9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Boy this is just terrific, I love mushrooms, and this was perfect used in this manner. I also love beef consumme' (a retro thought from my childhood) so all and all this was a HUGE hit on the farm. I baked mine, kinda like a pilaf, and it came out perfectly. I wouldn't add anything else, this was just terrific the way it is. Happy March 1st Birthday, Kerfuffle! March 2010

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm March 01, 2010

We enjoyed this dish last night with salsbury steak, but I left out the mushrooms since there were so many in the steak gravy (which we poured over the rice with our meal). We also cooked it on the stovetop for simplicity. This recipe has loads of great flavor, and is so simple to prepare. Thanks for posting. Will definitely make again. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu December 05, 2008

This is just like my mom's recipe when I was a kid...Delicious! I did use some fresh garlic and cooked it along with the mushrooms and onions. Brings back wonderful memories. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf November 30, 2008

Made for the Sweet December event, this was an easy-fix & so delicious. Since your intro allowed for the use of canned mushrooms & good fresh mushrooms are a little hard to find in the winters of Iceland, I used the canned variety & otherwise made the recipe as written. The flexibility of this recipe has huge appeal for me. It makes a lot & there are just 2 of us, so I served it w/grilled tenderloin 1 night & roast chicken the next. IMO it would be an ideal side-dish for almost any seafood or meat entrée. I also think it can be easily expanded by adding veggies or other ingredients for color & texture. It is also company-worthy & thus meets all my best standards. Thx for sharing this excellent recipe w/us. (Pic will post later today)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis December 09, 2014

Wonderfully flavored rice dish!!! I made this exactly as written. I used baby portobello mushrooms and jasmine rice, so good. I served it with grilled teriyaki chicken, salad and homemade artisan bread. This will definitely be made often at our house, but will probably 1/2 the amount next time or freeze half of it. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for "Sweet December" event.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 December 05, 2014

This recipe is a keeper! I added minced garlic to the onions and mushrooms instead of using garlic powder and chopped the mushrooms. A very simple side dish with a lot of great flavor! Thank you Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle for sharing with us. :) Made and reviewed for the game forum's Please Review My Recipe tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 17, 2012

Delicious -- we really loved this rice. Loved the mushroom and beef taste together -- a great combination. Will definitely keep this recipe on my short list of go-to rice recipes. Made for the Sweet December tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry December 26, 2014

A very good rice dish with lots of flavour, I also used minced garlic rather than the powder but think it would be equally good both ways. I love rice, its always great to dress it up :) I made enough that I had leftovers for my lunch next day and I assure you I enjoyed them very much!!! Thank you for sharing a great recipe, made for Sweet December 2014

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth December 11, 2014

Such a tasty dish! I used Wolfgang Puck's vegetarian onion soup in a can in place of the beef consumme. Loved the rich flavor, much enjoyed with collard greens. Thanks! Made for PAC spring 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 20, 2012
Savory Consomme Rice