72 Reviews

These were delicious and dissappeared quickly. I used about 1/3 cup of mushrooms instead of the olives. I had quite alot of filling left though so I made some pastry, cut into rounds, spooned on the mixture, folded in half and crimped the edges with a fork. They turned out great too!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarebear April 12, 2002

The combination of crescent rolls and savory chicken filling was delicious. If you ever want to jazz up a chicken salad sandwich, this filling would go well on any type of bread. The ingredients blend well together. I used low fat canned chcicken as a time saver and reduced fat cream cheese and reduced fat crescent rolls to save on calories. Would go well with a salad.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn November 02, 2001

I've made these twice now, and my husband is now requesting them weekly! These are AMAZING! I use the reduced fat cream cheese and reduced fat crescent rolls, and leave out the olives and chopped onion, and just throw in some onion powder. I stick a pot of water on the stove and heat to boiling, while I dice up chicken breasts. I cook the chicken in the boiling water (covered) with chicken seasoning. It usually takes about 3-5 minutes. By accident, I left out the milk the second time, and didn't notice a difference! I also sprinkled the squares with grated parmesan cheese instead of the croutons...that was DELICIOUS! Mine are usually done in about 18 minutes. To reheat leftovers, I put them back in the oven at 250*...much better than becoming mushy in the microwave. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that I will keep in my "go-to" recipes! :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashlie <3 September 19, 2009

I tasted the meat mixture before folding them into the crescent envelopes. I used the "triangle" portions to feed a large number of my husbands firefighter co-workers. While I haven't yet tasted the entire ensemble... they look just stunning!!!! So I'm going to go ahead and give it a five star rating. Because the meat mixture was scrummy-nummy-yummy. I loaded a picture of my minis. Are they beautiful! I hope the firemen are happy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica S. October 23, 2013

VERY YUMMY! :-) me and my mom tripled the recipe and made outside out of little squares we made out of crescent dough sheets. We're taking them to a party, and i'm sure they'll be a hit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mabey14 January 05, 2013

These were super good and easy! I used green onions and substitued a handful of peas for the olives. I used cheese and garlic croutons. I doubled the recipe and the filling was exactly enough for 8 pockets (2 cans of crescents). Good thing because my teenage son kept going back for more. Thanks for a delicious recipe that looks gourmet! My pic is the two pockets on a white plate next to a salad. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandi Anmarie July 07, 2012

I've made this recipe several times already but have never remembered to rate it. It's fast, easy, and DELISH!!! Pillsbury now makes crescent sheets, which makes this so much more easier to prepare. It's become a favorite in my home!!! Thanks for sharing....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChamoritaMomma October 09, 2009

My Bride and I agree with all the positive reviews. Very easy and very satisfying. Next time I am going to use Tuna in place of the Chicken. Also, the Mushroom idea sounds good. Thanks for the recipe. C/J

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Firehousecook AKA Cap'n Jack September 22, 2009

My husband and I loved them! Sprinkled some Italian bread crumbs instead of the croutons, otherwise as directed. My 6 year old complained but ate it, but that's normal about anything new. Quick to throw together too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redneck naturalist July 09, 2013

Yummy! I used shredded BBQ chicken and panko bread crumbs in place of the croutons. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gregspotato January 06, 2013
Savory Crescent Chicken Squares