Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sauteed Swiss Chard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sauteed Swiss Chard

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2002

      My Italian grandmother would be very pleased with you. Swiss Chard was a staple on her table, and your recipe is a dead-ringer for hers. Buon appetito!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2002

      I don't know why but I have never cooked swiss chard. Well that has changed now. This was simple, easy, fast and tasty. It went well with the barley casserole by Barbara Mooers I served. Thanks again Bergy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      Great way to do swiss chard. We really enjoyed this -- very simple.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      Simple, quick, delicious side. I added some chopped green onions for fun and came out tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      This was great. I substituted 1/2 cup of pancetta for the bacon. I will make this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      First time to use Swiss Chard this year from our garden, I found this recipe very nice. Even was good reheated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Simple and fantastic! Splashed the chard with some good balsamic when done. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      This is how I prepare spinach sometimes and when I was given some green Swiss chard from a friends garden, this is how i fixed it- yummy! Thanks for posting this, Bergie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      love Swiss Chard, this is the best recipe to enjoy it, have made this several times now and will always use it for Swiss chard.Simple and delicious!! thanks for sharing a keeper!Dec 11/08 - mmm mmm back again, I make this quite regularly, we love it, simple quick and easy with lots of flavour, thanks again Bergy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      This chard was very good. I used some frozen, that I froze earlier in the summer season. I made sure all the water was out of the greens before putting them in the pan. I added some butter and apple cider vinegar to them once they were on my plate, and my, were they good! I liked the garlic with the greens too. I might cook these in with some salt pork next time as I love the flavor from it in my greens I have discovered. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      This was good! I did add the balsamic vinegar as the previous reviewer suggested. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      This is pretty much the way I've always prepared chard. It's simple and super fast (especially if you prep ahead of time! washed and chopped greens can be stored in a plastic bag in the refrigerator for several days until you need them). Nice additions: a pinch of salt, a couple pignola nuts, a splash of balsamic vinegar or sherry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      This was a very nice recipe for a winter green that is sometimes puzzling when it comes to preparing. I followed these directions and was pleased with the result -- next time I will need to cook them a bit longer as the stem was still a bit crunchy. My husband was not as big a fan, but "greens" in general do not thrill him :> I'll be making this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I leave my greens whole. I wash them and then put them in the pan. Cook, then season with salt and freshly cracked pepper. I add vinegar and a pat of butter to mine too, for added flavor. Some like hot sauce or pickapepper sauce too! Great recipe for these delicious mild greens Bergy! Thank you for sharing. Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I don't think it is as strong as many other greens. I threw in a little turmeric and sea salt too, and it was very yummy. My husband (not a veggie-lover) and I both love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      I made this a month ago and neglected to rate it at the time but it was absolutely wonderful in it's simplicity. Just like my grandmother's swiss chard but without all the extra oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      I seasoned the Swiss chard with pepper and red wine vinegar. The garlic really helped the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Yummy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Bergy, I stumbled over this & had to comment (guess what I was looking for, lol)....swiss chard is one of my favorite veggies & a very sentimental one at that. My grandfather grew acres of gardens & plenty of swiss chard. My grandmother froze it. I grew up eating swiss chard sauteed with lots of butter & love it to this day. Thanks for the trip down memory lane....Bethie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Thanks for the easy healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sauteed Swiss Chard

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 38.7
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    44%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 242.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes