10 Reviews

Yum! We made this for my husband's company picnic. We used smoked sausage (it was on sale) and didn't have beef broth, so we substituted some chicken broth with a couple shots of worcestershire sauce. We followed the rest of the recipe exactly (except I didn't marinate the eggs, as other reviews advised), and added swiss cheese as other reviews suggested (i would have preferred cubed, but since we were in a hurry, i just tore up some cheese slices). It was delicious and a big hit! Next time we'll try it with potatoes. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerry G September 27, 2010

I served this at an Oktoberfest pot luck. It was eaten up almost before I set it on the table.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
claysmompeg November 22, 2009

This was different. I didn't leave it in the fridge for 2 hours before I tried it, that might make a difference. I might try it with some swiss cheese next time too, as others have mentioned. Very interesting recipe. My entire family is German, but I'd never heard of this before.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacer July 09, 2007

I had the same thing at the same place this guy did and always wondered about the recipe. Saw this and had to try... great salad, though I did take Michelle's idea and added a little swis cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SOG September 18, 2006

Very tasty, but mine LOOKED awful!!!! The egg yolk disenegrated in the dressing giving all a yellow milky look. The flavor? Fantastic!! I know when I make it again I WILL NOT add the egg until just before serving! My friend is German and said in her area they use swiss cheese instead of the egg. That also sounds interesting and I will try that variation as well. Thanks for sharing this tasty treat. I will ALWAYS make extra bratwurst from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. August 09, 2005

Yummy recipe! I like it with Bockwurst .IT IS VERY EASY TO MAKE. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renatekheim July 29, 2005

Wonderful! At first I tasted it and thought it was good but after letting it sit overnight in the refrigerator, I thought it was delicious. Can't wait to make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum March 08, 2005

wow, i love any kind of wurst and this was wicked good!!! unbelieveably easy and tasted just my mom Trude would make for me when I was a little girl. thank you, she doesn\'t cook anymore and was never a good recipe sharer. yum!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears August 03, 2004

Mercy,This sounded so good I just had to give it a try,And I was not disappointed!!! It is delicious!!! I have just been trying out Brats and learned that I really like them a lot.Thanks for this good recipe.Darlene

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers August 03, 2004
Savory Sausage Salad (aka Wurstsalat)