20 Reviews

OH WOW...HOW YUMMY?!!!!!!!!<br/>Made as written, except used Philly low fat cooking cream, which has a hint of cream cheese about it.<br/>Comfort food at it's very best, this was thoroughly enjoyed and the leftovers fought over!!<br/>A big fat five stars for you loof!!!<br/>Made for AUS/NZ RECIPE SWAP#76.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo May 13, 2013

I scaled back for 2 serves and used 4 small Carisma potatoes (low GI), 1 large and 1 small onion and left the rest of the ingredients as per 2 serves and got 3 very healthy serves which we all enjoyed. I particular liked the idea of sauteing off the onions till soft as I think it bought out their sweetness more, also parsley is liste3d in the ingredients but not in the directions I assumed it went in with the garlic and seasonings. I baked as directed at 175C fan forced and 195C fan forced and used an 8x8 cake tin. Thank you Baby Kato, made for Everyday A Holiday.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 18, 2013

Great potatoes! Other than adding a little sea salt, and using 2 onions instead of 4 (DH is not a huge onion fan) I followed the recipe as written. They were nicely cooked and not swimming in cream sauce. I LOVED the sweetness of the onions and would have preferred to use the full amount required. Made for I Recommend Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH November 03, 2011

I was trying to find something to do with 3 large potatoes that were just past their prime and found this and decided to try it. WOW; so glad I did, followed the recipe except for adding chedder chees to each layer and it was so easy and soooo good. It was even better the next day warmed up, DH has declared this a favorite - no wonder you've already gotten so many great reviews. A well deserved 5 stars from us to add your collection. Thanks Kato for a great recipe that we'll be using often.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 May 22, 2011

Yummy potato dish!!! I made this as written with the exception of leaving out the nutmeg, we aren't fans of it in savory dishes. I did chose to add the swiss cheese and we all loved the potatoes made this way!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Holiday Tag Game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 April 20, 2011

Sensational potato dish. It's getting chilly in Australia, so I cranked up the wood stove (yes I have a proper wood stove in my kitchen) and made this delicious recipe (and quite a few others too). I didn't bother to measure the spices -- just sprinkled away on each layer. Used about a tablespoon of fresh thyme as I have lots in the garden. Love the fact this recipe doesn't use too much cream. Next time I might add some parmesan, but seriously these are perfect as is. Yum, yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy April 11, 2011

I used 3 large russets unpeeled and sliced 1/4 inch thick, 2 large onions. This came out creamy and very flavorful. I did spray the pan before placing the potatoes and onions in it. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ March 09, 2010

Yum-yum! These were sooo good. We really liked them. I ate the left overs for lunch the next day and they were even better! I took your suggstion in step 7 and added cheese but I used sharp cheddar (probably at least a cup). I sprinkled some between each layer and them on the top for the last 15 minutes. I took a photo of it before the cheese and after everyone could see both versions. Thanks Baby Kato! This is a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night June 01, 2009

We all enjoyed this recipe. I used Yukon Gold potatoes with the skins. Thanks so much for a very tasty side dish!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut February 09, 2009

Delicious! This recipe included already several of the ingredients I might have wanted to add to other similar recipes, and more. Ever a cheese lover, I used low fat cream so that I could add some Swiss cheese, as suggested in step seven. YUM. Next time I make these I'm going to mix feta with Greek yoghurt and use that in place of the cream and cheese. Judging from how that blend works so well in lasagnas, I'm confident it would provide the creaminess and flavour that would complement this dish really well. The aroma and flavour from the blend of herbs and the nutmeg was divine. Understandably my guests came back for seconds and one came back for thirds - and they wanted the recipe. Fortunately I'd made a double portion, for four of us. Thank you so much for this wonderfully flavoursome recipe, Baby Kato. This is just how I will be making such dishes in future. And I'm thinking also, I'll try it with some sliced mushrooms, added in step two. Made for All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 22, 2008
Savoury Onion Potatoes