Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scallops in Garlic Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scallops in Garlic Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2012

      We loved this recipe. I did sear the scallops first and doubled the sauce. Served over fresh pasta. Was a wonderful dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      I had a mixture of shrimp and scallops that I used for this recipe. This would be great on rice or pasta, especially something like linguine. We enjoyed this with some fresh whole grain bread. Made for ZWT8. Thanks NorthwestGal! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      This is just outstanding. The sauce is so full of flavor and creamy. It was delicious with some crusty bread and a salad. Made for ZWT8 for the Diners, Winers and Chives team.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      This sauce is delicious...I'll try it again with shrimp or chicken. I used fresh bay scallops from the fish market (not frozen), and also used heavy whipping cream. I also used a nice white wine. The sauce was absolutely delicious, but it was a bit thin. I tried to use other reviewers suggestions to keep my sauce from being thin.....but that being said, I had some wonderful crusty bread to sop up the sauce! Delicious....thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Yum! Other than subbing shrimp for the scallops (and so adding them later than I would have added the scallops), I made this as directed, using the wine. Served over rice it made a fast and delicious supper, thank you NorthwestGal, much enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      Delicious, just scrumptous. This was so flavorful and creamy. I substituted the fresh parsley with 1 tbsp dried and did add the wine (Muscato, personal fave) and both contributed to the wonderful flavor of this dish. My hubby doesn't like scallops very much, but he ate this up. I served with some french bread to help mop up the sauce when the scallops were all gone. Made for ZWT7. Thanks for a fabulous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      I have actually made this before, but failed to review it. Sorry about that. This was last year when I made it, but it was very good. A few notes:

      The white wine I think is a must. It gave great flavor

      I did add red pepper flakes for a little heat, just a touch, I like lots of flavor, just me (optional)

      Use heavy cream, don't try to save fat. Those who said the sauce was runny or thin, that is why, the heavy cream is what will make it thick and rich

      Also, I did add double the garlic, but I love garlic, again this was in my opinion.

      And if using frozen scallops, be sure to thaw completely and drain on a paper towel, otherwise they will add to much water to the dish.

      I also didn't add the parsley until the end of cooking.

      It was very good, tender scallops, a good sauce and easy to make. But don't skimp on the cream or the wine, that is really what makes the dish.
      Great recipe and easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I made as written and also added some shrimp. The wine is a must for the creamy sauce. I served Savory Gruye're Garlic Bread (Abm) for dipping. Thanks Vickie for posting such a flavorful recipe. Made for ZWT7 Golden Gourmets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      We loved this! I have to say I was surprised how flavorful this was after for such a short cooking time, the wine really gets infused with the garlic, onions and parsley and scallop liquid, then adding the cream is just decadent. I used medium size scallops I get frozen from Trader Joe's. Even though defrosted, they released a lot of liquid, so after cooking the scallops to just barely done (cooked low just short of 10 minutes). I pulled them out of the pan and then reduced the wine/scallop liquid quite a bit before adding the cream, then after warming added the scallops back in. We ate the whole thing! I just wished I'd had some crusty french bread to dip in the sauce. They don't look like much in the dish but who cares when they taste this good! Thanks Northwest Gal for another great recipe. Made for ZWT 7 for the Food.commandos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      This was pretty good and easy to fix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Fantastic and easy to make. I did use the optional wine, but only 1/8 cup. I used real cream and had a wonderful, thick, creamy sauce. Thanx for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      This was just wonderful! Fast, easy and great taste. I used part shrimp and part scallops, and used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of cream. Served it with mashed potatoes and broccolini. Mmmmm, good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      We really liked this one--comparable to a great seafood restaurant! I breaded the scallops and quickly fried them up in the butter beforehand, and after the sauce had simmered threw them back in. The breading really helped the sauce thicken up and it tasted terrific!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      A delicious and easy dish. I happened to have some tilapia I wanted to use, and the sauce worked beautifully with it. I used a 1/2 pound of fish, but used all of the sauce ingredients, except a bit less cream. Served with orzo. I saved some parsley to add on top of the plated dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      I made this as directed with only a few alterations. I adding just a little extra garlic. I could not get the sauce to thicken so it turned out really runny. The flavor was good. I think next time I'll add some crushed red pepper flakes to give it a little zip. My scallops were very large so cooking time was about 15-20 minutes. I used Fat Free half and half for the cream to decrease the calorie intake. Very nice. Served this with Firecracker Shrimp and some roasted potatoes and red pepper, garlic and onion. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      This is incredibly tasty dish!! I folowed the directions exactly, but doubled garlic. I also added a little bit of lemon but once when the dish was done - didn't change the texture, and it tasted really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Wow! This was excellent! I added a little bit of lemon juice (about a tablespoon's worth) The sauce was a bit soupy, so I thickened it a bit with some cornstarch. The taste was wonderful. I served it with Spinach and Garlic mashed potatoes for side dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scallops in Garlic Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.9
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    62%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 75.7 mg
    25%
    Sodium 800.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 14.7 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes