15 Reviews

i would never blanch calves liver. rinsing it in cold water is more than enough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia June 07, 2003

Very Good Tho missing one step.Blanch Liver with Boiling water to remover blood taste

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Birdhunter June 02, 2003

my review above should read 'I did also add about 1/3 of a cup of wine to deglaze the pan'.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 29, 2003

This recipe is excellent! I have always used the same ingredients and method... except for the balsamic vinegar. That adds an amazing flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smith03 June 21, 2010

For PAC Spring 2010. Oh, this was good. My mashed potatoes look a bit weird because I boiled them in a vegetable stock that I had in the fridge ... flavour was fabulous. And I know the garnish in the pic isn't what you would eat with it .. just need something pretty for my pic. I sauteed some garlic, added my spinach and kosher salt - nice side dish. We eat calf liver at least once a month, and this was a nice change. Thanks Cia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keeney March 29, 2010

I don't eat liver but the guys (DH & DF) were sitting around one day talking lovingly about the liver and onions their mothers used to make and talked me into trying to make it. I made this recipe even though they were highly doubtful about the vinegar ending. I did it anyway and they raved and raved and raved. It surpassed their memories of a beloved meal. That's impressive!! They both insist that the balsamic vinegar was an unexpected, but perfect flavor. Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherrirod March 03, 2009

I love liver anyway, but to find a recipe this exceptional is just amazing. i don't rate nearly enough of the recipes i 'borrow' from the magnificant people of the Zaar world, so know that it went down a treat. thanks sooooooo much for sharing this recipe. matthew.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
b1gp0ppa October 11, 2007

hi chia, wonderful comfort food! I never thought of using balsamic vinegar either and it is superb! Served it with everything you mentioned except I had to have caramelized onions, a must for me with calve's liver. I am drooling as I write this -- fantastic! thanks chia for sharing, Diane :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami August 02, 2007

Amazing......what more could I possibly say?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 May 21, 2007

Oh yes. I agree with all the other reviewers who have said...I never thought of balsamic vinegar.... This is my "usual" beloved recipe but better. Superb, in fact.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT May 17, 2007
sauteed calves liver