23 Reviews

Awesome green beans! My entire family loved this recipe. The fresh green beans, tomato and garlic blended beautifully into a delectible vegetarian delight. (I used more garlic simply because I misread the recipe.)This was also a very eye-appealing dish with the contrast of colors. Thank you Countrylady for the wonderful recipe. It's a new family favorite in my house!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug August 10, 2003

Old review: No way does this make 4 servings! We liked this so much it was just enough for one. I'm glad I decided before I cooked it that it was not going to be enough for 4, and quadrupled the recipe, which was enough for 3 green bean lovers and one green bean tolerator. New review: After CountryLady told me that there's a typo in the recipe and it should be 14 ounces, I knew I was right to quadruple the recipe! I also quadrupled the garlic, there is nothing as delicious as garlicky, tomatoey greenbeans! Great recipe using the right proportions!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj July 15, 2003

Thank-you for a very enjoyable bean recipe. The crop this year is vast and we are eating beans at least every second night (good thing I love them) - It allowed a change of pace with this recipo. I mixed yellow and green beans with the browned garlic & tomatoe it looked lovely and tasted great thanks Countrylady for a keeper

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy August 30, 2003

These were great! I cannot wait to make them again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dotedu January 16, 2004

Made for the first time tonight. Liked the way the flavors melded together. Looked pretty too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
framsplash November 06, 2015

I made these as a side for dinner last night. I steamed by beans instead of boiling them , to help retain more of the nutrients. I also doubled the garlic which is standard for every recipe we make in our house. We love garlic! Even with it doubled, my family all felt it was lacking and that it needed more. Served as a side with chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom August 30, 2014

Well, this was lovely, but as some have already written, not really enough for 4; perfect for the two of us, served with poached fish. Our garden's tomatoes aren't ready yet (the beans were), so I used the better part of a can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes instead. Can't wait to try it again when our tomatoes ripen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole August 03, 2013

Delicious! It is a great way to use fresh beans and tomatoes from my garden. Thanks for sharing the idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanney September 11, 2012

This was very good. I added some parmesan cheese after it was cooked. I also used 4 cloves of garlic. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty June 25, 2010

Only way my DH will eat green beans. I add sliced mushrooms and onions. Thanks for the great idea!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherrirod July 14, 2009
Sauteed Green Beans with Tomato & Garlic