36 Reviews

Scallop season just opened. I went out in search and ending up buying some from the market...so I got the big sea scallops rather than the little bay scallop which is what I would have found (had I found any!) This recipe really is easy. I wish I would have made a little more sauce but I'll up that next time (although I may have cooked it down a little too much waiting for the pasta to get ready - put the pasta on first, these scallops cook very quick). I served mine over seashell pasta. Would be great to top with a little parmesan cheese too. Thanks for the quick-n-easy recipe, polly salama.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita July 15, 2003

added some asparagus, served over some small shell pasta, and we really enjoyed it. wish I'd noticed the suggestion of a little parm. I thought it was a lot of wine, but it made a very light and flavorful sauce. will make again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troyh February 14, 2004

Polly, these are wonderful scallops. I made the recipe, using 3 cloves of garlic and the rest as you directed. We were rewarded with an exceptional dish, full of flavor and a fabulous aroma. I would say gourmet for sure. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie June 04, 2003

Living off the coast of Maine, this was one recipe that I had to try! It had my taste buds working overtime while I was preparing it. I used fresh large sea scallops, and I dried them of by letting them sit on a paper towel then I patted them on the top too. They browned up nicely and were so sweet and tender. I served them with Lemon Risotto and asparagus roasted on the grill for one yummy meal. DH raved all week about how good it was. Great to serve for company but good any time for me!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maine E Ack! August 11, 2011

This was a delicious recipe. I like the consistency of the sauce. It didn't overpower the scallops and allowed the taste of the seafood to be the star. I also served this with the asparagus pasta side and thought the two paired together nicely. The lemon in both tied it all in. I actually liked it so much, I wrote up a little review on my healthy cooking blog (http://www.dietitup.com/2010/06/cast-iron-cuisine.html). Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diet It Up June 21, 2010

This is very tasty, easy recipe. I used East Coast large sea scallops. There is just enough lemon flavor. The sauce was perfect- very light and tasty A do again recipe for sure. Served with carnival beets & Beet greens

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy August 07, 2010

This was great. I used just 1 pound of scallops (the big ones), but made the full amount of sauce. I added Parmesan as another reviewer suggested, and I added some cream cheese. Just a bit more indulgent! I cooked angelhair pasta and added it to the sauce when it was not quite cooked. It finished cooking in the sauce and soaked up all the great flavour. This was easy and elegant. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja March 01, 2010

Be careful with the heat! Oil splattered everywhere when I followed the instructions. Other than that, very tasty!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jessica 1205407 March 29, 2009

Cooked with prawns as well and served with pappedalle. Yummo. I made too much sauce and not enough pasta, so cooked more pasta in leftover sauce (well, mum did) wow. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne July 26, 2012

I think this would have been greatly improved with the addition of sliced mushrooms. The flavor was lacking a little something that they may have fixed. One thing you should do is make sure you leave plenty of room around the scallops when browning. (Also be sure they are very dry.) I put too many in my pan and they got done before brown. In fact I had to skip the simmering portion of the recipe to avoid overcooking them. I doubt I'll make this again with scallops, but maybe. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't memorable either.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest September 12, 2010
Savory Sea Scallops in White Wine Sauce