Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Savory Consomme Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savory Consomme Rice

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2010

      Boy this is just terrific, I love mushrooms, and this was perfect used in this manner. I also love beef consumme' (a retro thought from my childhood) so all and all this was a HUGE hit on the farm. I baked mine, kinda like a pilaf, and it came out perfectly. I wouldn't add anything else, this was just terrific the way it is. Happy March 1st Birthday, Kerfuffle! March 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      We enjoyed this dish last night with salsbury steak, but I left out the mushrooms since there were so many in the steak gravy (which we poured over the rice with our meal). We also cooked it on the stovetop for simplicity. This recipe has loads of great flavor, and is so simple to prepare. Thanks for posting. Will definitely make again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This is just like my mom's recipe when I was a kid...Delicious! I did use some fresh garlic and cooked it along with the mushrooms and onions. Brings back wonderful memories. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2014

      Made for the Sweet December event, this was an easy-fix & so delicious. Since your intro allowed for the use of canned mushrooms & good fresh mushrooms are a little hard to find in the winters of Iceland, I used the canned variety & otherwise made the recipe as written. The flexibility of this recipe has huge appeal for me. It makes a lot & there are just 2 of us, so I served it w/grilled tenderloin 1 night & roast chicken the next. IMO it would be an ideal side-dish for almost any seafood or meat entrée. I also think it can be easily expanded by adding veggies or other ingredients for color & texture. It is also company-worthy & thus meets all my best standards. Thx for sharing this excellent recipe w/us. (Pic will post later today)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2014

      Wonderfully flavored rice dish!!! I made this exactly as written. I used baby portobello mushrooms and jasmine rice, so good. I served it with grilled teriyaki chicken, salad and homemade artisan bread. This will definitely be made often at our house, but will probably 1/2 the amount next time or freeze half of it. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for "Sweet December" event.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      This recipe is a keeper! I added minced garlic to the onions and mushrooms instead of using garlic powder and chopped the mushrooms. A very simple side dish with a lot of great flavor! Thank you Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle for sharing with us. :) Made and reviewed for the game forum's Please Review My Recipe tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2014

      A very good rice dish with lots of flavour, I also used minced garlic rather than the powder but think it would be equally good both ways. I love rice, its always great to dress it up :) I made enough that I had leftovers for my lunch next day and I assure you I enjoyed them very much!!! Thank you for sharing a great recipe, made for Sweet December 2014

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      Such a tasty dish! I used Wolfgang Puck's vegetarian onion soup in a can in place of the beef consumme. Loved the rich flavor, much enjoyed with collard greens. Thanks! Made for PAC spring 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savory Consomme Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (263 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.2
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    42%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 40.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 919.7 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes