Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Savory Cheese Soup (Slow Cooker) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savory Cheese Soup (Slow Cooker)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2007

      Totally worth the long wait! It's full of flavor and just the right consistancy. I used the optional beer, but added it right in the beginning (to burn off the alcohol). I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and sharp cheddar. I garnished with croutons, green onion and bacon bits.....goldfish crackers for the kids. ;) Thanx for sharing. I'll make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This was easily the best homemade soup I have ever made. Perfect consistency, great flavour, and velvety in the mouth. It is a little salty, so next time I will omit the added salt altogether. In my opinion, this great soup doesn't need it--you get all the flavour you need by using old or sharp cheddar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      This soup turned out very bland with the spices and measurements listed. The cooking time was also way too long Andy veggies were mush. This could work with less time and mor kick. It also needed much more cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      Had last minute company over for dinner and made this, first time for any type of cheese soup and this is a sure winner. The beer added a really nice flavor and body to the whole mix. I did double the recipe and glad I did as everyone was running back for seconds. Other than that, the only thing I did differant was add 2 teaspoons of chopped garlic with the veggies and at the end, DH added 1 teaspoon of crushed red peppers for some added flavor. Served with my recipe for sourdough popovers and it made for a very, warm, tasty and comforting meal that was enjoyed by all. Made for I Recommend Game - Holiay edition

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      I saw this recipe and wanted it for supper tonight, so I made it on the stovetop. I sauteed the veggies in the butter, then sprinkled the flour over that. Stirred until it was absorbed, then slowly added the broth and the beer. I added a bit more pepper, a pinch of red pepper flakes which I felt added a nice touch, and also a couple of bay leaves. No salt - the broth added enough salt for me. Once the veggies were all tender, I blended it, added the cheeses (not sure of amount) and also some grated Parmesan. Blended it again to make sure it was all nicely incorporated (too impatient to wait!). I may want to play around a bit with seasonings, but this is definitely a delicious soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      Good! I used the optional beer at the end which made the soup pretty thin. Honestly, I think it would be more convenient and flavorful to make this recipe on the stovetop, saut?ing the veggies before adding the broth. I'll try it that way next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      Yummy! I did use the beer, and the salt. I though the proportions were spot on. Thanks for posting, I'll be making this again! Made for WT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      Very flavorful soup! I too did not add the tsp of salt. It did not need it! I'm wondering if those who had a runnier soup were the ones who added beer. I added the beer and mine was runny too, but flavor is wonderful. I will either add some more flour or some cornstarch to thicken it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I must've done something wrong, because this soup was as runny as water. The flavor was a bit off as well. It needed some potato or something. It ended up just being vegetable broth tasting really - we didn't taste the cheese flavor at all. Also, after a good 45 minutes, the cream cheese never melted all the way either (even though it was cut up into small pieces at room temperature). I would make this again only with some massive renovations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Very tasty! I added broccoli instead of celery for broccoli and cheese soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      We really enjoyed this. I think we'd have liked it a little better with more cheddar and less cream cheese. It took a long time for the cream cheese chunks (which were at room temperature) to melt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      This soup was a big hit! It is unbelieveably good. I will be making this soup often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Whats not to love about the delicous, rich and creamy soup. I wanted to have it for lunch today so I skipped the slow cooker, and made it in my dutch oven and it was just perfect for this cold and rainy day. Thanks Lainey for another keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      This was GREAT! My BF and I absolutely loved it. Definitely a new favorite. I made some wheat biscuits with some herbs added to dip in it and it was even better. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      This is a great soup, rich and creamy tasting. The only problem for us was that it was very salty. I noticed this when I tasted it before the cheese and threw in a potato to absorb some of the salt. It did help but I will reduce the salt to not more than a half tsp. next time. I used low fat cream cheese and it worked fine. I am going to try reducing the cream cheese a bit next time even though we did like the richness of it. I used home-made croutons, a small bit of crispy bacon and green onions to garnish. It looked wonderful. Thanks for sharing your recipe. We really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      I was drawn to this soup because it is made in the slow cooker. It was so great to come home too. The house smelled wonderful. I topped it with croutons, onions and crumbled bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      Very tasty. I followed recipe as written, with the tiny exception of adding a dash of Worcestershire for personal preference. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      I made exactly as recipe stated and it turned out scrumptious. I used all of the suggested garnishes except for the popcorn. Crispy bacon and homemade croutons are a MUST.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savory Cheese Soup (Slow Cooker)

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 388.9
     
    Calories from Fat 276
    71%
    Total Fat 30.6 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 18.0 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 91.3 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1468.3 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 17.2 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites