Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausages & Bell Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausages & Bell Peppers

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2006

      Quick, tasty and easy. I used red bell peppers and green peppers that are known as "Italian" peppers around here. I also used local sausage, longaniza, and was too lazy to go and buy tomatoes so I used a bit more tomato sauce! I also cooked the sauce for quite a long time, as I don't like my cooked peppers in any way hard. The sauce would be lovely, as CountryLady said, by itself, or even with veggie sausages.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      Very good over noodles! I cut the sausages into chunks and only used one big onion. Great weekday meal- next time I might add some oregano or basil though. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      I had some leftover grilled Sausages that I had in the freezer. I went on the Zaar to find what I could make with them and this sounded good. WOW! It was incredable. I cut up the sausage into 1" bits & served the whole dish over rice. The only thing I would do different next time is use a Hot/Spicy Sausage to give it a bit of a kick. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      Delicious! The only changes I made were to use extra garlic and to add some wine to the pan shortly after adding in the tomatoes. I added the tomato sauce and put the sausages back in once the wine was almost completely evaporated. We had this with basmati rice. SO GOOD!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      Very easy & quick to make and the flavours mingle well. I made as posted using ordinary beef sausages. Thanks for posting a great 'keeper' :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      We love sausages but they are reserved for those 'treat meal days'... and this is definitely a treat. Made this several times using sweet Italian sausages. What a wonderful combination, the onions, peppers and tomatoes so compliment the sausage. Having an abundance of home grown tomatoes I did toss in a couple extra tomatoes, other then that I followed the recipe ... wouldn't change a thing. This ones another keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      I was outside doing yard work when the aroma hit me. I came into the house and told my wife I don't know what you're cooking, but you better have enough for the rest of the neighborhood! This is a terrific recipie. My wife used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh ones. Thank you CountryLady!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      This is absolutely wonderful! I have made sausage and peppers a gazillion times, but never thought of adding tomatoes and sauce. Followed recipe exactly and it is perfect. Thanks so much for posting this keeper, CL.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2004

      This was absolutely wonderful. I have made sausage, peppers and onions before, but I never used this method. The boiling and adding garlic & fresh tomatoes were new for me. We had it as is and also on Italian rolls and it's just fabulous. I will confess that I used a can of pizza sauce instead of tomato sauce(I only had giant cans of tomato sauce and didn't want to open one for such a small amount). Other than that, followed to a "T" and it was really delicious. The kids can't wait to have more tomorrow! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Sorry, I thought this was quite bland. I felt the it needed a lot more black pepper perhaps, or maybe you need to use the hot sausages to give it the extra flavour. I used really nice toulouse sausages, though, which I thought would be good with this, but was disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

    • on March 10, 2005

      Delicious! What a fast and wonderful tasting meal. I used large Italian style sausages, and used 3 green and one red, I would have used two red, but just way too expensive for this time of year... otherwise made as directed. I served it with white rice, a side salad and rolls. It was enough for DH, DS and myself, but no leftovers around with my son LOL! Thank you for another wonderful recipe CL!....Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2004

      I agree with Marie and Karen, this is absolutely wonderful! I added an additional tomato instead of the sauce as I divided the recipe in half for DH and I. My sausage was a green onion chicken sausage that I picked up at the butcher. The divided recipe still would feed 4. This is definately a keeper no matter how many it will feed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausages & Bell Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (501 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1513.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1149
    75%
    Total Fat 127.7 g
    196%
    Saturated Fat 41.0 g
    205%
    Cholesterol 326.8 mg
    108%
    Sodium 3056.0 mg
    127%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    36%
    Protein 71.1 g
    142%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes