Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage Sandwich (Italian Style) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage Sandwich (Italian Style)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2014

      Absolutely wonderful, made as suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      Alan, we really enjoyed these Sausage Sandwiches. I grilled the sausages and used the red wine option for the pepper and onions. Delicious! Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Just fabulous! I liked it MUCH better without the addition of the marinara. To be fair to the poster of this recipe, I did not use his recipe for marinara...but nonetheless I had the best hot italian sausage and the addition of the peppers, cheese and hoagie rolls was all it truly needed to be THE perfect sandwich! I also did not use the provolone...I meant to, but forgot to buy it. No matter...was perfect with the mozzarella/parmesan combo. I also used closer to 1/2 cup of dry cab because the temp on my fry pan was so hot when I added it, that it ate up every bit of liquid from the wine...so I added more and drank some more! ;) My husband and I arm-wrestled over the leftovers...I lost. Excellent! Will make again and again....without marinara.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Fantastic! I chose to use hot italian sausage, 2 green bell peppers. The marinara sauce I used Prego chunky and added a can of diced tomatoes garlic and onion flavor. Those were my only variations. I ate one immediatly and wrapped the other 3 in foil to take to work for lunches. I froze the extra marinara.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      LOVE,LOVE,LOVE, this recipe!! It is soooooo good. Lots of flavor. After his first bite my DH said, this needs to be one of our favorites. It is so tasty. I didn't have an provolone so I just doubled up on the mozzarella. I also added fresh mushrooms to step 3. I really liked the way the top of the bread toasted in the oven. Thank you so much Alan for shring such a wonderful recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      Wow, now that's a sandwich!! Made it as directed, used Kittencal's marinara sauce and made enough of the ingredients for the two of us. I loved the way the poaching of the sausages made them so tender. I have never done that before. We were "stuffed" after eating one sandwich each, didn't even want an evening snack! Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      Delicious! Next time I will double the recipe but use four sub rolls to fit the sausages in better. Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2005

      This was delicious. Next time I will slice the sausages, peppers, and onions into bite size pieces just to make it easier to eat. We had to use a knife and fork but it was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      YUM, YUM, YUM, YUM, YUM! Can you tell I enjoyed this sandwich? I didn't change a thing and they were fantastic. I typically don't care much for green peppers, but they were delicious here. The rolls I used were so huge that each had two sausages on them, but DH and I ate them up with no problems. I thought the cheese amount and the marinara was perfect, and I wouldn't change a thing. Alan, you rock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2004

      Very good! I added 4 cloves of garlic. Doubled the recipe. Used yellow,red and orange peppers. 1/2 cup red wine.Only used 3 tablespoons oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2004

      These were pretty good but when I serve them again I will make a few adjustments. I will cut the cheese in half, it was a bit much for our tastes. I will also add a few teaspoons of spaghetti sauce to each sandwich, they were a bit dry. Everything else was perfect, the veggies gave the sandwiches a fabulous flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage Sandwich (Italian Style)

    Serving Size: 1 (1155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 516.2
     
    Calories from Fat 269
    52%
    Total Fat 29.9 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 16.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 1699.1 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 14.1 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mild Italian sausage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites