17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved this recipe. I did sear the scallops first and doubled the sauce. Served over fresh pasta. Was a wonderful dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc August 15, 2012

I had a mixture of shrimp and scallops that I used for this recipe. This would be great on rice or pasta, especially something like linguine. We enjoyed this with some fresh whole grain bread. Made for ZWT8. Thanks NorthwestGal! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif August 08, 2012

This is just outstanding. The sauce is so full of flavor and creamy. It was delicious with some crusty bread and a salad. Made for ZWT8 for the Diners, Winers and Chives team.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 August 02, 2012

This sauce is delicious...I'll try it again with shrimp or chicken. I used fresh bay scallops from the fish market (not frozen), and also used heavy whipping cream. I also used a nice white wine. The sauce was absolutely delicious, but it was a bit thin. I tried to use other reviewers suggestions to keep my sauce from being thin.....but that being said, I had some wonderful crusty bread to sop up the sauce! Delicious....thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 01, 2011

Yum! Other than subbing shrimp for the scallops (and so adding them later than I would have added the scallops), I made this as directed, using the wine. Served over rice it made a fast and delicious supper, thank you NorthwestGal, much enjoyed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth June 29, 2011

Delicious, just scrumptous. This was so flavorful and creamy. I substituted the fresh parsley with 1 tbsp dried and did add the wine (Muscato, personal fave) and both contributed to the wonderful flavor of this dish. My hubby doesn't like scallops very much, but he ate this up. I served with some french bread to help mop up the sauce when the scallops were all gone. Made for ZWT7. Thanks for a fabulous recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KimmieCat June 28, 2011

I have actually made this before, but failed to review it. Sorry about that. This was last year when I made it, but it was very good. A few notes:

The white wine I think is a must. It gave great flavor

I did add red pepper flakes for a little heat, just a touch, I like lots of flavor, just me (optional)

Use heavy cream, don't try to save fat. Those who said the sauce was runny or thin, that is why, the heavy cream is what will make it thick and rich

Also, I did add double the garlic, but I love garlic, again this was in my opinion.

And if using frozen scallops, be sure to thaw completely and drain on a paper towel, otherwise they will add to much water to the dish.

I also didn't add the parsley until the end of cooking.

It was very good, tender scallops, a good sauce and easy to make. But don't skimp on the cream or the wine, that is really what makes the dish.
Great recipe and easy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook June 26, 2011

ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I made as written and also added some shrimp. The wine is a must for the creamy sauce. I served Savory Gruye're Garlic Bread (Abm) for dipping. Thanks Vickie for posting such a flavorful recipe. Made for ZWT7 Golden Gourmets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 June 25, 2011

We loved this! I have to say I was surprised how flavorful this was after for such a short cooking time, the wine really gets infused with the garlic, onions and parsley and scallop liquid, then adding the cream is just decadent. I used medium size scallops I get frozen from Trader Joe's. Even though defrosted, they released a lot of liquid, so after cooking the scallops to just barely done (cooked low just short of 10 minutes). I pulled them out of the pan and then reduced the wine/scallop liquid quite a bit before adding the cream, then after warming added the scallops back in. We ate the whole thing! I just wished I'd had some crusty french bread to dip in the sauce. They don't look like much in the dish but who cares when they taste this good! Thanks Northwest Gal for another great recipe. Made for ZWT 7 for the Food.commandos

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet June 17, 2011

This was pretty good and easy to fix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherN June 21, 2009
Scallops in Garlic Cream Sauce