Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / sauteed calves liver Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    sauteed calves liver

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2003

      i would never blanch calves liver. rinsing it in cold water is more than enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2003

      Very Good Tho missing one step.Blanch Liver with Boiling water to remover blood taste

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      my review above should read 'I did also add about 1/3 of a cup of wine to deglaze the pan'.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This recipe is excellent! I have always used the same ingredients and method... except for the balsamic vinegar. That adds an amazing flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      For PAC Spring 2010. Oh, this was good. My mashed potatoes look a bit weird because I boiled them in a vegetable stock that I had in the fridge ... flavour was fabulous. And I know the garnish in the pic isn't what you would eat with it .. just need something pretty for my pic. I sauteed some garlic, added my spinach and kosher salt - nice side dish. We eat calf liver at least once a month, and this was a nice change. Thanks Cia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      I don't eat liver but the guys (DH & DF) were sitting around one day talking lovingly about the liver and onions their mothers used to make and talked me into trying to make it. I made this recipe even though they were highly doubtful about the vinegar ending. I did it anyway and they raved and raved and raved. It surpassed their memories of a beloved meal. That's impressive!! They both insist that the balsamic vinegar was an unexpected, but perfect flavor. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      I love liver anyway, but to find a recipe this exceptional is just amazing. i don't rate nearly enough of the recipes i 'borrow' from the magnificant people of the Zaar world, so know that it went down a treat. thanks sooooooo much for sharing this recipe. matthew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      hi chia, wonderful comfort food! I never thought of using balsamic vinegar either and it is superb! Served it with everything you mentioned except I had to have caramelized onions, a must for me with calve's liver. I am drooling as I write this -- fantastic! thanks chia for sharing, Diane :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      Amazing......what more could I possibly say?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      Oh yes. I agree with all the other reviewers who have said...I never thought of balsamic vinegar.... This is my "usual" beloved recipe but better. Superb, in fact.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      chia, thank you for a delicious way to prepare liver. I love your recipe, never thought to use balsamic vinegar. It made a perfect meal with scalloped potatoes, Scalloped Potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      oh boy is this GREAT liver.. I have been making liver more decades than I'm willing to tell and have my old plain jane standby liver recipe but tonight I thought I'd try a liver recipe that was a little different..and am so glad I picked this one for sure... never ever would of thought about the balsamic vinegar. I do LOVE liver and I love balsamic vinegar..so this recipe really popped out at me..made as posted except I had no bacon..it was wonderful without it BUT the next time I make this I'll be prepared and use the bacon too.. also 1 large onion wasn't enough for me...so next time I'll add another one..this recipe gave me the little extra something I wanted with my liver..I just might be making my liver like this from now on....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      We loved this recipe for liver. I made it like the recipe stated, but also used 1/2 cup of wine along with the Balsamic vinegar when deglazing the pan. Then added everything back to the pan. This made a very tasty sauce, yummy. I will be using this recipe when I make calves liver from now on, thank you Chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      This is almost the way I prepare my calves liver. (when I can find it)However, I always soak sliced liver in cold milk for a 1/2 hr. or so before dipping in flour & Italian bread crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      I love liver and this recipe has that special touch with the Balsamic vinegar. I have never thought of glazing the pan with the vinegar but it just gives an added MMm - I love my onions carmelized so I always cook them extra long, remove them from the pan and then add the liver to the pan and only cook it a couple of minutes each side (thin sliced liver). The liver is always tender if you do not over cook it. Thanks Chia for a lovely dinner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for sauteed calves liver

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 80.5
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    60%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 8.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 104.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    calf liver

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes