Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage, Sauerkraut & Apples Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage, Sauerkraut & Apples

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2002

      This type of dish is new to me, but since trying this recipe and other similar ones I have decided I like it. This recipe particular is really good. The apples and brown sugar add a nice sweetness. I think rasin bread would be good to dip in the juices. This time though I just dished up a serving of the recipe and ate as is. Also, I used turkey smoked sausage and found the dish savory and not "diet tasting". Thanks for a tasty and easy to prepare dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2002

      A real taste treat from the "old country". Found a little butcher shop that grinds their own authentic German sausage, and it really adds a full, rich flavor to this recipe. Great with a dark rye bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      I made this for my co-workers and they just loved it and now with the holidays coming they want the recipe to make for their family. I used beef sausage instead of pork or turkey. I put it in the crockpot before I went to bed and it was ready to take to work in the morning. Some of my co-workes said they didn't like sauerkraut but I asked them to just give it a taste well needless to say by the end of the day there was but a small bowl left and I used my large crockpot. This was easy and most if the items needed I already had in house. I too will be making this for my family, it is a welcomed addition to the holiday meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      This to me is true comfort food. I followed the recipe but baked it instead of using the crockpot. I cut the recipe back to one serving so it only took 1 1/2 hours at 350 covered with foil for 1 hour uncovered for a half hour. Served with mustard. Loved the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      The whole family loved this! I honestly didn't think they would since they are not sauerkraut lovers and not much for unusual food combinations, but the flavors melded so well that they loved the result! I had considered converting this to a saucepan instead of the slow cooker but I'm glad I didn't. It is truly meant for the slow cooker. I did have to substitute cranberry juice for the apple juice as I was out of apple juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      I have been looking for this recipe for over 50 years. My aunt used to fix this every Christmas Eve for a tree-trimming party at her house for all the family in the area. It was always a success and we all came back for more the next year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      Wonderful, easy recipe! This smelled absolutely delicious when it was cooking. I served it with a side of German potato salad (German Potato Salad) and my apple-cranberry crunch (Apple Cranberry Crunch) for dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2004

      Excellent fall recipe! I followed the recipe, but added one peeled, sliced sweet potato, as it needed to be used up. This has a very nice combination of flavors and we will have this again. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2004

      I liked this a lot! I cooked it on high for 4 hours. I served it with a big bowl of mashed potatoes and chowed down. The apples and brown sugar gave it a great taste. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      I made this with Turkey Smoked Sausage. I followed the ingredients and directions as listed. My husband was skeptical, not being a fan of kraut...but he was pleasantly surprised and ended up eating two plates full. The apples sweeten the kraut deliciously. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage, Sauerkraut & Apples

    Serving Size: 1 (438 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 567.8
     
    Calories from Fat 293
    51%
    Total Fat 32.5 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 69.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 2138.6 mg
    89%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 48.4 g
    193%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes