Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage Sauerkraut Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage Sauerkraut Bake

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2002

      This is one heck of a dish! I highly recommend it to anyone who loves SaurKraut and Italian sausages. Way to go RosLan where ever you live! Bruce Logie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2002

      This is one I'll definitely make again! I quadrupled the recipe using a jar of my home canned sauerkraut and the recipe for [recipe=43620]Farm Style Sausage[/recipe] with our home grown ground pork as the sausage. It just took a few minutes to peel the potatoes and get them on to boil. While they were boiling I mixed up the sausage recipe and browned it. By the time the potatoes were ready to mash, I had everything else in the casserole dish. I set the timer for 30 minutes and was off doing something else while it baked. When the timer went off, I didn't hear it and one of my daughters shut it off without mentioning it to me. Fortunately, I thought it was about time for it to be getting ready to come out of the oven, so I went and checked on it. It was a little dark on top, but hadn't started to burn...whew... It smelled wonderful in the car all the way to my MIL's and was a big hit with her, as well as DH and myself! (My MIL is terminally ill so I need recipes that transport well, as DH is staying with her and caring for her so I take their meals to them.) Even though she has never really cared for sauerkraut, she kept telling me over and over that this is really good and what a great cook I am. Thanks for sharing this recipe roslan and helping me to keep up with the challenge of stimulating my MIL's pallette!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      DH loves saurerkraut and sausage so when I saw this knew that he'd love it. I doubled the recipe and used hot, spicy Italian sausages and had trouble removing from the casing so just chopped them up small, then once they were done added chopped Walla Walla sweet onions (didn't have green) and once all was soft added the saurerkraut and a 2 tsp of caraway seeds. Then put all in a pie pan and piped on the mashed potatoes. Topped with a combo of chedder and parm cheese and baked. It was so pretty and we have left over for tonight that I'm thinking may taste even better once all the flavors have melded together. We'll be making this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      I left out the green onion. Instead of parmesan cheese, I topped it with crumbled cooked bacon. For me, parmesan and sauerkraut do not go together. The second time I made this, I used a whole carton of sauerkraut(900g, I think). We love sauerkraut. I used a baking dish with a larger base. My sausage were apple sausage. This is absolutely delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      Excellant taste! I left the sausage as sausage, just laid them on top of the kraut, with the mashed potatoes over all, really good casserole. We will be making this again probably on a regular basis, easy and tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      Very nice throw together weeknight dish. A change i will make for next time is, not drain the kraut as much. I found the first couple of bites a tad dry, even though I tend to make my mash on the loose side. i used garlic pork sausage and can see how different flavored sausages would work very nicely in this recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2004

      Have rated this recipe before, but wanted to add that it has become a regular for us. I also have used several different types of sausage and it always is delicious. I have also made the dish with just the sausage and kraut and served the potatoes on the side. Again thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2004

      Woah, this is GOOD! And EASY!! I made a couple little alterations- I added about 1 tsp caraway seeds to the mashed potatoes and used chunks of, I think smoked apple chicken sausages. Oh, and I left the potatoes unpeeled, as I always do because I figure why throw away the only really nutritous part of them? I'm not mad about sauerkraut, but BF is so we bought a HUGE jar at the grocery lately (the only size they had) and I've been searching for stuff to use it in. This is delicious and you should hear BF rave. This would probably work well with leftover mashed potatoes too. Interesting variation on the "shepards pie." Hearty, and filling- I love it!! In step two where it says "place in a 2 to 3 cup casserole" I assumed that meant quart rather than cup... I cooked it in my 2Q Corningware dish. Thanks a million for posting; I will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage Sauerkraut Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (474 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 593.4
     
    Calories from Fat 331
    55%
    Total Fat 36.7 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 99.1 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1872.4 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 23.1 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites