Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Savory Chuck Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savory Chuck Roast

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2002

      Thank you Virginia for an easy and delicious recipe!! I used fresh garlic in this and doubled the mushrooms. The gravy was exceptionally good! I let it cook in the oven for about 4 hours, at 325*. It was moist and tender. Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2002

      I didn't have onion/mushroom so just used the onion. Also, did not have sweet sherry, so used merlot and added a couple of bay leaf. It was great!!! Thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2002

      It was the best chuck roast I've ever had. My husband loved it and my children, who normally would not eat anything like a roast, liked it. White vinegar is listed as an ingredient, however, there is no mention of it in the directions. I stirred it in with the soup mix, sherry, and coffee. I assume that was correct because it sure was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2002

      This was a good and simple recipe. I added more mushrooms and used half sherry and half maderia. Excellent and abundant gravy. Glad you posted this Virginia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2002

      This recipe is fantastic. I have tried so many pot roast recipes and the all turned out tough. I didn't know pot roast could be hard to chew. Now I have a recipe that tastes great every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      You are so right about this being one of the best pot roasts ever. I used a clove of garlic rather than the garlic salt, inserting slices into the slits. I didn't add extra salt as the soup mix already contained enough salt. Richly flavored and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      Very Very good. My husband moaned when he tried it! I Substituted the garlic salt for real garlic, I used beef boullion and sauteed onions for the soup mix (I prefer 'real' ingredients'). And i used balsamic vinegar, its what I had. Very very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This has become a repeater for us. I've made it in the oven and in the crock pot (5-6 hours) with fantastic results. My husband's response..."mmm...this is the one with coffee!", which is funny because the coffee flavor doesn't stand out at all. We just know we love the one with coffee in it! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      FANTASTIC!! I used beef broth instead of the wine and skipped the vinegar. Amazingly easy and fantastic gravy! Will make again and again! I cooked in the crock pot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      I used some white wine we had and a cream of mushroom soup mix (I think the package was in Polish!). Was a very good roast. I made it in my Nesco, and we ate the leftovers the next night. Was just as good the second night as the first! Very tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      This is a very tasty recipe. The gravy wasn't as thick as we like it so I thickened it with some corn starch and it was great. I will be using this recipe again. Thank you Virginia.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Excellent recipe! Made this for my sister & brother-in-law yesterday. Cooked a chuck roast from grass fed animal which made it even more delicious! I had only the onion soup mix but added extra fresh mushrooms. Everyone loved the great flavors in the meat and gravy. I would make this for anyone coming for dinner. Super delicious. Thankyou for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      Absolutely delicious. I haven't made a roast before which could even compare with this one. It was flavorful and definitely something I recommend and will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      This recipe is also good if you substitute thick loin pork chops for the meat and then adjust your baking time. I baked the chops for about 1 1/2 hours. I loved this recipe with both the chuck roast or pork chops. Thank you again Virginia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      My family loved it! I hated the pot roast my Mother used to make. As a result, I have never made a pot roast. My Husband hates onions and isn't too fond of mushrooms and still loved this pot roast. I didn't find the gravy to be too thin as some one else mentioned. Very happy with this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      Very tasty and tender roast! I thought, like a few other reviewers, that the gravy was too thin, so I added cornstarch. Next time, I also think I will double the mushrooms. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      The best gravy of all time!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This came out great. I used apple and cranberry juice with a splash of orange juice in place of the sweet sherry. Doubled the mushrooms and cooked on crock pot high for 2 or 2 1/2 hours and then switched to low for another two. Strained the gravy though a separator and then added just a tad of cornstarch and flour mixed with cold water and it made a GREAT gravy. My roast was about three pounds but I cut off probably 3/4 of a pound of fat. Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This was awesome! Mine was ready quicker than it said. It only took about 2 1/2 hours. I would definately make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      I was looking forward do make this roast. It came out fine, but nothing as the raving comments posted. I think this roast would be much better done in the slow cooker. I made it in the oven .Thank you for the recipe anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savory Chuck Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (499 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 650.1
     
    Calories from Fat 247
    38%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 224.5 mg
    74%
    Sodium 282.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 73.5 g
    147%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    onion and mushroom soup mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites