10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was excellent! I thought the spices in the rub were unusual, but it turned out really good. I cooked mine for about 7 1/2 hours (accidentally - I meant to only go 6) and it was cooked perfectly, with a hint of pink. This is not done enough for it to shred, however. My original intention was to freeze the meat, but I ended up refrigerating it overnight and making fajtas with it the next day, by slicing it and reheating it. I will be using this again, and will try freezing next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch August 05, 2011

I tried this recipe after finding a huge 28 pound chuck chunk on clearance. I ground much of it into hamburger, but cut several four-five pound roasts. I made this as directed, using less than 1 Tbsp onion flakes, since we don't care for onion flavor and without using any spray on the sides of the crockpot. It was marvelous! I will definitely be making this every few weeks through the summer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommaofmany May 04, 2011

It's hard for me to rate this, because I don't make it exactly the same. I use the same spice rub, but then I add 1 chopped onion, 6 slices bacon, and 2 cups of Sweet Baby Ray's Chipotle BBQ Sauce. It ends up being perfect for shredded bbq sandwiches, which are even yummier with some horseradish coleslaw on top. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strawberrybird May 15, 2010

This was outstanding, and SO easy. Thanks for posting! We loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawnie808 April 15, 2010

Like other reviewers, I was hesitant to make meat in a crockpot without browning or adding a little liquid. This beef browns up nicely on its own and tastes very good. Next time I will cut back on the salt--it didn't overpower, but is certainly noticeable. Thanks for an easy and versatile meat recipe using many favorite spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers January 21, 2010

Hands down the very best "Roast Beef" I have ever personally made! I make it about 1X per month now and freeze it. I use the beef for quick sandwiches, soft tacos, casseroles, beef and noodles, "pot roast", etc. You can dress it up to be anything once it is made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Murfman March 22, 2009

As far as flavor goes, this was wonderful!! However, the meat wasn't too juicy or tender. Maybe it was just the particular cut of meat I used; I will definitely try it again and see if that helps!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doglover61(aka Earnhardt) August 27, 2007

Very flavorful. I ate mine as it was cooked and hubby put bbq sauce on his. We both enjoyed it. I did use dried parsley flakes in place of marjoram as I was out of marjoram. I think this would be a great filling for pita's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucy4174 August 20, 2007

*Unbelievably Good*. Who would have guessed that something so incredibly simple could turn out so fabulous. It took all of the willpower I could muster to go against my instinct to add at least a LITTLE bit of beef broth, or at least brown the beef before inserting into the slow cooker. I'm glad I actually (for once) followed the directions exactly. Excellent alone, as a primary entree, or made into enchiladas the next night, as I did, by adding some chopped green chili, some browned onion, black & green sliced olives, and a raft of my favorite cheeses (cheddar, jack, and cotijo). Used 2 cans of Victoria mild enchilada sauce, and am now the HERO of my household - thanks to you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pellerin August 15, 2007

I used this recipe for my first attempt at pulled / shredded beef and it is awesome!! The smell and flavor is simply wonderful, and it is soooo easy to prepare. I used a 5 lb beef roast w/bones and just "heaped" the measurements. It was a hit at my house. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucyindizgiz August 12, 2007
Savory Crock Pot Shredded Beef