Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Savory Pot Roast a La Pressure Cooker Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savory Pot Roast a La Pressure Cooker

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2004

      The timng is way off and the technique is wrong. Veggies normally take only 6 minutes to cook, they turn into mushy baby food when cooked for an hour as noted in other comments. I would also carmelize the onions to enhance flavor and aroma. There is also no mention or instructions for using the remaining broth to make gravy. The correct method would be to cook the meat by itself, which should only take 45 minutes using 15psi. Use a quick, or cold water release method to open then lid. As with any large cut of meat, always check for the disired degree of doneness using a meat thermometer. Add the veggies at the last 6 minutes. The recipe states to cook at "medium" pressure, but the correct setting for meat is 15psi or high. Using lower a psi results in overcooked dried out meat, not to mention a waste of time, higher energy costs, and a loss of nutrients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      FANTABULOUS!!!!! I love this recipe and have made it now....4 times since I joined 'Zaar in January! I just noticed I hadn't reviewed it and shame on me! Wonderful flavor! The Onions should be whole or they come out mushy. Be SURE to put the potatoes on top of the roast and not down in the liquid or they'll end up breaking all the way down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2004

      KILLER!!! The only changes I made were using 1 cup home-made beef stock and 1 cup of Merlot (I'd opened the bottle to share with a friend and some was left over. Waste not, Want not.) I didn't want the potatoes and carrots to sit in the sauce at the bottom of the pot and cook 'til they were mushy, so I put them in a steamer basket on top of the meat. The leftovers froze nicely and reheated even better than they were fresh. This is most difinitely a keeper and a user! THANX

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      Very yummy! Chuck roasts didn't look so hot at the grocery store so I used 3 1/2 lbs brisket from which I trimmed the fat. Cooked at 15 psi for an hour. Served with Roasted Potatoes and Baby Carrots With Garlic so I omitted the carrots and potatoes. Will make this again, very easy and delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Nan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      The flavor of this roast is fabulous! (Even though I didn't have any worchestershire sauce.) My veggies were really, really soft-which I don't mind, but no one else would eat them, so next time I'll probably do as other reviewers suggested and cook them seperate. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      This was awesome...I cooked the meat and then added the vegetables the last 10 mins of cooking. It was fabulous! Rave reviews from DH and a friend! In less than an hour I had an amazing roast! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I was worried that this would be too salty, but it was heavenly! Just the very best flavor. I used a 3lb. Bread & Butter Roast (never heard of that before, it was like a pot roast, I guess). I followed the directions exactly as stated here, using 15lbs of pressure for about 45 min. I then took out the potatoes and carrots and put the roast back in for about 10-15 min. longer. I then thickened the broth using 2Tbls. of flour mixed into 2Tbls. of butter-with a fork, work these two together to a smooth paste then add to boiling broth, it makes a lovely smooth gravy. I also used red potatoes with the skin, and sliced only in half, the carrots I also used in very large chunks and they were both cooked perfectly. This was just delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      I enjoyed your recipe, I did deviate w/the veggies. I used onion and carrot hunks/bay leaf and celery to create the stock. With 20 minutes remaining, I quick cooled the cooker, removed the veggies used to season the stock then added a fresh batch of veggies/potatoes returned unit to a steady rocking for about 20 minutes, allowed to cool/release on it's own. Good stuff, thank you for sharing, Hank

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      I prefer to roast my vegetables separately, but followed the meat directions exactly and it was delicious! Perfectly tender, great taste and all in the house loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Very good recipe-I cooked this much longer in order to get the potatoes brown( they absorb the flavor) otherwise I followed the directions -really nice po troast-every had seconds-thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      I tried this some 4 weeks ago (and considering that that was the 2nd time I'm cooking, LOL, yes, I'm a novice cook) it turned out pretty good. My husband and 2 teenaged sons polished up the whole roast. I'm cooking again this weekend and as I was thumping through the various receipes I've collected on Pot Roast (I thot I'll give a go at another receipe), my husband said, 'hey, stay with the one you did the other day. Don't try a new recipe, cos that was really good!".... Enough said. This is 5-stars and I'm cooking it again this weekend. Thanks, & well done!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Good recipe, CHANGE your instructions. I have to completely agree with LindaPearl. I used this recipe, but changed my directions to hers. She's right about ALL the directions!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect!!!! I like my veggies soft so these were perfect. My roast wasn't quite 3 lbs but I didn't adjust the time at all. The roast fell apart and had great flavor. I loved having all the juices and was able to make a lot of gravy. I read Lindapearls review and I'm glad I didn't try to follow her directions. Too complicated! This recipe works for even the novice "pressure cooker" cook. Thank you!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      Very much enjoyed this recipe. Really terrific meaty flavor with such simple ingredients. My roast was rather small, so I only cooked it for 40 minutes with natural release. Also, I didn't have any carrots or celery or potatoes in the house, so I used 2 very large onions. Definitely making this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      PanNan...I just bought a stovetop pressure cooker and used this recipe to put it through its paces. Made it exactly as written..including the veggies on top of the meat at the beginning. The sauce was wonderful...so full of flavor. I like my veggies sort of all mushy if I'm making pot roast so they were fab. It does make a LOT of sauce, so I reserved some to pour over the fur babies kibbles (they gave it four tails up) and added flour/water to the rest for a tasty gravy. DH loved it and said it was worth 10 stars. :-) Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2006

      This is just like my Mom made pot roast, I think "Technique" is simply a matter of taste and not everyone likes the same thing. My family and I love softer veggies with roast, in fact that's the only way I can get my family to eat them. In my opinion your technique was right on!! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      I really wanted Bar-B-Q for Memorial Day . After reading ALL of the Reviews, I think I can omit carrots and potatoes - and substitute water with Bar-B-Q sauce, (maybe a little extra), and see how it works. This is the first try with my new electric Pressure Cooker, so nnow we will see how it works! ( AND Me)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

    • on July 28, 2009

      I love the way it turned out. We didn't care for the flavor though. Maybe it was the Worcestershire sauce? I'm not sure. I am going to use this as a base though and change the seasonings and try it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savory Pot Roast a La Pressure Cooker

    Serving Size: 1 (414 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 504.4
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    29%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 344.2 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 52.0 g
    104%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Season-All salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes