17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! This was SOOO good! What a nice change from 'boring old yellow turnips'. Added some onions, too. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!

**Just made it again - fried up some slab bacon & threw it in..... to die for - literally!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonniesarazin April 22, 2011

I adore this and DH likes it too. I do add some chopped onion, like a few others do, which I cut pretty small in the blender because grating it doesn't work very well. I think I use extra butter and have replaced it with olive oil before which was good as well. This is the first rutabaga recipe I've tried and I fell in love. Definitely will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat November 22, 2010

I loved this! I had never cooked rutabaga and I had only eaten it as a part of roasted root vegetables. My large rutabaga gave me 5 shredded cups, and I cooked it in 3 tablespoons butter. I seasoned lightly with salt and pepper, and I used maple flakes--crystallized maple syrup--in place of the brown sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelak January 23, 2010

These are marvelous and buttery and very autumnal - but they do take a long time to cook and they do require a LARGE pan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sass Smith December 03, 2007

I made this using just one large rutabaga and my husband and I are also hooked. I did use my food processor for the grating, which made it not only fast but much easier as well. The flavor was fantastic...kind of sweet with cabbage and turnip undertones. My sauteing time was about 15-20 minutes and I used sea salt and freshly grated black pepper. Great recipe for this neglected, but delicious, vegetable! Thanks MarieAlice :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude October 16, 2005

I apologize Marie Alice I made two mistakes - I covered the turnips to speed the cooking-the result was over cooked, very soft almost mushy turnip. You said use a LARGE pan I used a smaller one and the turnips were at least 4 deep. If I were rating this recipe the way I botched it it would be a 2 star, however the cook is at fault here not the recipe. I will make the recipe according to instructions and re write this review Sorry Marie Alice but perhaps this review will serve as a warning others to follow the instructions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy October 28, 2004

My husband and I liked this a bunch! I had 3 small purple-topped turnips and didn't know what to do with them - this was easy and very tasty, even though I cut back a bit on the butter. Now I plan to add more turnips (and rutabegas!) to our meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorie's Lori April 23, 2012

My father gave me 2 turnips that were given to him. I choose this recipe to make as a side when he came over for dinner. When I asked him if he wanted any, he said "Just a little. I don't like cooked turnips." When he finally got around it eating it, he said "that was really good!" Unfortunately, there was none left for him to have seconds. Everyone else gobbled them down. BTW: I used my food processor to shred (not chop) and it worked beautifully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn October 17, 2010

Simple and delicious! What more can I say, it was perfect for our weekday night meal :) With the food processer, prep took about 5 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caitlin Williams September 24, 2009
Sauteed Yellow Turnips (Swede or Rutabaga)