21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I would be thrilled if I got this meal at a 5 star restaurant!!! Made the bcgb on a NY strip steak cooked medium rare. Spicy creamed spinach on the side and crescent rolls, pomegranate water and Pinot noir. I made the butter exactly as the recipe says and really did think it was perfect. The only change I made was that I marinated for two-three times the suggested amount (basically because I was waiting on my boyfriend to come back from the store with the second shallot:)) some of the other reviews said it was too much salt and garlic. This thought never crossed our minds as we gabbed about how every bite was just as good as the first. We are planning to make it for our best friends for a nice spring porch dinner. Highly recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daisy Maisie April 12, 2013

We followed exactly according to directions (the measurements for soy sauce and pepper were somewhat vague). I agree with other reviews that the garlic was a bit strong and it was a little bit too salty. I was not impressed with this recipe and I would not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mynameisnothing September 21, 2010

This was an excellent steak after making following changes: BUTTER- skipped the garlic/onion powder, used 25% less sodium Montreal steak seasoning STEAK- used low sodium soy sauce, and the same low sodium seasoning as in butter

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp August 16, 2009

I agree that this was too salty. Next time, I'll leave it out of the marinade. I also agree the garlic flavor was overpowering the butter, and I LOVE garlic. We used flank steak. Overall, I loved the recipe with the exception of the above.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lpaulow June 14, 2009

I only used half of the bleu cheese butter as it made a lot. I froze the other half. I did not salt the steak and used low sodium soy as there was a lot of salt going on. It smelled terrific.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest February 15, 2009

It was ok-- but we couldn't taste the bleu cheese due to all of the garlic. Next time I'll keep the garlic in the in the marinde, but keep it out of the butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
didyb February 12, 2009

Loved this steak Dawn! If you are a blue cheese lover like I am you will go bonkers for this one! I even put some of the butter on my baked potato. It was soooooooo good! Thanks for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Charlee August 25, 2008

I used fresh basil - this is the best recipe for a mouth watering taste

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waw0621 June 18, 2008

This garlic bleu cheese butter was amazingly simply, yet folks would think there was something 'hard' about it. ha! I have them fooled now. I also used this on Rib Eyes, and omitted the soy sauce. fantastic-o.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nsremom June 15, 2008

We had this for dinner last week and it was superb! I actually used a nice thick sirloin, don't always have filet mignons and really wanted to try the butter. I used Durkee's New Orleans Style Smokehouse seasoning in it and it was tdf. Thanks for a wonderful treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrtfan January 22, 2008
Savory Grilled Steak With Bleu Cheese Garlic Butter