25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very easy. I started late and cooked it on high for 1 hour and then on med. for 1 hour. My whole family liked it. I served it with spaghetti, you could use any pasta, rice or egg noodles, and could be equally good made with pork. You could also add carrots for a veggie if desired. MandyJ

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MandyJ November 04, 2002

Oh so, so yummy! I used lime juice in place of the lemon and dried onion flakes rather than chopped onion as I don't really like real onion. I used one skinless boneless chicken breast in mine but kept the sauce quantity's the same(I like a lot of sauce). In the last hour or so I added some thinly sliced zucchini and beans which tasted great with the sauce. The chicken was very tender and tasted fantastic with the delicious tangy sauce. Next time I would like to try reducing the sauce to thicken it after cooking the chicken and will use a little less vinegar as it was a bit to tangy for my husband, although I quite liked it that way.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! October 22, 2002

Great recipe! Anything I can put in the crockpot is fine with me. I did add some green pepper and some pineapple chunks for a more "tropical" flavor. The chicken absored the flavors beautifully and was ready in less than 61/2 hours. I served it over rice and will definitely make this again. Thanks for another keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Barb October 04, 2006

This is the second time that I have made this chicken and both times it came out moist and yummy. I end up having enough for leftovers, and it still taste great the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monique #2 May 08, 2013

Very good- I ended up baking it in the oven- 350- covered for 1 hour then uncovered for about 20 minutes... waiting for husband to get home. Everybody ate it, so it must be good! I omitted the water, and the sauce was thinner than I would like-- but if slow cooked, would probably have been thicker?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
didyb June 30, 2012

Absolutely amazing!! I will be making this VERY often! Fall off the bone delicious! I did, however, add 3 large chopped garlic cloves, and used a large onion. Also, because i didnt have any Chili Powder i substituted Taco Seasoning...which worked wonderful :) Thanks so much for this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Botta-Bing! August 10, 2011

As everybody else has stated, the flavor was very good. I omitted the water after reading the reviews and it turned out fine over rice. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag Game 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty December 03, 2010

Wow, great flavor! I used chicken legs and thighs cause that's what I had at the time. We really like this dish. Made exactly as stated but next time may thicken the juice. Thanks for a great way to do chicken in the crock pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim November 09, 2010

Very good. As others have said, the sauce was very thin-- next time, I think I'll omit the water completely. I used frozen chicken breasts without defrosting and they were cooked through just fine. (That might have also added a little liquid, now that I'm thinking about it.) I served this with tri-colored rotini pasta and steamed brussel sprouts. I'm sure I'll make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyMCGS May 15, 2010

This was a pretty good dish, however, I could tell from the second I mixed the sauce together it was going to be extremely thin...which is not what I was looking for. Nonetheless...the flavor was good. If you like a thicker sauce, you may have to alter the ingredients or make a cornstarch slurry to help with the consistency. I have a crockpot that cooks hot so my filleted chicken breasts were cooked perfectly on low in about 3 hours. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl February 26, 2009
Savory Sweet Crock Pot Chicken