22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The timng is way off and the technique is wrong. Veggies normally take only 6 minutes to cook, they turn into mushy baby food when cooked for an hour as noted in other comments. I would also carmelize the onions to enhance flavor and aroma. There is also no mention or instructions for using the remaining broth to make gravy. The correct method would be to cook the meat by itself, which should only take 45 minutes using 15psi. Use a quick, or cold water release method to open then lid. As with any large cut of meat, always check for the disired degree of doneness using a meat thermometer. Add the veggies at the last 6 minutes. The recipe states to cook at "medium" pressure, but the correct setting for meat is 15psi or high. Using lower a psi results in overcooked dried out meat, not to mention a waste of time, higher energy costs, and a loss of nutrients.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindapearl May 02, 2004

FANTABULOUS!!!!! I love this recipe and have made it now....4 times since I joined 'Zaar in January! I just noticed I hadn't reviewed it and shame on me! Wonderful flavor! The Onions should be whole or they come out mushy. Be SURE to put the potatoes on top of the roast and not down in the liquid or they'll end up breaking all the way down!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie February 28, 2003

KILLER!!! The only changes I made were using 1 cup home-made beef stock and 1 cup of Merlot (I'd opened the bottle to share with a friend and some was left over. Waste not, Want not.) I didn't want the potatoes and carrots to sit in the sauce at the bottom of the pot and cook 'til they were mushy, so I put them in a steamer basket on top of the meat. The leftovers froze nicely and reheated even better than they were fresh. This is most difinitely a keeper and a user! THANX

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pierre Dance February 04, 2004

Very yummy! Chuck roasts didn't look so hot at the grocery store so I used 3 1/2 lbs brisket from which I trimmed the fat. Cooked at 15 psi for an hour. Served with Roasted Potatoes and Baby Carrots With Garlic so I omitted the carrots and potatoes. Will make this again, very easy and delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Nan!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 08, 2012

The flavor of this roast is fabulous! (Even though I didn't have any worchestershire sauce.) My veggies were really, really soft-which I don't mind, but no one else would eat them, so next time I'll probably do as other reviewers suggested and cook them seperate. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simplemom March 16, 2010

This was awesome...I cooked the meat and then added the vegetables the last 10 mins of cooking. It was fabulous! Rave reviews from DH and a friend! In less than an hour I had an amazing roast! Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Fielding December 14, 2008

I was worried that this would be too salty, but it was heavenly! Just the very best flavor. I used a 3lb. Bread & Butter Roast (never heard of that before, it was like a pot roast, I guess). I followed the directions exactly as stated here, using 15lbs of pressure for about 45 min. I then took out the potatoes and carrots and put the roast back in for about 10-15 min. longer. I then thickened the broth using 2Tbls. of flour mixed into 2Tbls. of butter-with a fork, work these two together to a smooth paste then add to boiling broth, it makes a lovely smooth gravy. I also used red potatoes with the skin, and sliced only in half, the carrots I also used in very large chunks and they were both cooked perfectly. This was just delicious!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvstacook Italian! October 02, 2008

I enjoyed your recipe, I did deviate w/the veggies. I used onion and carrot hunks/bay leaf and celery to create the stock. With 20 minutes remaining, I quick cooled the cooker, removed the veggies used to season the stock then added a fresh batch of veggies/potatoes returned unit to a steady rocking for about 20 minutes, allowed to cool/release on it's own. Good stuff, thank you for sharing, Hank

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuckwagon September 24, 2007

I prefer to roast my vegetables separately, but followed the meat directions exactly and it was delicious! Perfectly tender, great taste and all in the house loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie d'Lovely June 15, 2009

Very good recipe-I cooked this much longer in order to get the potatoes brown( they absorb the flavor) otherwise I followed the directions -really nice po troast-every had seconds-thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover March 21, 2009
Savory Pot Roast a La Pressure Cooker