Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sauteed Yellow Turnips (Swede or Rutabaga) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sauteed Yellow Turnips (Swede or Rutabaga)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2011

      Wow! This was SOOO good! What a nice change from 'boring old yellow turnips'. Added some onions, too. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!

      **Just made it again - fried up some slab bacon & threw it in..... to die for - literally!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      I adore this and DH likes it too. I do add some chopped onion, like a few others do, which I cut pretty small in the blender because grating it doesn't work very well. I think I use extra butter and have replaced it with olive oil before which was good as well. This is the first rutabaga recipe I've tried and I fell in love. Definitely will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      These are marvelous and buttery and very autumnal - but they do take a long time to cook and they do require a LARGE pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      I made this using just one large rutabaga and my husband and I are also hooked. I did use my food processor for the grating, which made it not only fast but much easier as well. The flavor was fantastic...kind of sweet with cabbage and turnip undertones. My sauteing time was about 15-20 minutes and I used sea salt and freshly grated black pepper. Great recipe for this neglected, but delicious, vegetable! Thanks MarieAlice :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      I apologize Marie Alice I made two mistakes - I covered the turnips to speed the cooking-the result was over cooked, very soft almost mushy turnip. You said use a LARGE pan I used a smaller one and the turnips were at least 4 deep. If I were rating this recipe the way I botched it it would be a 2 star, however the cook is at fault here not the recipe. I will make the recipe according to instructions and re write this review Sorry Marie Alice but perhaps this review will serve as a warning others to follow the instructions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      My husband and I liked this a bunch! I had 3 small purple-topped turnips and didn't know what to do with them - this was easy and very tasty, even though I cut back a bit on the butter. Now I plan to add more turnips (and rutabegas!) to our meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      My father gave me 2 turnips that were given to him. I choose this recipe to make as a side when he came over for dinner. When I asked him if he wanted any, he said "Just a little. I don't like cooked turnips." When he finally got around it eating it, he said "that was really good!" Unfortunately, there was none left for him to have seconds. Everyone else gobbled them down. BTW: I used my food processor to shred (not chop) and it worked beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      I loved this! I had never cooked rutabaga and I had only eaten it as a part of roasted root vegetables. My large rutabaga gave me 5 shredded cups, and I cooked it in 3 tablespoons butter. I seasoned lightly with salt and pepper, and I used maple flakes--crystallized maple syrup--in place of the brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

    • on September 24, 2009

      Simple and delicious! What more can I say, it was perfect for our weekday night meal :) With the food processer, prep took about 5 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Love love love this! I used 1 small rutabega. The only way my family ever eats rutabega is mashed on Thanksgiving. But THIS is how I'll be making mine on holidays from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This is really wonderful. I made it about a year ago and forgot to review it. I am glad I found it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      WOW!! My toddler actually said, "I love rutabaga." Well, actually it was "rude-buggah" but I'm pretty sure she meant dinner. :) I used a mandolin slicer and it came out well. It didn't take too long to prepare. I put some chicken in the oven and then peeled, cut and started cooking the rutabaga, then put on some converted rice and everything finished all together. Thanks, Marie Alice!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Second time I have made this...EXCELLENT..served with Hamburgers/Brown Gravy (32973) and Buttered Egg Noodles (11107), beef was home trimed and ground once from a piece of bottom round, the hardest part is grating the rutabaga....gave me something to do while the burgers cooked. The processor is too noisy and beats it's material to a pulp

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      I have to admit that I love turnips done this way....but I hate the peeling of the darn things! So I cheat...I buy frozen turnip. I know it might not be the same but this saves so much time. And the end result is terrific. The brown sugar and creamy butter add exactly what the turnip is missing....personality! This is the only way I have been serving turnip for years....and wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for posting this MarieAlice....it's a lovely recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      My DH and I both love rutabegas!! We eat them quite often! I have to say...just that little bit of brown sugar...these were fantastic! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      This is easy and delicious! I used rutabaga, enough for two good servings. Put it through the food processor as suggested, it cooked up in about 20 minutes, and I just went back to it several times to keep it stirred. Bergy's experience with this recipe was helpful, thanks for that posting too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sauteed Yellow Turnips (Swede or Rutabaga)

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 119.2
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    73%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 25.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 146.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes