66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The BEST!!! The only way to make scalloped potatoes as far as we are concerned. Deserves more than 5-stars. This produced a sumptuous creamy cheese sauce and the bacon-onion add WOW for flavor. The potatoes turned out very tender. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jillian L December 11, 2002

The ultimate in comfort food. These were fantastic. The bacon-onion-potatoes mixed with the creamy cheese sauce. Oh, somebody stop me. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! Sinfully delicious!! Thanks again Nurse Di.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust August 26, 2002

This is the way I remember my Gran making scalloped potatoes. I tried them out on my family and I was Queen for a day. Very tender potatos with the added goodness of bacon and onion flavors. Topped off with that of so luscious creamy cheese sauce. Nothing better in my opinion. Thanks.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madison County March 26, 2003

I don't know what I can add that hasn't already been said. These potatoes are the bomb!!! So tender they melt in your mouth. The creamy cheese sauce and bacon will make you weak. Reminds me of simple down home cooking like my mom used to make. Just wonderful. Thanks.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashlynt April 08, 2003

Great side dish along side a brisket I fixed last weekend. I did substitute cream of celery as my kids don't care for mushroom but it still had a wonderful flavor. I like the addition of the bacon. I had to cook it an extra 30 minutes but it came out great. Thanks

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher April 12, 2003

Flavorful dish, NurseDi! I left the peels on for added nutrition and since I didn't have sour cream in my fridge, I used some Helluva Good Ranch Dip! Nice side dish.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M&Mers May 20, 2002

This is not the way I make scalloped potatoes for ham dinners or company, but this is a very good, filling, easy meal that my husband (who is not a cook) will make for supper every once in a while! I mix up the everything together before I put in the casserole dish so that the sauce goes all the way through. And I use Lawry's seasoned salt for the salt. I have also substituted chopped ham for the bacon and that's very good too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmberMomOfTwoBoys April 25, 2010

This is not what I think of for scalloped potatoes. The sauce really should be mixed in as it just sits on top and does not get down through the potatoes. The potatoes (especially the ones on the bottom) turned out more "slimey" than tender and they kind of clumped together. The flavor was not bad, but it was nothing special either.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shwltr78 March 05, 2010

I thought the sauce was a little too thick, so I added a little milk. Next time, I think I'll mix it in with the potatoes, instead of on top, Also, I used shredded Swiss Cheese & SPAM cubes instead of bacon & cheddar cheese...VERY TASTY!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman February 10, 2010

These potatoes were excellant. We had them for supper tonight. I omitted the bacon because my daughter doesn't eat it. I can imagine they would be even better with the bacon. Maybe next time. She can pick them out. I will be making this one again. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy June 15, 2003
Scalloped Potatoes