19 Reviews

My boyfriend and I just moved from North Carolina to California, so we've (well, more him than I) been missing Southern-type food. I finally caved in and made him biscuits and gravy last night. We were really happy to find that the Mean Chef had a recipe for sawmill gravy. I was really happy to find out that it was not as terrible for you as I had assumed (however, I never had it except at BoJangles, so being fast food, it may have been terrible for me by default). The gravy had a great flavor and was really easy (perfect to make quickly while the biscuits are in the oven), but we really felt it was too meaty- and I only used 12oz. of sausage, not 16! Next time, I will only use half or three-quarters of the sausage. I also had trouble with the fat- for some odd reason, I had hardly any. Nowhere near 2Tbs even. Even after I squeezed all I could out of the cooked sauasage. I'm not sure what happened, but I won't blame this on the recipe, however, I did have to add a little oil to make up for the missing fat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie November 02, 2003

I cooked this Sunday morning for a friend who is a biscuits and gravy fanatic. It was perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ March 17, 2003

i didn't add extra oil. though i didn't have nearly enough for 2 tablespoons, i figured it would taste alright when i re-added the sausage and i was right. it was great. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nevermind September 21, 2012

Good! Served with homemade buttermilk biscuits as part of our breakfast feast. Found this recipe by Alton Brown online and glad to see it already posted. Used Jimmy Dean sausage and fat free milk. It thickened so much, I ended up adding about 3/4 cup more milk. Like some of the other reviewers I didn't have enough fat from the sausage so added some bacon grease. Butter would work as well. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama August 05, 2012

We had to add a bit more milk for this, but other than that, it was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC November 11, 2010

This was my first attempt to make gravy from scratch and it turned out really well. I used a half pound of sausage with the full amount of gravy and it turned out well. I used reduced fat sausage and it didn't make really any grease, so I had to use oil but it turned out. I even used skim milk since that's all we have. Thanks for posting; it was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 March 20, 2010

This was my 1st attempt at making homemade sawmill gravy. Before that, I had always bought the powder that comes in the little envelope to make it. As recommended, I used a cast iron skillet. It turned out really well. At first I was doubtful, because my flour/grease paste wasn't mixing well in the milk. I really had to whisk and whisk to get all the clumps out. After that, though, it thickened up nicely and turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys August 27, 2009

Great! I used 1/2 lb sausage and that was perfect. It was easy to make and my DH was in gravy heaven! Will make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz March 07, 2008

I really liked this and I'm not really the sausage gravy fan in the family (my DH is so I made this for him). I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I think that the sausage should be halved or the other ingredients doubled. One pound was way too much (but the flavor was good). I used Neese's sausage (yum). Hehe, I also just realized that I only did 1 c. milk (which I put in more because that was obviously was too little) so if I'd followed the recipe correctly, that part would've been good. Still recommend 1/2 the meat though. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
firealarmqueen February 06, 2008

This is Alton Brown's recipe...I use it all the time, since DH watched this episode. Prior to this recipe, my gravies were terrible. This recipe is quick, easy and produces great results, even for the gravy challenged population. Just had it tonight as a matter of fact. I always need to add a little oil to the sausage, because I never end up with 2 tablespoons of grease from the sausage. Fantastic, thick gravy....not for those watching their weight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messie Chef October 30, 2007
Sawmill Gravy