Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Savory Pita Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savory Pita Chips

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2014

      Yummy! A great way to use up stale pita bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      This is a very good recipe. Great on flavor and easy to fix. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      I make these often whenever I cook up a big pot of chili- it's about time I review the recipe. These chips are great- super-crispy, flavorful and easy to make. I usually use Mexican oregano instead of regular oregano and Adobo seasoning instead of salt for a south-of-the-border twist. They are great as-is though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      Gailanng's recipes are always reliable, and this is no exception. I used this amount of spice mixture on 8 small pitas, and they were very good with hummus, as suggested.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      I have previously tried several pita chip recipes but this one is by far the BEST. I was sad I told my potato chip loving husband about them because now he eats them all. :) Followed the recipe to the letter and they were PERFECT. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      Made these delicious pita chips to go along with Mediterranean Hummus Appetizer. They were great on flavor and very easy to make. Forget those bagged chips and crackers - these pita chips are well worth the little bit of time and effort it takes to make them. Made for Everyday is a Food Holiday tag, October, 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      These were quick to make and added quite a bit of something 'extra'; I served them with homemade hummus just as suggested :) I will be making these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      I love to make homemade pita chips - that way I can control what I put on them and the type of pita bread I use. The ingredients for these pita chips do not disappoint, they are very good. I used the spray olive oil, but followed the spice mixture to the letter. Will make these again. Served with homemade hummus.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Absolutely yummy recipe from my friend GailAnn! I served this with her Creamy, Yummy, Hummus, Hummos, Hummous - However U Spell It! at a party here last night and everyone really liked these. They have more flavour than what you would expect and a nice kick from the paprika. I will make these again for sure! The only change I made was to cook them for a couple minutes longer. I made these for the Best of 2010 tag game. Thanks GailAnn! :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      Made this yesterday and yummy! Of course, I love all your recipes I have tried. I followed the directions only adding about 1 tablespoon of sesame seeds to the spice mixture. I did seperate the pita bread and then cut into the wedges and brushed on the olive oil and then sprinkled on the seasoning mix (both sides). Heaven just by themselves. I did serve them (what was left from tasting and tasting) with Jalapeno Cilantro Hummus DH brought home from Costco. Delicious. Definately this recipe is going into my Favorites of 2011. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      These were sooo great and soooo easy! This was my first time making homemade pita chips but now I see there really is no reason to buy them. I found that there was too much seasoning for the amount of chips and was left with a lot left over so next time I'll just make half of it. Made for Holiday Tag

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      I have made pita chips in the past but nothing this delicious, I love the combination of the spices, thank you for sharing Alligirl, I will be making these again soon, this was made for Kittencalskitchen forum Greek tag event game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Gailann, you've done it again! These were wonderful! I followed the recipe as written, reducing by half. They are tasty, crunchy and flavorful...me likey! They were especially good with hummus, so good and super simple to make. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      I just made the 1 as a quick snack for myself and maybe it was just as well I didn't make more or otherwise I would have gobbled the lot. I just gave the pita bread a light spray with the olive oil and proceeded as stated and used the small toaster oven to cook. Will be trying again and use other seasonings. Thank you gailanng, made for Potluck Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      True to the recipe description, these really are very tasty! The spice mix is perfect as is, I wouldn't change a thing. Great recipe that I will definately make often! Made for ZWT6: No-Nonsense Nibblers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      These are yummy and a perfect dipper for hummus. A great way to use of stale pitas after the ZWT6 too! Made by an Unruly Under the Influence. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Oh so good!!! I made these with Greek pita flat bread and since there were only 5 in the package I have extra seasoning that I will use to make more when these run out. I did adjust the seasonings a bit: 1 tsp oregano, 1/4 tsp pepper and 1 tsp salt. Will definately be making these often!! Made for ZWT6 Greece.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      I like trying new recipes with pita. And this one is great. Great taste! I didn't use salt and pepper. Thanks Gailanng :) made for the Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      LOVED these!! Seriously good pita chips. I'll never buy them at the store again. The method is easy - great directions. The pita chips are addictive!! Thank you! ~Made for ZWT6 Zee Zany Zesty Cookz~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Yum! If you are spice sensitive - just use the spices sparingly. My 9 year old really, really loves these and took them to school for snack. We didn't have any hummus so my son suggested salsa. We ate this with Zucchini Salsa, Canned and found it to be a perfect fit! Thanks so much for a yummy snack! Made for the Aussie/NZ June 2010 recipe swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savory Pita Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (64 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.9
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    14%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 516.5 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes