Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scalloped Potatoes and Ham With Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scalloped Potatoes and Ham With Cheese

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2011

      The only recipe I use. I get compliments when people taste my potatoes for the 1st time. I do a few things differently...I cook the onion in the butter before adding flour and I layer the cheese on the potatoes instead of adding it to the mixture; I find it easier to spread. I always make extra because my family loves these left over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I made this tonight to use up some leftover Christmas ham and it was delicious. Everyone went back for seconds, which is always a good sign, especially when two of them are picky eaters. I didn't add the onion because of the picky eaters and used onion powder instead. I also added some dry mustard powder too. This one is a keeper. Thanks Barbara

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      LOVED this! I made it with three cans of sliced white potatoes, so the cooking time was a lot less. Was still amazing though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      My kids have their own name for this dish: "cheesy potato goodness". Good with ham, kielbasa or meatless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      After a recent wedding we had a lot of leftover seasoned small canned potatoes. I decided to search RecipeZaar to find a way to use them up. WOW....what a find. I made a pan full with leftover ham pieces and there was NOTHING left. Thanks for a great addition to my menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      This was soooo good! The sauce was wonderful with the potatoes and ham. Some of my potatoes were slightly undercooked, so I might add 15 minutes or increase the temperature slightly next time, as I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      This smelled so good before I even pulled it out. My aunt used to make something very close to this when I was growing up and this tasted pretty much the same to me, so yummy. I even doubled the recipe and it came out great, just cooked it about 30 min longer. Also used vermont white cheddar and a couple tablespoons of white cooking wine in the sauce. Bad-ass!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Fantastic! I have made scalloped potatoes and ham many times before but none have been anywhere near this good. The cheese definitely makes the sauce. I found you can adjust the cheese to your family's liking and the sauce will be fine no matter how much. I used medium cheddar on mine. I didn't have to take the lid off the baking dish for it to brown slightly on top. Then the moisture stayed in and the potatoes were perfect in an hour and a half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      I made this yesterday to bring to easter dinner at my boyfriends parents (which I had never met before). I ommitted the onion since I do not like them. I added ham, turkey bacon, parmesean cheese to mine also (about 1 cup) and creole seasoning. I also made mine in the crockpot (about 5 hours). i got rave reviews from the entire family. A entire 5 qt crockpot was cleaned out and everyone was asking for more. I will definately keep this recipe and make over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Loved this! It's different from how I enjoyed it as a kid, but I loved the cheesy taste. :) Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Simple & delicious to prepare. I stuck to the recipe pretty faithfully. I used shredded cheddar cheese, about 1/4 c. onion and cubed (not sliced) turkey ham in mine. The cheese sauce is wonderful with the cheddar and onions! In the past, I've used recipes that call for Velveeta or American cheese--they pale in compairson with this recipe. My family liked this, and it was served with Fried Broccoli "Fried Broccoli." It's certainly a keeper. Thank you for submitting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Oh my gosh! My husband made this for diner and all I kept saying was "OMG! THIS IS WONDERFUL". I packed my lunch for work tomorrow before the 16 y/o son got home and eats it al! YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      This recipe was great! This was my second time making scalloped potatoes, I have tried another recipe on this site. Wasn't worth eating, but this one was awesome! It was a hit with my hubby and 2 teenagers. I will have to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Fantastic recipe! This was my first time making scalloped potatoes and I cannot believe how great they turned out! Yummi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      Simple, easy, and the end result was very good. I had a leftover ham steak which I diced. I put the ingredients into a casserole as instructed then stirred the potatoes around so all the cheese sauce wouldn't be on the top. I baked as directed...perfect!! I will make this again but will add some salt and pepper for taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      I made this for my girlfriend lastnight for dinner. She loved it, it was easy to prepare and turne out perfect. Thank you, she insist i do all the cooking now. tonight its stuffed chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scalloped Potatoes and Ham With Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 399.2
     
    Calories from Fat 268
    67%
    Total Fat 29.8 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 18.7 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 83.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 707.4 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites