Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Savoury Onion Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savoury Onion Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2013

      OH WOW...HOW YUMMY?!!!!!!!!<br/>Made as written, except used Philly low fat cooking cream, which has a hint of cream cheese about it.<br/>Comfort food at it's very best, this was thoroughly enjoyed and the leftovers fought over!!<br/>A big fat five stars for you loof!!!<br/>Made for AUS/NZ RECIPE SWAP#76.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      I scaled back for 2 serves and used 4 small Carisma potatoes (low GI), 1 large and 1 small onion and left the rest of the ingredients as per 2 serves and got 3 very healthy serves which we all enjoyed. I particular liked the idea of sauteing off the onions till soft as I think it bought out their sweetness more, also parsley is liste3d in the ingredients but not in the directions I assumed it went in with the garlic and seasonings. I baked as directed at 175C fan forced and 195C fan forced and used an 8x8 cake tin. Thank you Baby Kato, made for Everyday A Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      Great potatoes! Other than adding a little sea salt, and using 2 onions instead of 4 (DH is not a huge onion fan) I followed the recipe as written. They were nicely cooked and not swimming in cream sauce. I LOVED the sweetness of the onions and would have preferred to use the full amount required. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      I was trying to find something to do with 3 large potatoes that were just past their prime and found this and decided to try it. WOW; so glad I did, followed the recipe except for adding chedder chees to each layer and it was so easy and soooo good. It was even better the next day warmed up, DH has declared this a favorite - no wonder you've already gotten so many great reviews. A well deserved 5 stars from us to add your collection. Thanks Kato for a great recipe that we'll be using often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      Yummy potato dish!!! I made this as written with the exception of leaving out the nutmeg, we aren't fans of it in savory dishes. I did chose to add the swiss cheese and we all loved the potatoes made this way!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Holiday Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      Sensational potato dish. It's getting chilly in Australia, so I cranked up the wood stove (yes I have a proper wood stove in my kitchen) and made this delicious recipe (and quite a few others too). I didn't bother to measure the spices -- just sprinkled away on each layer. Used about a tablespoon of fresh thyme as I have lots in the garden. Love the fact this recipe doesn't use too much cream. Next time I might add some parmesan, but seriously these are perfect as is. Yum, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      I used 3 large russets unpeeled and sliced 1/4 inch thick, 2 large onions. This came out creamy and very flavorful. I did spray the pan before placing the potatoes and onions in it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Yum-yum! These were sooo good. We really liked them. I ate the left overs for lunch the next day and they were even better! I took your suggstion in step 7 and added cheese but I used sharp cheddar (probably at least a cup). I sprinkled some between each layer and them on the top for the last 15 minutes. I took a photo of it before the cheese and after everyone could see both versions. Thanks Baby Kato! This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      We all enjoyed this recipe. I used Yukon Gold potatoes with the skins. Thanks so much for a very tasty side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Delicious! This recipe included already several of the ingredients I might have wanted to add to other similar recipes, and more. Ever a cheese lover, I used low fat cream so that I could add some Swiss cheese, as suggested in step seven. YUM. Next time I make these I'm going to mix feta with Greek yoghurt and use that in place of the cream and cheese. Judging from how that blend works so well in lasagnas, I'm confident it would provide the creaminess and flavour that would complement this dish really well. The aroma and flavour from the blend of herbs and the nutmeg was divine. Understandably my guests came back for seconds and one came back for thirds - and they wanted the recipe. Fortunately I'd made a double portion, for four of us. Thank you so much for this wonderfully flavoursome recipe, Baby Kato. This is just how I will be making such dishes in future. And I'm thinking also, I'll try it with some sliced mushrooms, added in step two. Made for All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      These are very savoury onion potatoes. So good. I sauteed the onions and then as I peeled the potatoes and sliced them, I added them to the skillet to get a head start on cooking them. I also just added all the seasonings together in the skillet to distribute them well. I then layered the potatoes, adding some Swiss cheese to each layer. These were wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Great potato recipe. A huge step up from scalloped potatoes. Really quite easy to make and they looked great too. DH loved these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      We enjoyed these a lot. I really liked the nutmeg and the onions together. I served it at a family get together and they ran out FAST, I will be making these again. Reviewed for PAC07

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      These were very good, but I should have cooked a little longer. I made these last night for supper tonight. Some of the potatoes were a little hard still. I have a hard time figuring out my oven sometimes it runs hot sometimes cold. But nontheless, the recipe is very east to put together and tasted great. I think I'll sprimkle a little cheese on next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      This went down a treat!! I served mine along side BBQ meats and salads. A great way to serve the plain ol' spud! Thanks for sharing, this is a recipe my family will be enjoying often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      I LOVED this. Made it with light cream instead of heavy, but it was still mouthwateringly good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      What an absolutely delicious tater dish, I increased the garlic and omited the nutmeg, we loved this, thanks BK!...KItten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      This was an excellent side dish. The seasonings worked very well, I used more nutmeg but that was the only change I made. I served it together with roast chicken and vegetables. Will make this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      The only change I made to this was to make a 2 serving size in a small casserole as it already had so many 5 star reviews I thought I'd be ahead not to play with it and I was right. Talk about decadent comfort, this one will do it for you! I had some leftover heavy cream from a batch of ice cream and it went into this potato side. To be honest, it had no problem outshining the small steaks that we had with it. Kato, your recipes are amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savoury Onion Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (421 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 410.5
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    37%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 56.0 mg
    18%
    Sodium 666.1 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.2 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites