Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sawmill Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sawmill Gravy

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2003

      My boyfriend and I just moved from North Carolina to California, so we've (well, more him than I) been missing Southern-type food. I finally caved in and made him biscuits and gravy last night. We were really happy to find that the Mean Chef had a recipe for sawmill gravy. I was really happy to find out that it was not as terrible for you as I had assumed (however, I never had it except at BoJangles, so being fast food, it may have been terrible for me by default). The gravy had a great flavor and was really easy (perfect to make quickly while the biscuits are in the oven), but we really felt it was too meaty- and I only used 12oz. of sausage, not 16! Next time, I will only use half or three-quarters of the sausage. I also had trouble with the fat- for some odd reason, I had hardly any. Nowhere near 2Tbs even. Even after I squeezed all I could out of the cooked sauasage. I'm not sure what happened, but I won't blame this on the recipe, however, I did have to add a little oil to make up for the missing fat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      I cooked this Sunday morning for a friend who is a biscuits and gravy fanatic. It was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      i didn't add extra oil. though i didn't have nearly enough for 2 tablespoons, i figured it would taste alright when i re-added the sausage and i was right. it was great. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      Good! Served with homemade buttermilk biscuits as part of our breakfast feast. Found this recipe by Alton Brown online and glad to see it already posted. Used Jimmy Dean sausage and fat free milk. It thickened so much, I ended up adding about 3/4 cup more milk. Like some of the other reviewers I didn't have enough fat from the sausage so added some bacon grease. Butter would work as well. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      We had to add a bit more milk for this, but other than that, it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      This was my first attempt to make gravy from scratch and it turned out really well. I used a half pound of sausage with the full amount of gravy and it turned out well. I used reduced fat sausage and it didn't make really any grease, so I had to use oil but it turned out. I even used skim milk since that's all we have. Thanks for posting; it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      This was my 1st attempt at making homemade sawmill gravy. Before that, I had always bought the powder that comes in the little envelope to make it. As recommended, I used a cast iron skillet. It turned out really well. At first I was doubtful, because my flour/grease paste wasn't mixing well in the milk. I really had to whisk and whisk to get all the clumps out. After that, though, it thickened up nicely and turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      Great! I used 1/2 lb sausage and that was perfect. It was easy to make and my DH was in gravy heaven! Will make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I really liked this and I'm not really the sausage gravy fan in the family (my DH is so I made this for him). I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I think that the sausage should be halved or the other ingredients doubled. One pound was way too much (but the flavor was good). I used Neese's sausage (yum). Hehe, I also just realized that I only did 1 c. milk (which I put in more because that was obviously was too little) so if I'd followed the recipe correctly, that part would've been good. Still recommend 1/2 the meat though. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      This is Alton Brown's recipe...I use it all the time, since DH watched this episode. Prior to this recipe, my gravies were terrible. This recipe is quick, easy and produces great results, even for the gravy challenged population. Just had it tonight as a matter of fact. I always need to add a little oil to the sausage, because I never end up with 2 tablespoons of grease from the sausage. Fantastic, thick gravy....not for those watching their weight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      I made this recipe this morning for my family and they all ate it from the 6 year old to the 17 year old. I made two recipes with Jimmy Dean sausage one maple flavored and one hot flavored, I would just use the maple next time. I served this with the bisuit recipe (77417) and it was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      I made this gravy on 8/2/07 for myself and my SO.For the sausage I used one that was maple flavored,and it added a very mild sweet taste to the gravy.Since the sausage itself didn't have much grease,I used a couple of tablespoons of vegetable shortening to make up the differance.And instead of adding the salt and pepper to the recipe,we just added what we wanted to our own serving.This was good enough for me to want it again.Thanks for posting,and "Keep Smiling:)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      Down home cookin' at its finest! I remember having this at my grandma's house on cold winter mornings. This will probably gross you out, but when we were little, having this meant that we could wash it down with Dr. Pepper while the grownups had their coffee! Thanks for the memories - and of course, for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      Well being a Army vet, I have eaten this every morning for along time when I was in. This is the first time I tried making it. It was outstanding. Served over homemade hashbrowns and eggs. Will keep this one for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2004

      I am not rating this because I have not made it according to this recipe yet but we (my family) have made this for generations. We use bacon grease-which gives you more grease. Then you can add in some crumbled sausage. When I was a kid we had this every Sunday. Now my family loves it when I make it for them. Also, I see people ladle it over whole biscuits but its best when you tear your biscuit up in bite size pieces and then pour the gravy over-more gravy per bite! Serve with eggs-over easy! Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2004

      My daughter and I just finished licking our plates clean. This was perfect! I loved the amount of meat and your method for cooking the roux and adding the milk off the heat was new to me, but has now been adopted as my method for any white sauce. Very smooth sauce without having to break my arm whisking out the lumps. I did add 1/2 cup of finely chopped onion when cooking the sausage, but only because I couldn't get my usual favorite 'oniony' sausage. I'll be making this often. Thanks, Mean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      This is the same recipe I use. I use spicy sausage, quite a bit of ground pepper and some sage, (not a lot). My whole family scarfs it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2004

      I apologize, I made this recipe a couple of weeks ago and forgot to review. This is how I make my gravy, only I use a very lean Sausage - Oldhams, so there's no need to remove the sausage from the pan. This is a very meaty recipe and sometimes I don't use a whole 16 ounces of sausage either. I did make this recipe and it was wonderful, Dave sends his thanks ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      I made this and it turned out great we all liked it.I was glad I was able to make this and it had a taste usually I have no luck with gravy.I did as the recipe said all but using all of the sausage I only used half of it in the gravy.I did add a little but more oil to it because my sausage didn't give me enough fat.I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sawmill Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (973 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 786.0
     
    Calories from Fat 528
    67%
    Total Fat 58.7 g
    90%
    Saturated Fat 21.0 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 179.8 mg
    59%
    Sodium 1456.0 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 42.9 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites