23 Reviews

I tried this some 4 weeks ago (and considering that that was the 2nd time I'm cooking, LOL, yes, I'm a novice cook) it turned out pretty good. My husband and 2 teenaged sons polished up the whole roast. I'm cooking again this weekend and as I was thumping through the various receipes I've collected on Pot Roast (I thot I'll give a go at another receipe), my husband said, 'hey, stay with the one you did the other day. Don't try a new recipe, cos that was really good!".... Enough said. This is 5-stars and I'm cooking it again this weekend. Thanks, & well done!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StartingtoCook November 04, 2008

Good recipe, CHANGE your instructions. I have to completely agree with LindaPearl. I used this recipe, but changed my directions to hers. She's right about ALL the directions!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gro3kids January 07, 2008

I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect!!!! I like my veggies soft so these were perfect. My roast wasn't quite 3 lbs but I didn't adjust the time at all. The roast fell apart and had great flavor. I loved having all the juices and was able to make a lot of gravy. I read Lindapearls review and I'm glad I didn't try to follow her directions. Too complicated! This recipe works for even the novice "pressure cooker" cook. Thank you!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaBrooks January 21, 2007

Very much enjoyed this recipe. Really terrific meaty flavor with such simple ingredients. My roast was rather small, so I only cooked it for 40 minutes with natural release. Also, I didn't have any carrots or celery or potatoes in the house, so I used 2 very large onions. Definitely making this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Whistle November 14, 2006

PanNan...I just bought a stovetop pressure cooker and used this recipe to put it through its paces. Made it exactly as written..including the veggies on top of the meat at the beginning. The sauce was wonderful...so full of flavor. I like my veggies sort of all mushy if I'm making pot roast so they were fab. It does make a LOT of sauce, so I reserved some to pour over the fur babies kibbles (they gave it four tails up) and added flour/water to the rest for a tasty gravy. DH loved it and said it was worth 10 stars. :-) Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws September 26, 2006

This is just like my Mom made pot roast, I think "Technique" is simply a matter of taste and not everyone likes the same thing. My family and I love softer veggies with roast, in fact that's the only way I can get my family to eat them. In my opinion your technique was right on!! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Country Cook in Oklahoma September 05, 2006

Totally fantastic! I have always made a mean roast beef. However, this pressure cooker method is delicious! It was so tender and flavorful. I do agree with the last reviewers cooking method of the veggies. I browned the veggies first - then removed them. I added them back in the last 15 min. It was unbelievably delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon May March 14, 2016

I really wanted Bar-B-Q for Memorial Day . After reading ALL of the Reviews, I think I can omit carrots and potatoes - and substitute water with Bar-B-Q sauce, (maybe a little extra), and see how it works. This is the first try with my new electric Pressure Cooker, so nnow we will see how it works! ( AND Me)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzi Lee May 27, 2013

I love the way it turned out. We didn't care for the flavor though. Maybe it was the Worcestershire sauce? I'm not sure. I am going to use this as a base though and change the seasonings and try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fronie July 28, 2009
Savory Pot Roast a La Pressure Cooker