Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2002

      Fearing that this recipe might be just a tad on the bland side, I used crushed red pepper instead of regular pepper and well-seasoned breadcrumbs on top. Toward the very end of cooking, I broiled the dish for just a few minutes to make the top a little bit crispy. Served them with freshly grated Parmesan cheese on the table to sprinkle on top. First-class potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      This recipe was mmmmmmmmmm yummy....very creamy texture and not bland at all...I used garlic powder and parsley flakes along with Italian seasoned bread crumbs...very tasty...very good....I also served this with Italian dressing marinated grilled pork chops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      Great ideas, Millie. Thanks! I've tried Italian seasoned bread crumbs before with this recipe , but I' ve never added red pepper flakes. I think I'll try that next time! The other thing you can do with this recipe is to chop up ham or peameal bacon into it. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2002

      Great recipe: I made the white sauce with soy milk so this dish could be served with meat dishes according to Jewish dietary laws. I also added additional seasoning and homemade breadcrumbs sprinkled with paprika for beautiful color. Big hit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      These potatoes came out great. I had a recipe very simular to this but lost it a few years ago. I looked on recipe sites and in cook books but had no luck. One day on recipezaar and I have a great scalloped potatoe recipe. THANKS:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      Tried this recipe to-night with my boneless ham in the crockpot. There was just the two of us so I cut the recipe in half. I also added a couple of sprinkles of dry mustard and paprika to add a little flavor. It turned out very well. The potatoes were moist and creamy and the breadcrumbs and margarine added just enough crispiness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2003

      thanks for a great SP recipe! we will be making this again. next time, i'll try italian seasoned bread crumbs, and add a little garlic salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      My daughter mentioned that she loved her school cafeteria's scalloped potatoes. So of course right afterwards she looks at me and says, Mom can you make some of those tonight? I did and this recipe passed my 9 yr old's strict standards with flying colors. This recipe is part of our regular dinner planning, thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      These potatoes were fantastic...I made them last night for my New Year's Eve party, alongside of bbq ribs and steamed cabbage...yummy!!! I did add red pepper flakes, tarragon, and monterrey jack cheese to the sauce. MANY, MANY THANKS FOR THIS GREAT RECIPE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      Absolutly delicious!!!!! Added seasoning like other people suggested so it wasn't to bland and it turned out great! Definately a recipe to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I make this all the time except I add 1/2 cup or more of any kind of cheese I have in the house (cheddar, asiago, swiss, etc) to the white sauce before I pour it on the potatoes. I also add garlic pepper or tarragon to the sauce. You can be so creative with this recipe. You can also use half chicken broth instead of the milk. Excellant!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      I agree, this recipe was quite bland. I added monterey jack cheese to the white sauce and a whole lot of white pepper. It's a very good base though which is why I rated it higher. I too topped it with cornflake crumbs and cheese to broil. That was the best part. next time I will add other flavors. Thanx!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      I made these potatoes tonight to go with my Father's Day dinner. What a hit. My family didn't fine these bland at all. Scallope potatoes are my husband's favorite potatoes. I never thought to make a cream sauce first. Next time, I will add garlic and grated cheese. The only change I will make is place these potatoes in a casserole dish with low sides so that the breadcrumbs cover more of the potatoes. This recipe will be used frequently in my house. Served them with my Ultimate Meatloaf Recipe and Oregano Carrots.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2003

      This recipe was wonderful! I followed your recipe exactly except I did use Italian seasoned bread crumbs. Next time I make it I might add a little garlic to it and a little cheese. Thanks Ranikabani

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Delicious. I made this last night to go with our tenderloin and it was a big hit. I shredded my potatoes instead of slicing but otherwise followed your recipe. Very good and I especially like the crumb topping. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      Excellent great need change nothing yummy Doll .......................... Great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! I made a huge batch using Yukon Gold Potatoes, my favourite. My DH, aka Mr. Potato Head will devour them in short order. I remember these from my childhood and haven't made them like this in years. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Very good classic recipe w/o cheese, served it with my Easter ham and it was a real hit. Plan to make it again soon with the leftover ham I will freeze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Exactly what I was looking for! A simple and delicious recipe. It's now in my cookbook to stay!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      This was the recipie I've been looking for. Very basic and easy to make without special ingrediants. It's also very versatile, and can be changed by adding things you have on hand.(ie; cheese, spices) Very delicious served with ham or pork chops! Definatly a keeper I will make again and again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (338 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.1
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    20%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 18.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 79.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites