Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Savory Grilled Steak With Bleu Cheese Garlic Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savory Grilled Steak With Bleu Cheese Garlic Butter

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2013

      I would be thrilled if I got this meal at a 5 star restaurant!!! Made the bcgb on a NY strip steak cooked medium rare. Spicy creamed spinach on the side and crescent rolls, pomegranate water and Pinot noir. I made the butter exactly as the recipe says and really did think it was perfect. The only change I made was that I marinated for two-three times the suggested amount (basically because I was waiting on my boyfriend to come back from the store with the second shallot:)) some of the other reviews said it was too much salt and garlic. This thought never crossed our minds as we gabbed about how every bite was just as good as the first. We are planning to make it for our best friends for a nice spring porch dinner. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      We followed exactly according to directions (the measurements for soy sauce and pepper were somewhat vague). I agree with other reviews that the garlic was a bit strong and it was a little bit too salty. I was not impressed with this recipe and I would not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      This was an excellent steak after making following changes: BUTTER- skipped the garlic/onion powder, used 25% less sodium Montreal steak seasoning STEAK- used low sodium soy sauce, and the same low sodium seasoning as in butter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      I agree that this was too salty. Next time, I'll leave it out of the marinade. I also agree the garlic flavor was overpowering the butter, and I LOVE garlic. We used flank steak. Overall, I loved the recipe with the exception of the above.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I only used half of the bleu cheese butter as it made a lot. I froze the other half. I did not salt the steak and used low sodium soy as there was a lot of salt going on. It smelled terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      It was ok-- but we couldn't taste the bleu cheese due to all of the garlic. Next time I'll keep the garlic in the in the marinde, but keep it out of the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Loved this steak Dawn! If you are a blue cheese lover like I am you will go bonkers for this one! I even put some of the butter on my baked potato. It was soooooooo good! Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I used fresh basil - this is the best recipe for a mouth watering taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This garlic bleu cheese butter was amazingly simply, yet folks would think there was something 'hard' about it. ha! I have them fooled now. I also used this on Rib Eyes, and omitted the soy sauce. fantastic-o.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      We had this for dinner last week and it was superb! I actually used a nice thick sirloin, don't always have filet mignons and really wanted to try the butter. I used Durkee's New Orleans Style Smokehouse seasoning in it and it was tdf. Thanks for a wonderful treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      After reading other reviews, we just did the butter. It was very tasty! Super simple and really added a nice touch to grilled tenderloins. Very flavorful and made our steaks a bit special. Served with some sauteed mushrooms, too. Very good! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      Very good recipe. The butter is the real star here, and if you enjoy a very pronounced bleu cheese/garlic flavor, you will be delighted. This butter mix could easily be served atop many other things; I added some extra to mixed veggies for a nice added flavor boost. I was not as fond of the marinade and would use a different one next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      This is fabulous....the garlic bleu cheese butter really makes this recipe...my DD made this for a surprise mothers day dinner, it was wonderful...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      I served this for Mother's Day and it was a hit. It melted on top of the steaks after they were pulled from the BBQ. I did marinate the steaks overnight, they were really juicy. My only suggestion would be to cut back on the garlic, it was very powerful in the butter, almost had too much of a bite to it. I am a garlic lover but am glad that I did not add any extra! Great post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      I used gorgonzola cheese in the butter and it was so good my daughter was actually licking the bowl! Accidentally left out the thyme, but will add it next time. Believe me there *will* be a next time as I suspect this just became a staple at my house. Yum! My budget did not allow steak this week so I made ground sirloin burgers and marinaded them. The burgers absorbed all of the marinade and as a result were a bit salty. Next time I will leave the seasoning salt out and use some Montreal seasoning instead. I am guessing this would not be a problem with steaks. Salty or not, these were very good and very easy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      My review is just for the blue cheese butter, as I already had steaks marinating to grill. I usually top my steak with plain blue cheese crumbles, but this was Excellent!!I am in love with this butter and melted some that was left over on my hot wings. This recipe is definitely a keeper and am hoping to try the steak recipe too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      loved this. nice flavor i usually use light house blue cheese for a salad but i had to switch to something else so i wasnt eating blue cheese everything. made instant mashed potatoes and had a salad and was in heaven. thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2004

      I'm editing my original review of this recipe to add that I made the Bleu Cheese Garlic Butter for my Aunt's wedding reception dinner for 85 people and everyone loved it. Thanks again Dawn for this recipe! The garlic bleu cheese butter in this recipe is to die for. We had it on the steak, I put it on my baked potato and the 2-3 tablespoons leftover are going to be used in making garlic bread. I made this pretty much as Dawn wrote it, except that I grilled a honking big old sirloin steak instead of the filet mignons. The steak was great but that garlic bleu cheese butter.....I was addicted in 10 seconds and can't wait to make more. Dawn, thank you so much for a great, simple recipe that I'll be making again, and probably soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2004

      My husband and I loved the garlic bleu cheese butter and it has become a must with our steaks now. The butter that I had leftover I put in the middle of hamburgers before I grilled them and it was delicious, too. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2004

      Steak was excellent, I used ribeye instead of filet. Blue cheese butter was very rich, I added a tablespoon of water for some moisture. Melted blue cheese butter was very good on french bread. Will definitely make the steak again, we'll see about the blue cheese butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savory Grilled Steak With Bleu Cheese Garlic Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (28 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.5
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    91%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 38.9 mg
    12%
    Sodium 258.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    McCormick's Montreal Brand steak seasoning

    filet mignon steaks

    seasoning salt

    black pepper

    soy sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes