17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used 1 lb. of sausage with 16 oz of cream cheese and two cups of parmesan cheese. It worked out well. My friends raved about them. But, they are not fond of really spicy food, so I find these to be very mild. Some in my family like their food HOT and SPICY, so for those folks I think I would use HOT sausage or leave some jalapeno seeds in, or add red pepper flakes to the mixture like other people suggested. I have to give it two stars because the original recipe has too much meat in it for my taste but I would give it five stars for innovation and something to build on and tweak. I would never dip these things into ranch dressing. Just eat ranch dressing plain if you like it so much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joannsz February 08, 2010

I cut the recipe down for ten jalapenos but added 1 t. cajun seasoning and 1 t. garlic powder and wrapped in bacon. I just realized I forgot the cheese but they were great anyway. Cooked five min. a side on the KJ.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 15, 2010

Great recipe to begin with. You can change it easily with churizo or hamburger or spicy italian or virtually anything. Also easily modified with different cheese combos. Our family favorite is sharp cheddar and parma.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FOFF August 28, 2014

I found this on allrecipes.com and added some ranch and caesar dressing to the mix so I didn't have to dip it in ranch. This was really good and easy to eat. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZoe May 07, 2012

A huge hit! Not too hot. Great again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyEater July 09, 2011

Fantastic! I was a superstar when I put these out during the Superbowl playoff game. I thought they might be incredibly hot but the baking takes out quite a bit of the heat - the smaller peppers seemed to retain more heat. I followed the recipie exactly and thought they were perfect. I'm making them again this weekend for a party and I'm expecting rave reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thegoldfinch February 24, 2009

Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I found it a couple months ago & have made 5 batches since! They are always the first to go at every party & everyone wants the recipe. (I might start printing the recipe in advance for anyone who wants it.) My family & friends definately give you a thumbs up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Turia November 21, 2008

These are ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I used chorizo, then rinsed and drained it to get a lot of the fat out. I used a small spoon (and gloves of course!) to scrape the seeds out of the jalapenos. I also dipped the jalapenos in fresh lime juice and then in kosher salt and pre-baked them for 10 minutes before I stuffed them (next time I would skip the pre-bake step). I topped them with a bit of shredded Mexican Blend cheese, baked them for another 15 minutes and served them with the Ranch Dressing. I wasn't sure how these would turn out with parmesan but everyone agreed they were great and they were gone in an instant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks November 19, 2008

I doubled the recipe for a large crowd. They did not last long! Thanks for posting. I ahve used this one several times. Easy and pleasin'! Yumm-O

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Berkman17 June 01, 2008

The mix is not runny at all; it doesn't leak out like some cheddar cheese mixes when heated. I used hot, bulk pork sausage and pepper jack cheese (instead of shredded parmesan) and it had a very well-balanced flavor. Make sure the pork sausage is well-crumbled, defrosting the meat first if frozen for a smooth filling. On the hotness scale my family votes one hot, one moderate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Never trust a skinny cook April 10, 2008
Sausage-stuffed Jalapenos