milk really slowly when making the glaze...mine came out too thin and it took a while for it to set. Will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

    • on September 14, 2008

      I followed the directions and used the almond glaze in the recipe. I believe it is important to use this glaze to continue the almond flavor. I appreciated Girle's review regarding cutting the bars a couple of minutes after removing from the oven. (Just let them cool for a max of 2 minutes). Also, don't let them get too crisp or brown! This is a unique delicious recipe which I will be using again. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Very Good. I used a white chocolate drizzle instead of icing. thanks for posting......Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      My husband's new favorite cookies. Lucky for me they are so easy to make! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      Yummy! These came out super tender and excellent with a glass of milk! Mine came out kind of thick, thus a little cakey, but I like my cookies like that. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      My icing didn't turn out as well, but maybe it's because I used skim milk? The cookies are great, I love them! Good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      Wow, just wow. These were amazing! They looked great and tasted even better! I didn't use the icing because they never got a chance to cool. They were gone before I could put them on the wire rack. My mom (who is very picky) loved these, trust me that is saying something. I can't wait to try this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I have made these cookies many times. They are always a hit and look great to take to any special occasion. The flavor is extra special!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scandinavian Almond Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (16 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 48

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 58.3
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    24%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 3.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 40.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites