Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Savory Sea Scallops in White Wine Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savory Sea Scallops in White Wine Sauce

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2003

      Scallop season just opened. I went out in search and ending up buying some from the market...so I got the big sea scallops rather than the little bay scallop which is what I would have found (had I found any!) This recipe really is easy. I wish I would have made a little more sauce but I'll up that next time (although I may have cooked it down a little too much waiting for the pasta to get ready - put the pasta on first, these scallops cook very quick). I served mine over seashell pasta. Would be great to top with a little parmesan cheese too. Thanks for the quick-n-easy recipe, polly salama.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2004

      added some asparagus, served over some small shell pasta, and we really enjoyed it. wish I'd noticed the suggestion of a little parm. I thought it was a lot of wine, but it made a very light and flavorful sauce. will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      Polly, these are wonderful scallops. I made the recipe, using 3 cloves of garlic and the rest as you directed. We were rewarded with an exceptional dish, full of flavor and a fabulous aroma. I would say gourmet for sure. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      Living off the coast of Maine, this was one recipe that I had to try! It had my taste buds working overtime while I was preparing it. I used fresh large sea scallops, and I dried them of by letting them sit on a paper towel then I patted them on the top too. They browned up nicely and were so sweet and tender. I served them with Lemon Risotto and asparagus roasted on the grill for one yummy meal. DH raved all week about how good it was. Great to serve for company but good any time for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This was a delicious recipe. I like the consistency of the sauce. It didn't overpower the scallops and allowed the taste of the seafood to be the star. I also served this with the asparagus pasta side and thought the two paired together nicely. The lemon in both tied it all in. I actually liked it so much, I wrote up a little review on my healthy cooking blog (http://www.dietitup.com/2010/06/cast-iron-cuisine.html). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This was great. I used just 1 pound of scallops (the big ones), but made the full amount of sauce. I added Parmesan as another reviewer suggested, and I added some cream cheese. Just a bit more indulgent! I cooked angelhair pasta and added it to the sauce when it was not quite cooked. It finished cooking in the sauce and soaked up all the great flavour. This was easy and elegant. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Be careful with the heat! Oil splattered everywhere when I followed the instructions. Other than that, very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      Cooked with prawns as well and served with pappedalle. Yummo. I made too much sauce and not enough pasta, so cooked more pasta in leftover sauce (well, mum did) wow. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      I think this would have been greatly improved with the addition of sliced mushrooms. The flavor was lacking a little something that they may have fixed. One thing you should do is make sure you leave plenty of room around the scallops when browning. (Also be sure they are very dry.) I put too many in my pan and they got done before brown. In fact I had to skip the simmering portion of the recipe to avoid overcooking them. I doubt I'll make this again with scallops, but maybe. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't memorable either.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      This is very tasty, easy recipe. I used East Coast large sea scallops. There is just enough lemon flavor. The sauce was perfect- very light and tasty A do again recipe for sure. Served with carnival beets & Beet greens

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      I liked the flavors in this dish a lot. I think it was a lot of wine for the amount of scallops it called for. I would like to make it again and next time serve over angel hair pasta and perhaps thicken the sauce (just a bit) with a cornstarch/water based thickener. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This was very easy and a good recipe...not exceptional or over the top but very tasty.....an easy fast way to serve scallops

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      This was an excellent recipe although next time I will double the sauce for sure...once it reduces, there just is not enough if you want to serve it with veggies or pasta but it was delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      This was just o.k. for me. Not good enough to make considering how expensive scallpos are. But it may just be personal taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      I wonder why mine wasn't as good as others. I followed directions exactly but found the lemon taste overpowering. It was still good but all other flavors were lost.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      This was a great entry into the world of scallop preparation. Super easy, wonderful flavour. Used only 3/4 pounds of bay scallops. Lowered the cooking time slightly to compensate for their smaller size. Served over spaghetti. Delicious!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      This was absolutely unbelievable. So simple, and the scallops came out perfect. I used scallops from the Jersey shore, probably about 2.5 inches in diameter, and 1.5 inches thick. My husband brings them home quite a bit, and this recipe will be used a lot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      This was so easy and absolutely delicious! I added some shrimps and tossed the pasta with some butter and parmesan. Served it with a simple green salad and crusty bread. Everyone loved it and wanted seconds! Thanks for posting this, polly. I'll be making it often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I didn't know my first time making Scallops could be so easy and SOOOOOOOO YUMMY! It was like going out to a nice dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This recipe made it into Book #179627. This recipe was AWESOME!!!! I added shrimp to it also, and served it over spaghetti tossed in butter, salt, & pepper. kudos!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savory Sea Scallops in White Wine Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 289.6
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    27%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 48.5 mg
    16%
    Sodium 701.2 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 20.8 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites