15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Not sure I really should review this, since I didn't use pancetta and didn't cut the cores out of the Brussels but it was so good I had to review it. Even with no pancetta and leaving the cores in the Brussels it came out wonderful. I did cook the Brussels in olive oil with the onions before I added the water and sautéed them. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita January 20, 2015

Always dubious about a 5-star but this one is the real deal. Peeling the brussels are a pain in the butt but the resulting dish makes it all worth it. I used white wine instead of the water and added a tablespoon or so of chives and some roasted pine nuts. My wife is going to make her this at least once a week!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Napa John December 07, 2011

Excellent! The only change I made was to use turkey bacon instead of pancetta since I had to use it up anyway. I will make this again for sure. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp April 22, 2010

One of the best brussels sprouts recipes I have tried. I used bacon, no panchetta in the fridge, trimmed the base and quartered and they were awesome! Thanks JustJanS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Soup Nazi March 29, 2009

I scaled the recipe down by half but followed your instructions to the letter with the exception of adding the salt (something I never do unless it is bread or dessert). This is a nice change for Brussels and I will experiment with it a bit to get it more to our liking - the taste was still a little to bland and oily for our tastes. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyaos November 28, 2007

Very good! Aside from scaling in half & using bacon, I followed the recipe. Thanx Cheryl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady March 21, 2006

I never had Brussels when I was growing up, but I just love them now. I too used the bacon that I had on hand. I'm glad I was the only one home when I made this because I nearly ate the whole thing. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bippie March 09, 2006

Absolutely delicious, ncmysteryshopper. I used turkey ham and far less oil than called for and still-outstanding.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea March 06, 2006

I will agree with all the other reviews that this was a excellent recipe for brussel sprouts. I also used regular bacon in place of the pancetta since thats what I had on hand too. I loved it to cause its a quick dish and ready in minutes. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe. Its one I am sure will be made again in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. January 19, 2006

This is such an excellent recipe. The first time I made it I followed the recipe very closely (left out butter because DH can't tolerate). After that I did variations, such as using bacon instead of pancetta. One time I added scallops to the dish. It's wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zobeed January 11, 2006
Sauteed Brussels Sprouts