13 Reviews

These are good. I made extra sauce using sweet butter (unsalted), lots of fresh 5 "pepper" mix, thick 3 % yogurt in place of sour cream to be corn free, plus the white button mushrooms. DD1 (5 years old) and I had this or rice penne pasta on a little picnic to the local park. Made for Please Review My Recipe ~ ~ ~ from April 25 -

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 14, 2012

Pat, I am so happy that I came across this recipe! Last night I used a few sliced mushrooms in a recipe and noticed that the rest of the mushrooms had to be used up straight away. At first I thought I would make this to go over the chicken I was roasting for dinner however; I decided to fix them to go over rice for lunch instead. Since I wanted extra sauce, I tripled the amount of sour cream, and heavy whipping cream (we can't get double thick cream here in the U.S.) The mushrooms and sauce were AMAZING over rice. I will definitely be making this again. Can't wait to try it over chicken, grilled steak, and even mashed potatoes. Made and reviewed for the 64th AUS/NZ Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate May 01, 2012

Yum! I used baby bellas and served these over a steak. Simple and good. Thanks Pat for sharing. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme December 03, 2011

These mushrooms are the bomb!! I using little brown mushrooms cut in half because they were really little and Pat had suggest the brown ones would be good with recipe and she was right! I did not change and would change a thing. We will be enjoying these again, thanks for the yummy post.
*update these are also very good made with baby portabellas and Greek yogurt, thanks again for the post.*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 27, 2011

This is such a quick and easy recipe to make. I used sliced button mushroom's and followed the recipe as written, and these were just perfect. Simplicity at it's best!
Wonderful flavours and the perfect topping for your favourite steak.
DH and DS loved this over the top of their steaks for dinner and thought these mushroom's were wonderful.
Thanks Pat for simple and easy recipe I will be using again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme November 22, 2011

Scrumptious. I made a single serving to use as an open face sandwich lunch today. So good, I found that what sour cream I had had gone off so I used a bit of 95% fat free cream cheese in it's place. It wasn't as pretty as it would have been with the sour cream but it tasted wonderful. Also added some minced garlic and sliced green onion. I could make another batch right now and eat it all but I'll resist..............at least until tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia October 25, 2013

*Made for Australia/NZ Swap #74*. Made as directed but threw in a splash of sherry, which made it a tad sweet -- likely won't do that again. Served with a lovely tenderloin steak from the grill, mashed potatoes and green salad. Really good eats ! Thanks for posting, I'mPat !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney March 13, 2013

I was completely surprised by how good these mushrooms were. Such a few ingredients, such a great result. I was out of sour cream, so replaced with a tangy Greek yogurt, but otherwise followed the recipe. This will be made often at our house. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy March 12, 2013

Aussie Tag Game 2013: Delicious served over pork chops and mashed potatoes like we did! Fabulous recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose January 08, 2013

These were very tasty...We loved the chewiness of the mushrooms and the flavor of the combine dish...thanks for posting this yummy recipe...=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas November 25, 2012
Sauteed Mushrooms