31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I don't know what happened. I did cut the recipe in half since I was serving this for two people. Followed directions exactly, and was not impressed at all :-( Sorry. I know this is mentioned as a German side dish, but this reminded me of home fries served at breakfast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative September 01, 2011

These potatoes are wonderful! I loved how they were so crisp on the outside and soft and tender on the inside. I served them alongside herb chicken and artichokes. They were so simple to make and enjoyed by all. A recipe I will be making again. Made and reviewed for the Best of 2010 Recipe Tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate February 15, 2011

Simple, easy...what more could you ask for? I steamed the potatoes in the microwave first, then made exactly as posted. They make the perfect accompaniment to any dinner. Made for ZWT6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! June 30, 2010

Sometimes it is the simple recipes that taste the best. These little potatoes are DELICIOUS. We all enjoyed them and ate every last one. Since this recipe is so easy, I'm sure I'll be making them often. Thanks for posting! ~Made for ZWT6 Zee Zesties~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood June 28, 2010

Easy to make, and a recipe everyone will eat! That's a wonderful recipe! This recipe will go with practically anything, so it is very versatile. Thanks for sharing this easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom June 24, 2010

Tasty, easy to make and a great side dish!! Loved them. ZWT6

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio June 23, 2010

This is exactly how my German grandmother prepared her potatoes. Boiling the potatoes first made the potatoes nice and tender, and then finishing with a quick saute in the skillet left a tender-crsip outer surface that made the potatoes so moist and flavorful with every bite. Thanks for sharing your recipe, lazyme. Made for Zaar World Tour #6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal June 03, 2010

I'm 100% Scandinavian and grew up eating these exact potatoes for over 6 decades! Interesting that Bon Appetit calls them "German"; my Grandparents would find that comical. Scandinavian cooking is based on simple, pure, exceptional quality ingredients where the flavours and textures shine through. We would have these every Sunday, served with a pot roast and braised carrots, turnips and onions. Boy, did we look forward to Sundays on the Farm! When I need to make this recipe a bit more special, I use multi-coloured finger potatoes in blue, red, brown, and white. Stunning recipe; so glad to see it published, regardless of the nationality. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef June 02, 2010

Such great flavor for such simple ingredients! So easy to make, too. I thought I was all done making recipes for this region of ZWT6, but then I came across Deantini's review of these with Steaks With Blue Cheese Butter, and I just couldn't pass them up, lol! I served these with the steak as well, and Inspired Steakhouse Mushrooms. Perfect combo for a great "steakhouse night" meal. I'll definitely be doing these potatoes again, since I bet they'd be perfect with just about any grilled meats. Thanks for posting :)! Made for The Queens of Quisine for ZWT6 Germany.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess June 02, 2010

Memories of my German grandmother making these as "special" potatoes for her granddaughter. These are just amazing and exactly how I remembered them. I too, added some fresh ground sea salt, and pepper too. Lovely! Made for ZWT 6 Made for Zee Zesty June 1st 2010

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 01, 2010
Sautéed New Potatoes With Parsley