669 Reviews

Tried this fabulous recipe twice, now and it keeps getting better and better. Second time, I used the mandolin to make thinner slices. Cut up a few too many potatoes, so I made three layers with sauce on each. Didn't have cayenne pepper, so I used a splash of garlic powder in the sauce instead. I also liked extra sharp cheddar in the sauce and on top. Cut the square pan into nine servings and it froze beautifully. So right...even better the day after and day after that. Really wonderful dish...Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rupeetwo January 21, 2013

This is super yummy. I have made this twice now and the second time I did add some fresh garlic to the butter before adding the flour and we found it really improved the flavour. I will probably try adding some onion next time too. The sauce stays really creamy - thanks Vicki G!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melly78 January 12, 2013

I have to admit.... I am not a big Scalloped Potato fan, but hubbie is. So I tweeked these to make them how I like them and it just so happens, hubbie loved them too!
I started by cutting a clove of garlic in half and rubbing the cut end all over the bottom of the casserole dish. Then I pulled out my mandolin slicer- which in my opinion is essential for scalloped potatoes! That or some other way to make all the slice the same thickness ( cheese grater, food processor, talent...) And I slice up 2-3 large potatoes and 3/4 of a large onion. I also minced up the rest of that garlic I cut in half earlier- these I added to the casserole dish as directed (mixed together randomly). I followed the directions from there- except that I added another minced clove of garlic to the butter/flour mixture before I added the cheese (garlic powder would probably work well too) as well as some smoked paprika, salt and pepper and a touch of cayenne pepper. I baked it uncovered but had to throw tin foil over it for the last 20 mins so it wouldn't burn. It was so good!!! And I don't like Scalloped Potatoes! Yummmmmm.
I may have tweeked it by adding garlic, onion and a few other spices, but the basics were Vicki's- and I thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 January 11, 2013

Excellent recipe! I added about 1/3 cup onion, but otherwise followed the recipe and it turned out perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lmarie636 January 01, 2013

Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bethany3 December 27, 2012

I made prime rib for Christmas dinner last night. I was going to make mashed potatoes and then got the email from food.com about your receipe. I saw I had all the ingredients in the house so I gave it a shot! I followed your recipe but put an extra couple of dashes of cayenne and it still was not that spicy. Also sprinkled some panko bread crumbs on top and it gave it an awesome crunch! My husbands favorite part! Also I used a quart and a half size casserole dish and everything just barely fit,I knew there was no way it was going to fit in a quart size. I will def make again, can't wait to heat up the leftovers!! Now I know I don't have to buy the BC brand in the box anymore! I can make it myself and it tastes so much better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dragonpawz December 26, 2012

Excellent. Didn't use the cayenne and still was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
G011972 December 26, 2012

Well, we think this recipe might be a five - it's hard to tell though at the moment. Unfortunately DH misinterpreted the amounts of cayenne required - therefore I currently have reduced hearing from the burn of 1 teaspoon plus a dash of cayenne! Other than that it was delicious - will post another review after consuming commercial quantites of antacids throughout the night! Thanks Vicki :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Normans December 26, 2012

Technically, these are AuGratin potatoes, not Scalloped potatoes, because they have cheese in them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kris.hodges_12155422 December 25, 2012

I had been looking for a recipe that mimics the prepared ones in the specialty food section of my grocery store. I found this recipe and my search is over. These are to die for and the total cost to make this recipe is less than one serving from the grocery store. As per another reviewers suggestion I bought a mandolin just to make these potatoes. This is a great recipe to use up leftover ham too. Just layer it in between the potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CooperRiverGirl December 17, 2012
Scalloped Potatoes