Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Savory Crock Pot Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savory Crock Pot Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2002

      This was absolutely delicious. My husband looked a littles skeptical when he saw me rub the roast with horseradish, but he raved about the results. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      An absolutely wonderfull flavor combination! Because I was cooking for two, I used 1 large diced onion, 3 sliced large carrots, and left out the potatoes in favor of serving mashed. This maybe why I wound up with a luscious horseradish infused pot roast and 6 cups of soup. I poured the liquid into a saucepan and cooked it down until it reached a stew consistancy. I didn't understand the last step about using only one cup of the pan juices to mix with the sour cream to serve as gravy. I wondered if you were supposed to add that mixture back to the rest of the pot liquid. Instead, I mixed a full cup of sour cream with all the remaining liquid, added a bit of salt and pepper and - Voila!! The Sauce ! A wonderfull balance of beef, horseradish, apple and sour cream! Thanks, Sue L - a keeper and I am looking fowards to the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2003

      I put this on this morning before I went to work, and my husband and daughter ate it. I forgot to tell them to mix in the sour cream, but they loved it anyway! Thanks for a yummy way to fix a chuck roast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      This recipe met my two most important criteria, it was delicious and easy to prepare! I loved the horseradish on the meat, and next time will probably add a bit more. The only thing I changed was adding some cornstarch to the sauce to thicken it up. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Easy and fabulous! Like Chef #492007, stated, used beef broth instead of the apple cider, and thoroughly enjoyed. The horseradish adds just the right hint of spice. Thank you, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I have found that searing the roast in olive oil and basalmic vinegar seals in the flavor for a few hours until the meat and vegetables and meat are well on their way to cooking, makes for a very flavorful meal. Also I added four garlic cloves and seared these with one of the onions. So I partially cookedd, the other raw. Lastly, I used beef broth rather than apple juice, and added one cut up stalk of celery during the cooking, and one just before the final cooking time is reached. I used a low setting as this seems to give more interesting tastes. Next time I shall add red and green peppers, again just before the end of the cooking cycle, and cayenne pepper. Digby Clarke

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      This was pretty good, next time I will try it with stock instead of apple juice. I did like the sour cream sauce though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      zoinks! used broth instead of apple juice for lack of...but this was great! I'm resolved to use my crockpot more! easy sauce really dressed it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savory Crock Pot Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (384 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 505.8
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    32%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 159.6 mg
    53%
    Sodium 340.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 51.7 g
    103%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes