9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I wonder if when my recipe printed out it was missing something, like flour or some other ingredient that would make these look more like the photos. There were half the indicated number of snacks, and I filled the muffin cups one half to two thirds full. They were oily and very salty and wet/soft, even after baking over 50 minutes. I ate two because I was half-starved, but the rest went into the trash.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjx June 16, 2012

I sauteed the onion in bacon fat and after I cooked it in the balsamic vinegar I added a teaspoon of minced garlic. It added a nice layer of flavor. I also used the red pepper flakes and sharp cheddar cheese. For my snacks I used a small cookie scoop to put the batter in my muffin tins. I also used melted butter to grease the pans. They are very soft and fluffy with brown edges. Very nice!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori H. December 30, 2014

We used a mini muffin tin to make this delicious snack, perfect party one bite snack

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
May I Have That Recipe November 16, 2014

I'm with the other 1star reviewer. I was looking forward to these but didn't enjoy them - too salty, wet consistency and the flavour just wasn't there. The lemon didn't complement the other ingredients and it tasted like some key ingredient was absent. They are obviously to the taste of some people but not me :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loudont September 24, 2014

I too had ricotta that I wanted to use up, and chose this recipe because it was low carb. I had expected that I would have some leftover for a quick breakfast the next morning, but we ate the whole batch at dinner. I added some dried red pepper flakes, and used white balsamic vinegar, but otherwise followed the recipe. Instead of the patty pans I used regular non-stick muffin pans, using a medium sized muffin scoop to portion and I got twelve. The uncooked batter half filled the cups, but when baking it souffleed to fill the cup, and deflated to about 1/3-1/2 when cooled after baking. It took longer than 20 minutes to bake, but I'm not sure of the exact timing because I added an extra 3 minutes several times, and I lost count.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo December 06, 2010

Well over due review, this was made in the cold days of fall and loved but i forgot to review it! They are low carb except for me because i eat the whole batch at once!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba May 09, 2009

These did not go over well with my family. I followed the recipe exactly but I think there was too much lemon zest for our taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marich March 23, 2009

These are positively addictive! I used muffin tins lined with papers to bake these lovely, savoury, little snacks. I used sharp cheddar and baked them for 30 minutes. I should have left them in the oven for another 5 minutes as they were a little wet inside but that was my fault for not checking before removing them from the oven. The recipe yielded 10 muffins. Made for (MARCH) TOP FAVORITES OF 2008 TAG GAME.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario March 18, 2009

FALL PAC 08: Zurie - this are OUTSTANDING! I was so excited to make them because I had an entire container of ricotta in my fridge calling my name!! Outstanding!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose September 18, 2008
Savoury Ricotta Snacks