84 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

THE best turkey burger we've ever had. The first time I made them, I had the butcher grind all white meat, they were good, but not great. The second time I bought a mixture of white and dark meats. Yum. The third time, I added 2 tablespoons of minced fresh ginger. Perfect!! I made all the burgers, cooked them all the way through, and placed them in individual zip bags in the freezer. We just take a bag (or two) out and place in the micro on high for four-five minutes ( depending on the size of the burger) and we have dinner. Thank you for a great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseygirl1952 June 16, 2011

Excellent! I did'nt have scallions so I used a shallot. Can't wait to make these again! Mosit and full of flavor! I also used a little light mayo mixed with Sriracha chili, for a little kick. Next time I will try it with wasabi mayo. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kgulley March 02, 2009

This is a very good burger.
Made it this afternoon for hubby and friend using all ingredients except sesame oil and scallions-used canola and vidalia in place of and they turned out really good anyway!
I 'fried' them on grill cook pan on top of stove and served on thin sanwhich rounds w/ cheese and a little olive-mayo on top....they were well received! Not dry at all and tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MemphisMommy October 30, 2010

I make these exactly as written and I make them ALL the time! At least a few times a month. Because we live in very rainy Seattle, we usually just bake them in the over at 350 for 20 min or so. I can tell you the sesame oil is key - my little guy is allergic to sesame so we make him a separate burger without, and I've tried it and it's nowhere near as good! Anyway, thanks for an awesome recipe. I can't believe it's taken me so long to review!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurgundyS August 07, 2010

I found this while trying to eat a little more healthy. I am not sure how healthy it is, but it is delicious, and my son's first request when returning from a year studying in Spain!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janetbellu_7158186 May 31, 2010

Loved this. I made a few substitutions based on other reviews - subbed regular white onions for the scallions, didn't add the cilantro or sesame oil since we were out of both, but added a touch of olive oil and a little extra soy sauce to substitute for the sesame oil. Served these on onion rolls with swiss cheese and a horseradish/wasabi combination, which was the perfect complement. Served with a side of Sweet Potato Fries - http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/Sweet-Potato-Fries-43469

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy laree April 07, 2010

Deserves all the 5 star ratings. DH hates turkey burgers but loved these. They do taste like the inside of a pot sticker as someone else said. I left out the breadcrumbs because I am on weight water core and didn't want to count those points. I also left out cilantro 'cause DH doesn't like it. I think next time I may add diced waterchestnuts (I think someone else suggested that as well). I served these with no bun and Saucy Susan duck sauce on the side. My DD liked it with soy sauce. DH suggested next time making some dumpling sauce to go with them. If I were to use a bun, I think I would toast it and rub with garlic and duck sauce. I served this with stir fried bok choy and fresh corn on the cob. A great meal that I will make again. Would also be great with fried rice, stmd rice, or lo mein if making without bun. With the bun I'd recommend an asian slaw, stir fried veggies, or a big tossed asian inspired salad. Will be making this again and again. DH even wants to try this mixture in pot sticker wrapers. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse May 26, 2008

I don't have one complaint about these burgers! I was concerned about them falling apart. They didn't. I was concerned about them being dull, but they were anything but. I increased the cilantro, since we love it, and used crushed rice crispies instead of bread crumbs since we didn't have any. They still turned out perfect. This recipe also works great as a Once A Month Cooking freezer meal. Make up ahead of time, freeze in patties, and you have a quick, delicious, healthy meal! Thanks riffraff! It's a family favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Haversac May 21, 2008

Delicious! Doesn't need tomatoe or anything - just a bun and some mayo is good, although I'll try it with onions & lettuce. Yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trentsteff May 19, 2008

These burgers were awesome. This is the first time I ever made turkey burgers and will definitely make them again. Since it was raining out I couldn't grill them so I just fried them in a little olive oil. They were very juicy. Yum. Thanks for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lydia C. August 05, 2014
Scallion Sesame Turkey Burger