72 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were delicious and dissappeared quickly. I used about 1/3 cup of mushrooms instead of the olives. I had quite alot of filling left though so I made some pastry, cut into rounds, spooned on the mixture, folded in half and crimped the edges with a fork. They turned out great too!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarebear April 12, 2002

The combination of crescent rolls and savory chicken filling was delicious. If you ever want to jazz up a chicken salad sandwich, this filling would go well on any type of bread. The ingredients blend well together. I used low fat canned chcicken as a time saver and reduced fat cream cheese and reduced fat crescent rolls to save on calories. Would go well with a salad.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn November 02, 2001

I've made these twice now, and my husband is now requesting them weekly! These are AMAZING! I use the reduced fat cream cheese and reduced fat crescent rolls, and leave out the olives and chopped onion, and just throw in some onion powder. I stick a pot of water on the stove and heat to boiling, while I dice up chicken breasts. I cook the chicken in the boiling water (covered) with chicken seasoning. It usually takes about 3-5 minutes. By accident, I left out the milk the second time, and didn't notice a difference! I also sprinkled the squares with grated parmesan cheese instead of the croutons...that was DELICIOUS! Mine are usually done in about 18 minutes. To reheat leftovers, I put them back in the oven at 250*...much better than becoming mushy in the microwave. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that I will keep in my "go-to" recipes! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashlie <3 September 19, 2009

My Bride and I agree with all the positive reviews. Very easy and very satisfying. Next time I am going to use Tuna in place of the Chicken. Also, the Mushroom idea sounds good. Thanks for the recipe. C/J

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Firehousecook AKA Cap'n Jack September 22, 2009

I tasted the meat mixture before folding them into the crescent envelopes. I used the "triangle" portions to feed a large number of my husbands firefighter co-workers. While I haven't yet tasted the entire ensemble... they look just stunning!!!! So I'm going to go ahead and give it a five star rating. Because the meat mixture was scrummy-nummy-yummy. I loaded a picture of my minis. Are they beautiful! I hope the firemen are happy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica S. October 23, 2013

My husband and I loved them! Sprinkled some Italian bread crumbs instead of the croutons, otherwise as directed. My 6 year old complained but ate it, but that's normal about anything new. Quick to throw together too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redneck naturalist July 09, 2013

Yummy! I used shredded BBQ chicken and panko bread crumbs in place of the croutons. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gregspotato January 06, 2013

VERY YUMMY! :-) me and my mom tripled the recipe and made outside out of little squares we made out of crescent dough sheets. We're taking them to a party, and i'm sure they'll be a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mabey14 January 05, 2013

These were super good and easy! I used green onions and substitued a handful of peas for the olives. I used cheese and garlic croutons. I doubled the recipe and the filling was exactly enough for 8 pockets (2 cans of crescents). Good thing because my teenage son kept going back for more. Thanks for a delicious recipe that looks gourmet! My pic is the two pockets on a white plate next to a salad. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandi Anmarie July 07, 2012

Doubled recipe and left out the olives. All of us enjoyed this recipe for something differant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmrehm99 December 22, 2011
Savory Crescent Chicken Squares