Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sauteed Green Beans and Red Onion Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sauteed Green Beans and Red Onion

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! I used frozen beans, but will make it next time with fresh. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      Very simple and tasty dish. I used garden fresh beans and a white sweet onion as that is what I had on hand. The beans were cooked until crisp tender and I did end of draining off the water prior to allowing then to saute for a few minutes. I am always looking for new ways to prepare green beans and I am sure I will be using this recipe again. Thank you. Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      A simple and delicious veggie dish! The balsamic vinegar made a great finishing touch. The green beans were a touch more done than our liking, so next time I will pull them off sooner. That's just a personal preference, though. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      Great! Used fresh green beans and served with Bangers and Mash. For ZWT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      The flavors of this dish were fantastic! Cooking the beans with onion and water almost made it reminiscent of french onion soup! I did feel that the green beans were very over cooked though. I think that could easily be solved by cutting the water in half. Thanks for the great method and mixture of ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      Quick, easy, and convent for busy work nights. Used frozen cut beans as that was what I had in the freezer which did cut the cooking time by about 5 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

    • on August 15, 2008

      We liked these, they were very easy and took no time at all to prepare, a good side for a weeknight supper. Although I followed directions, I cooked them in my convection microwave, allowing about the same amount of time, but keeping the stove top free. Thanks Boomette, for another great way to eat a favourite vegetable! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      My family thought these beans were good but that they would have been much better if the onions had been caramelized in a skillet first instead of adding to the water. But everyone did like them. Thanks for posting. ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Really delicious! I like the sweetness imparted by the balsamic vinegar. We had this dish with our Easter lamb and it was a perfect compliment. I will certainly make this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      I made this last night along with Zesty Gooey Chicken and we loved it. This is my new favorite green bean recipe. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      This is a very good and colorful way to fix gr beans with a light vinegar taste. I made these the Semi-Homemade way by using a bag of frozen gr beads. Your recipe is a kicked up version from another recipe I've made like this but it does not have the onion or vinegar in it. Boomette, thank you for posting. I'll be making this recipe again, I think I'll make it for our Easter family gathering. Made for *Zaar Stars* game 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I used fresh green beans, and I also added garlic powder, but other than that made the same. I loved the beans cooked this way. I will definately be making them again, and soon! Thanks Boomie. Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      This was a GREAT green bean recipe! Very nice flavor. I used a white onion and all else the same. I do think the cook time is too long because the beans turn out too soft. Next time I'll add half the water and cook them half the amount of time. Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I did a few changes to this, I added in 1 teaspoon garlic powder and I used seasoned salt to the water, I also increased the balsamic vinegar slightly. I used frozen whole beans in place of fresh, I look forward to my summer's crop to make this again with fresh beans, thanks Booms we enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

    • on January 21, 2008

      Love these, love the addition of the balsamic vinegar. It goes really well with the beans and onions! A great option for preparing green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      I made this with frozen beans tonight to go with some salmon. It's a welcome change from the usual. Mine didn't even take 30 mins but was done is about 20. I really enjoyed the balsamic in this dish. It's a very good side that would be good with so many things!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Both DH and I loved these beans! No leftovers for us, we finished them! There is a sweetness to the beans and onions I enjoyed. Really easy to prepare and the balsamic at the end just topped it off for us. Thanks so much Boomie, this is definately a Zaar Star!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sauteed Green Beans and Red Onion

    Serving Size: 1 (211 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 108.5
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    58%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 591.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites