Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Savoury Couscous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savoury Couscous

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2007

      *Reviewed for Zaar World Tour 3* Couscous doesn't get any easier than this! Nice and easy to prepare with great flavours. An easy versatile side dish. Thanks for another great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      I made this recipe last night to go with pork chops. We loved it. I used parsley since my cilantro isnt growiing yet but very good. Thank you for sharing your recipe with me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Delicious AND easy! My annoyingly picky husband and 2 and 3 year old children ate it...and I loved it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      My experience with most couscous dishes is that they are bland, and this one was no different. I used regular vegetable broth (not low sodium) instead of chicken stock because there were vegetarians at the table, the full 2 cloves of garlic and chopped cilantro/coriander. I suspect the onions lose some of their flavour sitting in the broth for 5 minutes. If there is a next time, I'd consider removing the onions and garlic from the pot before adding the broth, then stir them back in with the cilantro after the couscous has cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      A wonderful and easy recipe. The 1st time that I made couscous without it being dry and flavorless.
      Recipe is a keeper.
      Thanks Chef FloWer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      How have I forgotten to rate this? I've made it many times.

      I love the flavor. The texture can be "too soft" for me. Which I combat by adding a handful of chickpeas or pine nuts.

      Great side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2012

      This was my first time making and eating couscous. I followed the recipe exactly as written (using the fresh parsley instead of the coriander) and was very pleased with the result. I really liked the chicken stock, garlic and onions in this dish. This recipe is very aptly named, it does make for a very savoury side dish. Recipenapped for the February 2012 Aus/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      This is a nice way to prepare couscous. Flavorful and easy to prepare. I served it with Zurie's Pork Tenderloin With Yoghurt, Mustard and Prunes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      We just loved this and felt it complimented Too Easy Oriental Chicken by Chef David04 really well and so easy to make and overall all made for a quick dinner which we thoroughly enjoyed all aspects off. Thank you Chef floWer made for Aussie/Kiei Swap #53 June 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      I used fresh coriander. I added the chicken stock, brought it to boil and then added the couscous and removed from the heat covered 5 minutes. We all liked it. Great taste. And so easy to do. Thanks Chef Flower :) Made for the Australian Recipe Swap for June 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Fabulous! Easy, delicious and versatile side dish. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      First time I ever had couscous. It was veryvery GoodGood. Amazingly simple to make. I used a large onion and followed the recipe as written. It got great reviews all around the table. Worked great with the Tuna Steaks (Bek's Grilled Tuna Steaks Glazed With Ginger, Lime, and Soy OAMC).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      We love couscous and this was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      Was just wonderful along side some tilapia tonight. Easy and tasty. Thank you for posting; I have made it twice in the last 2 weeks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Omitted the onions, but still fantastic! Perfect for an easy, super quick side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

    • on March 09, 2010

      Very much enjoyed. Made for Everyday Holiday Tag. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

    • on January 22, 2010

      Easy and tasty, even my 11 month old loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Before today I had never had couscous so this recipe was my introduction. It was marvelous. I'll be making lots more of it in the future. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savoury Couscous

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.5
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    25%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 19.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 230.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites