Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Savory Sweet Crock Pot Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savory Sweet Crock Pot Chicken

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2002

      This was very easy. I started late and cooked it on high for 1 hour and then on med. for 1 hour. My whole family liked it. I served it with spaghetti, you could use any pasta, rice or egg noodles, and could be equally good made with pork. You could also add carrots for a veggie if desired. MandyJ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2002

      Oh so, so yummy! I used lime juice in place of the lemon and dried onion flakes rather than chopped onion as I don't really like real onion. I used one skinless boneless chicken breast in mine but kept the sauce quantity's the same(I like a lot of sauce). In the last hour or so I added some thinly sliced zucchini and beans which tasted great with the sauce. The chicken was very tender and tasted fantastic with the delicious tangy sauce. Next time I would like to try reducing the sauce to thicken it after cooking the chicken and will use a little less vinegar as it was a bit to tangy for my husband, although I quite liked it that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      Great recipe! Anything I can put in the crockpot is fine with me. I did add some green pepper and some pineapple chunks for a more "tropical" flavor. The chicken absored the flavors beautifully and was ready in less than 61/2 hours. I served it over rice and will definitely make this again. Thanks for another keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2013

      This is the second time that I have made this chicken and both times it came out moist and yummy. I end up having enough for leftovers, and it still taste great the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2012

      Very good- I ended up baking it in the oven- 350- covered for 1 hour then uncovered for about 20 minutes... waiting for husband to get home. Everybody ate it, so it must be good! I omitted the water, and the sauce was thinner than I would like-- but if slow cooked, would probably have been thicker?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      Absolutely amazing!! I will be making this VERY often! Fall off the bone delicious! I did, however, add 3 large chopped garlic cloves, and used a large onion. Also, because i didnt have any Chili Powder i substituted Taco Seasoning...which worked wonderful :) Thanks so much for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      As everybody else has stated, the flavor was very good. I omitted the water after reading the reviews and it turned out fine over rice. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag Game 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Wow, great flavor! I used chicken legs and thighs cause that's what I had at the time. We really like this dish. Made exactly as stated but next time may thicken the juice. Thanks for a great way to do chicken in the crock pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Very good. As others have said, the sauce was very thin-- next time, I think I'll omit the water completely. I used frozen chicken breasts without defrosting and they were cooked through just fine. (That might have also added a little liquid, now that I'm thinking about it.) I served this with tri-colored rotini pasta and steamed brussel sprouts. I'm sure I'll make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      This was a pretty good dish, however, I could tell from the second I mixed the sauce together it was going to be extremely thin...which is not what I was looking for. Nonetheless...the flavor was good. If you like a thicker sauce, you may have to alter the ingredients or make a cornstarch slurry to help with the consistency. I have a crockpot that cooks hot so my filleted chicken breasts were cooked perfectly on low in about 3 hours. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Excellent flavour. Super easy to throw together with simple everyday ingredients. Followed recipe to the 'T' and it came out perfect. Hubby loved it and wants more. Says it's a keeper recipe. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      This is a great fix it and forget it meal! Turned out fall off the bone tender and soaked in that delicious sauce-thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      Super easy, super good! Thanks Anonymous Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      We absolutely loved this recipe! Made it exactly as written, it made a lot of sauce and that's always a Good thing! We had it with rice and veggie's like the pic here and poured the sauce over all of it, haha. SSSOOOOOOO good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      I started this rather late, so I did it in a casserole dish in a slow oven for a few hours. I added a clove of minced Russian Garlic, otherwise it was exactly as written. The sauce thickened nicely upon standing mmmm....very nice flavour, chicken was tender and moist. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      This was tasty and easy - I will make it again. The chicken came out nice and tender. But I think I will leave out the mustard next time so that it's a bit less tangy. I'll also use more chicken, as this yeilds a lot of sauce. A great crockpot recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      This is a very good recipe and very easy to put together. I was so excited to come home from class, and have the whole house smelling soooo good. Served it with rice, and chopped mine up and put it on salad. Will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      This is a wonderful meal that is quick and easy but doesn't skimp on flavor. The sauce is outstanding. I thicken the sauce with a bit of corn starch. I served it over rice..and that, along with a side of buttered vegetables and we had a wonderful meal. Thanks for sharing this winner, AnnaCG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      I would compare this to a sweet BBQ sauce. I thickened the sauce with two Tablespoons of Quick Cooking Tapioca and turn my crock pot to high the last thirty minutes. Served it over white rice and mixed vegetables. This was quick, easy and had a great taste. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savory Sweet Crock Pot Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.7
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    22%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 46.4 mg
    15%
    Sodium 912.8 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 36.6 g
    146%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites